We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Ranked #21 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise!”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

To start I have always gone to larger resorts. Wow I've been so wrong all these years. Friendly is a fantastic resorts that can be navigated in less than 5 minutes. Everything you need or want at your fingertips. Leaving the resort anything is 10 min max, less than $10 cab ride or < $1 bus. Which is bumpy but a great adventure. We stayed on back side of side complexes, down two flights of stairs right at the pools. Quiet room with easy access to all amenities! No king beds available on Checkin so staff pushed our two beds together with a foam overs them and we had a super size king. Awesome! Pillows are hard as Rock so 5 minutes to Walmart and we were set up for $10 bucks. Rooms are average but great for price! Everyday something was planned at the pools or beach, I chose this time just to relax at the beach and drink my Indio cervasa! Food was exceptional. Where can you eat on the beach with 5 star food ? Covered beach restaurant was off a menu and was fantastic. Never ate at the buffet but others told me it was fantastic! Breakfast outside above the main restaurant was Also great! Al a carte (french food) was good but you'll find better meals in the beach restaurant without having to make a reservation either. I can not say enough about the serving staff ! Guys like Johnny, Vincent and double double go far beyond any hotel employees I've ever met! And that's just a few to name! They don't expect tips but please do as they very much deserve it. Don't be a cheap bugger! Anything you can afford is much appreciated I'm sure. Hats off to everyone! Especially Johnny !

El Capitan

El capitan

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Krazynedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Hi Krazynedic,

It was so nice to read your review, thank you so much for everything you say about your experience. We would love to see you once again, please feel free to come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,486
    944
    337
    121
    104
See reviews for
875
982
89
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Central North Dakota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We were back this year twice, once in December for our 30th wedding anniversary with our family and friends, and then again in January 2012 for the “real” relaxing anniversary!!! Everything was the same as always, which is why we come back again and again. The servers are fantastic, the resort’s position on the beach the best, and overall it’s a great place.
The only different thing about the trip in January was that there was a chair race in morning. We’ve never had this before, and it was kind of a let down. But…Abraham on the beach did the best he could to service all of us.
Something else new was that Pancho, a vendor who generally hangs out around the Hola Vallarta, was one of the few who would tell me the real silver content of the jewelry he sells. Frankly, I don’t care if I get silver or nickel, I just don’t want to pay silver prices for nickel jewelry. He is HONEST and will tell you about what he sells to you.
If you don’t mind dated furnishings and rooms, but really, really friendly people, you’ll love this place!!!

Room Tip: We love being out over the wing area....the recent room we were in was ground floor, I think 1009.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Hi John_Dana58,

Thank you for staying with us, it is a pleasure to us read all about your experience, it's definitely an adventure to be with the vendors on the beach, glad you enjoy. Please come back soon, we will be ready to welcome you again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I went for 5 days with two friends. I have to say, this was one of the most relaxing vacations I have ever been on. The service was fabulous and the food was excellent. The drinks were a little weak during the day, but that wasn't really a big deal. The staff was so attentive and always in a great mood. Lots of friendly guests as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MN_Eyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Hi MN_Eyegirl,

Thank you for sharing your experience, was very nice to read. We are very happy to know you enjoyed every moment at our hotel, our goal is that all our guests enjoy their vacation. Hope to see you soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

-->> Believe this <<--

Friendly has the nicest slice of beach in the Hotel Zone. It is even better than the beaches in Nuevo Vallarta and the Romantic Zones (Zone Romantica). The pool area is very well maintained (eg. clean and tidy).

-->> Also believe <<--

Friendly has the best staff you could ask for from the maid services to the dining services. We were impressed with the operations of this hotel. It is very well organized. We cannot say enough about how much we loved the staff!! We'd go back just for that.

Special shout out to Kalucha (buffet) and Jhonny (patio restaurant).

-->> However <<--

We would consider returning but -- We did not like that you cannot reserve a 'specific' room in advance. The room we received (2414) upon arriving smelled strongly of mildew/mold, the beds were hard and lumpy, the view was of a wall, the condition of the bathroom was poor, traditional keyed door with un-swappable locks was not very secure, and NO INTERNET in the rooms. It took them nearly a week to get us into a decent room (3602), which still had horrible beds, a bathroom that had an odor of sewer smell and bad shower water pressure (blasts you with steaming hot water) -- and still not internet.

NOTE: The thing we hated the most: THE >> SMOKING << EVERYWHERE. The Lobby, the poolside, the restaurants all had smokers galore and their clouds of toxic smoke. We choked our way through meals at the Fiesta Bar and had to abandon the poolside due to the chain smokers that parked themselves there everyday. Letting people smoke while sitting in the hot tub, swimming in the pool, sitting in the restaurants was not cool at all. Something has to be done about that.

We, along with everyone else we spoke with, felt the drinks were significantly watered down. This has been noted by other TripAdvisor reviewers too.

-->> Areas to improve <<--

- Guarantee specific room reservations
- Upgrade the beds
- Fix the water pressure
- Put decent wi-fi Internet in the rooms
- Make the restaurants and poolside NON SMOKING
- Double sheets on the beds
- Use an electronic key system so the locks are changed or take the room numbers off of the keys. Who knows how many copies are floating around.
- Increase the amount of alcohol in the drinks, they were watered down.
- Keep the hot-tub and pool open until 10pm. 8pm is too early.
- Add a third hot tub.
- Add bottles of beer to the menu (eg. Pacifico, Corona, Heineken, etc.)

*We would go back but at least some of these things need to improve - especially the room guarantees, better beds and banning the smoking throughout the entire facility. If there is smoking bans than at least enforce them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in Tower Three... above the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Hi ShaneWasHere!

Thank you for sharing your review, we have excellent news for you! We have done lots of improvements in all our hotel many things like: remodeled our rooms, we build new bathrooms at the beach, we remodeled the lobby area and also restaurants, a new beach kinds club, we have a new pool exclusive for adults and 2 jacuzzis, and also a better coverage of Internet in all rooms, beach area, restaurants, lobby, pools and other sites. among other things and all this to satisfy our guests. Regarding room request, is always based on our availability of your arrival date, we would love to please all our guests and we always try to do it when is possible. We hope you come back soon, you will always be welcome :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was my first trip to Puerto vallart and i am glad i chose the friendly vallarta Resort to stay at. I had so much fun and will definately making this a yearly trip. We went at the end of November for one wk and felt it wasnt long enough. The staff was incredibly friendly and caring and have to say if you get the chance, ask to meet double double, he is not only very friendly but funny as well. The resort was very clean ,food was delicious, and the weather was fantastic. Cant wait to take my family back, the girls are looking forward to seeing their favorite waiter (double double):)

Room Tip: if you get the chance and have a little extra to spend i would definately choose a superior room, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paulette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Hi Paulette S,

We are glad that everything was perfect during your stay. Thanks for all that you share in your review will be very helpful for others. Come back soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The hotel is small and intimate. It is out of date, but very clean. I would rate the hotel a 3 and a half star because it could use a remodelling. The location of the hotel is beautiful, with an amazing view of downtown puerto vallarta, the surrounding Sierra Madre mountains and a nice beach. The beach was very clean and spacious, other than the constant hassle from the vendors. We even sat on the side behind the rope a couple days and they would still come past the ropes and ask. The food was very good with different options each night at the buffet and a great beach lunch during the day. A lot of people comment about how frienldly the staff are, but I personally did not find them to be friendly at all except for the odd few. It is also true about the beds being hard, but im 23 years old so this did not bother me or my girlfriend. The beach drink and food service was really great, not having to go anywhere. During the day there are activities going on including kayaking, volleyball, bracelet making, and spanish lessons. They also have blackjack at 630pm ( when most people were eating dinner), then an hour of entertainment after this until 830pm. After 830pm there was no entertainment or anything to do except for listen to crappy 80's music in the lobby/disco. This left my family and I bored and wondering why they did not do anything if this is a so called resort. We met a tour vendor on the beach who was very friendly and helpful with us planning the adventures we wanted to do. He gave us 15% off the vallarta adventure 3 for 2 trips deal, the people in the resort were charging full price. His name was Juan and wore a white visor. Definetly this is more of a hotel than a resort, we had to leave the resort to entertain ourselves at night, but a bonus was the baby sea turtle releasing and beach cocktail party. I would not return to this hotel only because there are better resorts for the same price range in that area. Late checkout is also an extra $60.00 per room! But Puerto Vallarta is a beautiful place with tons of adventures to do and things to see.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Hi Matt H!

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We have done lots of improvements in all our hotel many things like: remodeled our rooms, we build new bathrooms at the beach, we remodeled the lobby area and also restaurants, a new beach kinds club, we have a new pool exclusive for adults and 2 jacuzzis, we have a better coverage of Internet in all the hotel among other things. We hope to see you soon! Things here are even better :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I was quite skeptically what a 4 star 'Mexican ' resort would be like. Was expecting maybe a 3 star in other parts of the world. We were pleasantly surprised. I would rate them as follows;
Service and cleanliness were 5.0
Beach 4.0 (better than most of the hotels in this area.)
Pool. 3.5 (at least there was 2 pools but a bit on the small side)
Food 3.5(well prepared but limited range. If you were willing to try most things on the buffet it did not get too repetitive. The one gourmet restaurant was reasonable but not spectacular.
Activities and special events . Beach party night, band night and circus night were good. Other were so so.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Hi Gary0606!

Thank you so much for all your comments and your recommendations, we loved reading everything you wrote about your experience. For us is how to re-live those moments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation, finally that's one of the things that we want for all our guests. Please feel free to visit us anytime, see you soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,382 reviews
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
1.9 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort

Property: Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best all-inclusive vacations in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico with the friendliest hotel! Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa offers incredible location in the hotel zone and a wide range of fun experiences. Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa is located in one of the most precious bays of the Mexican Pacific, with a unique location in front of the beach, in the heart of the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing