We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Pescador
Nearby Hotels
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$331
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
US$305
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$514
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
US$523
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$487
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
58
125
66
28
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
125
66
28
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewmexican hotelbreakfast couponsspent one night hereno safe in the roomtraditional mexicannice poolsteps awayincluded breakfastrooms are basiclocation location locationalarm clockstreet vendorsmexican touristssafety deposit boxtwo blockspool towels
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2006

To give you an overview, we were two age-50s gals on a two week package arranged by a travel agent. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, we requested an ocean-view room, as the hotel is one short block off the main drag. At check-in, the front desk staff argued with us about our ocean-side reservation, told us they did not have a room available, then tried to charge us an extra $20 USD per night. (Now, if they didn't have a room available in the first place, why could they put us into one immediately if we just added a little more $$$ to the pot???) We were not impressed by this deceptiveness, but stood our ground and got our room.

Neighbours on both sides of us spent double what we did for their accommodation and were sorely disappointed. I would have been too, considering that the rooms were extremely basic and that they did not have a meal included. We also met folks that were spending about 2/3 of our price for the same accommodation, so there are some deceptive practices going on out there. Watch out.

Arrival in our room was not impressive either. It hadn't been cleaned ... beds unmade, garbage lying around, dirty sink, etc. But the bonus was that the previous guests had left us a little flower arrangement. We asked for a fridge (at $5 per day), and when it was delivered, there was still moldy food inside. Both the room and the fridge were cleaned "pronto",however. The next day, we got a cooler and ice, and returned the fridge which didn't work.

From then on, in general, the holiday was just fine. Breakfasts (on European plan)were a bit repetitive, but adequate and well-cooked. The room maid was wonderful ... very clean once the initial mess was dealt with. A few noisy, drunk first-nighters needed yelling at to get some sleep, but no real problem.

The hotel definitely needs upgrading. Sewage smell was disgusting in our room, but apparently not present in others. My travel companion bought air fresheners for our bathroom and main room which helped somewhat. The toilet kept plugging up. Evidence of termites was visible in wooden closet dividers, but since I had lived and worked in Mexico for more than five years prior to this trip, it's not an issue with me. Balcony ledges were sticky from previous parties, I think ... drinks being spilled there? But despite several requests, the light on the balcony never was fixed.

Sheets and bedspreads were spotlessly clean. So were the floors after Luz, our maid, got through with them. Water pressure in the shower was adequate.

Watch the 2 for 1 Happy Hour! The drinks were so strong that they were sickly sweet, and only certain cocktails can be obtained on a 2 for 1 basis. My "pina colada - no alcohol" was full price ($450 pesos), whereas if I'd requested alcohol, it would have been 2 for 1. Go figure!

I made one 15-minute phone call from the room to Bucerias (20 km. north of PV) and it cost $13 USD!!! Get a phone card from a convenience store.

The pool is not heated, but by the middle of the afternoon, you can have a pleasant swim. Be sure to put your towels out on the sun-lounges early because there aren't usually enough to go around.

Staff, in general, were courteous and helpful. Internet is available at $10 pesos for 1/2 an hour or $15 pesos for an hour. A happy little staffer will run around the block to get you a taxi if you need one, and the three or four-block walk to the Malecon is fun.

Restaurants we enjoyed were Pipi's (fun, party atmosphere with authentic food and mariachi band ... good for your last night in PV before going on to a club) and Gaby's (tiny, family run, with a beautiful waterfall in the back ... try the stuffed chicken breast).

Of course, the warmth of the sun on our bones and the friendliness of the Mexican people, plus the spectacular scenery and activities, outweighed the little annoyances by far, and a great holiday was had by all!

To sum up ... I would not book this hotel again unless I could be assured, IN WRITING, that an ocean view room was included. I would not request a fridge because, according to other guests, none of them worked. We spent $1,290 CDN per person, including breakfasts, for two weeks, whereas our neighbours spent upwards of $2,600 for only one week (no meals). For us, it was good value for money, but for them it was a disgusting rip-off. Just be careful.

6  Thank kingslair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosita_ElPescador, Director of Sales at El Pescador, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Dear Guest:
We really sorry about the bad experience that you had.
Right now we are sure that all our staff has an excellent attitude of service.
We hope that you can bring us the opportunity to host you again.
Also is very important to let you know that we had a very important remodelation in all our rooms. Kind Regards.

Sales Team
sales@hotelelpescador.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2006

This is a budget hotel in comparison to others. When we checked in we were a little tanked up so I think we were given the worst room in the place. It was not an outside room it was in the middle and tiny and smelly. We had some party boys next to us so a couple MORNINGS they woke us up, but other then that it was quiet. We were told when we checked in to check back the next day for a better/ocean room, but we didn't want to repack and really we weren't in our room long enough to really hate it. But for a budget hotel they did have nicer rooms and even though we didn't pay much it was still alot for what we got.... OK, liked it, didn't like it....Sorry I am no help for those of you thinking about staying here.

Overall it was a nice place and nice location!! I would have learned the bus system right away instead of paying for a cab, though cabs are reasonable. But $.50 to the marina compared to $4.00 for a cab would have saved a few extra bucks for beer!! OK, my liver really didn't need anymore of that either.

We were surprised at the cost of things! We were in PV 7 years ago and since then PV has gotten expensive. $35 Bucks for lunch at Senor Frogs, WOW Have Fun ALL!!!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkelm12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosita_ElPescador, Director of Sales at El Pescador, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Dear Guest:
We really sorry about the bad experience that you had. Right now we are sure that all our staff has an excellent attitude of service. We hope that you can bring us the opportunity to host you again. Also is very important to let you know that we had a very important remodelation in all our rooms. Kind Regards.

Sales Team
sales@hotelelpescador.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2006

We just returned from El Pescador yesterday. We were little apprehensive about staying here but found that the hotel was very acceptable. We did not have any problems with the noise as some people indicated. The rooms were like maybe a Motel 6, very plain and somewhat aged. We primarily just slept at the hotel and found it to be very convenient to the malecon shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosita_ElPescador, Director of Sales at El Pescador, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Dear Guest;
Thank you for your comments.
We are happy we our location was good for you. We had and important remodelation of all rooms. We hope that bring us the opportunity to host you again.
Kind Regards

Sales Team
sales@hotelelpescador.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Kansas City
110
Reviewed 21 February 2006

My mom (76) and I stayed at the El Pescador Hotel and we LOVED it. Other reviews say it was too noisy, but we only heard a few people coming in once or twice in a week. If you want noisy, stay at the Rosita or another hotel on the Malecon! The location is the best! A few blocks to the Malecon and good access to everything. Buses are about 40 cents and a cab to the Marina area is about $4.00 or to the airport $7.00. Everyone at the hotel catered to us - when we asked for something, we got it immediately. We had to wait one day to get an ocean view room, but it was wonderful. The air was cold, TV had a few american channels, room was large and very clean and the bathroom was nice and renovated. The food in the 'Coral' Restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. There are two 'huge' bottles of purified water in the hall so you don't have to keep buying purified water. The water jugs are on a neat metal stand so you can just pour the water right out of it. On Wednesday nights they have a live band (or one person individually) playing by the pool with a BBQ and candle lit dinners if you want to participate. The band played for three hours that night without a break!!! It was great. The ocean was okay to swim in, but the waves were pretty big. It is true that the beds are hard, but we both had two blankets folded up under us - so they were okay like that. Without the extra blankets to lay on, it would have been hard to sleep. They also have a computer with Internet access for $1.00 thirty minutes or $1.50 per hour, so you can e-mail your loved ones and tell them everything's okay. We bought tons of souvenirs and nothing in our room was missing. All staff was courteous, but not all of them speak English. I know a little spanish, so I was able to communicate with the staff that only knew a little english. I will definitely stay in this hotel again the next time I go to Puerto Vallarta (hopefully soon).

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosita_ElPescador, Director of Sales at El Pescador, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your greats comments. It is glad for us to know that you had a good experience in our property . As a 3 star Hotel we are happy to know that our service, clean and location was good for you. We are working hard every day in order to offer the best to our guest. We will happy to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards

Sales Manager
sales@hotelelpescador.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2006

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosita_ElPescador, Director of Sales at El Pescador, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews