We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly indeed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Ranked #21 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My family with adult and teenaged kids and their significant others stayed for 12 days in September 2013 and we are already planning our return trip. The staff at this hotel go way beyond the norm to provide service and comfort and above all an overwhelmingly cheerful and friendly attitude. Nothing seemed impossible for this staff...a dancing horse on the beach at sunset, a mechanical bull-riding competition on the beach for guests, a trained sea lion visit by the pool, a tropical bird and reptile experience amongst other cabaret style buffet dinner shows with different themes several times a week. The beach soccer and volleyball competitions on the beach were fierce (the activities staff are unbeatable, Hola, Uri and Osi!) and dancing every night on the lobby dance floor so enjoyable. We enjoyed macrame bracelet making and finger painting on ceramic tiles at the beach. Discounted massages in the spa (Thank you Marra) were a great pleasure. The resort is a 5 minute taxi ride from the marina and 10 minute ride from the airport. The tourist shopping area can be reached by public bus or by the numerous taxis and is about 10 minutes away.
Our room was a lock-off style suite with kitchenette facilities that we didn't really make us of this time. The bedrooms were huge and our 3 bedroom suite overlooked the volleyball court on the end of one of the lower wing buildings (A and B). We never found noise a problem. Our rooms were always clean and smelled fresh, the air-conditioning was great and the beds were comfortable but firm. The pillows were too firm and lumpy for our liking but we obtained others from the housekeeping staff. There were a few signs of age, wear and repair in the bathroom and kitchen and in the tiled floor.
The food at all 3 restaurants was very good but not excellent if you are a food connoisseur. It was repetitive but it did not bother us or our teen/adult kids. Drink service at the pool and beach or in the restaurant was excellent and fun and friendly. Mixed drinks are dilute which I think is somewhat appropriate. I didn't notice any staggering drunken behaviour which I think was well-controlled and should be at a family-friendly resort.
The beach was nice, never any problem getting a chair. The surf is active with a break that wouldn't be suitable for young children but I noticed a calmer area by the jetty where parents took their small kids. The beach vendors were the politest I have ever encountered and were back from the lounging area which was bordered by a low decorative fence. The pool was clean but closed at 8 pm each night for cleaning and chemicals and it would have been nice if it had been open later. There is also an adult only infinity pool, a shallow children's pool and a hot tub. Security during the day and night seemed adequate and I didnt notice any strangers on the beach at night.
This is not a glitzy or glamorous resort, it is not a huge resort with multiple pools and Vegas-style shows, it is a cozy family-friendly fun resort where the staff will greet you every day like a friend and will give you a nickname and a high five (Hola, Sergio!). You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank wewholovetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear wewholovetravelling.

Thank you for trusting us and for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We value your opinion, we are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay that is our greatest reward!!! We will see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,268 - 1,274 of 3,419 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have traveled to the Caribbean, and Jamaica in the past and when friends of ours mentioned going to Mexico I was skeptical....after everything that has happened there...I learned after spending 10 days there...that Mexico is a BIG place, and it is not all problematic. In fact I found the food, hotel cleanliness the best of all of our vacation locations. If that wasn't good enough, the staff were great. They could not do enough for you.

The rates were excellent value and we had a great view of the ocean. We have young children and it was perfect for them, lots of activities at the hotel, and even brought on site, ie. Sea lion show, reptile etc.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
7  Thank Gcjl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Gcjl2013.

Thank you so much for your review, we feel really flattered. All your words are a great reward to us, it is wonderful to know that you had a great time with us. We hope to see you soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here 10 days in September 2013 and were treated like royalty by all the staff. They went above and beyond putting on special shows and meals for our group.I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Howard B.

Thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy of your holiday. We loved to read about your experience with us, please feel free to come back anytime! See you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at Friendly Vallarta Resort September of 2013 for 9 nights.
http://www.friendlyvallarta.com/english/

Let me start off by telling you the good things about the hotel.
1) Their staff was very friendly
2) The hotel was clean
3) The hotel is on the beach
4) The pools are very nice
5) The hotel is inexpensive for an all-inclusive. So if you’re main goal is the cost and not the quality, this would work fine for you.

Now, the other things you need to know;
1) Air conditioning – it’s in all the guests rooms, but only cools the air. Humidity had to be 90%+ when we were there, and everything in the room is damp. I mean everything, including your clothes (we hung ours up and used the drawers), the bed and covers are damp, your towels are damp. If you open your balcony door for more than a couple of minutes, condensation appears over everything. Good luck getting your camera to work when it’s foggy. Plus, there is a damp, musty smell throughout because of the constant moisture. Our first room was very musty smelling (#3805). When we got home, everything in our luggage smelled musty and had to be washed, whether we wore it or not. The luggage had to be aired out and dried in the sun before we stored it.
BTW – there is only one restaurant with A/C; “Gourmet Restaurant”*.
2) Restaurants – Their websight claims 3 restaurants. Other than the “Gourmet Restaurant” (*only open 3 nights a week, you must have reservations and kids are not allowed), the restaurants are “buffet” style and they all serve the same food. So they aren’t really 3 different restaurants, but rather 3 different seating areas. They do have a different feature meat each night (some nights roast beef, other nights turkey, etc). The food was basically the same everyday and mediocre at best. It’s HOT in the restaurants, so wear your coolest clothing and sit under a fan. Breakfast was the best meal of the day; made to order omelet’s and a variety of breakfast foods.
3) Bars – two bars, limited on the type of alcohol. No bourbon in the whole place, nor any crème de cacao, (so no chocolate martinis or Alexanders). No lemon/sweet & sour anything (all they have is lime), so no lemon drop martinis or Lynchburg Lemonade. Very basic bar drinks only, unless you can tell them how to make it, but they may or may not have the ingredients. They have two different wines; “red” and “white”. Yep, that’s it. “Corona” & “Modelo Negro” are on tap.
4) I know it may be an American thing, but I like a wash cloth in my bathroom, whether it be to wash my face before bed or to use in the shower. You have to ask for it. Daily. Until the maid figures out you want one, daily.
5) We found the bed comfy but the pillows were terrible. Made with what appeared to be clumps of foam rubber stuffed in a pillow cover.
6) The hotel sits on the beach and there some chairs near the hotel you can use. But, I’d like to warn you of the venders, who stand waiting to swoop down on you to hock their wares the minute you set foot on the beach. Very typical of Mexico.
7) The hotel has several shows they put on in the evenings. Several of the staff seen during the day are in the shows. I’m pretty sure none were professional performers, but you may like it.
8) There were two main elevators. While we were there one broke down. It made getting to the top floors difficult.
9) It would also be helpful if pool activities would be announced in both Spanish & English.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view, although that may become a problem if the elevator breaks down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear LindaP777

Thanks for sharing the good things about your stay and also for all your suggestions. We regret any inconvenience you had during your stay. Unfortunately during summer we have a lot of
humidity in the city, and in our hotel this is because we have a beachfront hotel, not all our rooms has the same issue, you could have requested another room with no problem and this had been solved. Thank you for your valuable comments, this is the first time we received a review of this type, but we value your opinion. You'll always be welcome at our hotel do not hesitate to visit us once again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

All of the staff from the front desk to he waiters and spa staff more than live up to the name Friendly at the Friendly Vallarta Resort. I heard about how good it was, but was pleasantly surprised that it was even better. I felt at home and enjoyed the wonderful food and service. The grounds are luxurious with several pools adjacent to the beach with an open view of the beautiful coastline. Massages are available both inside the spa and above the surf on the shore. The ocean view from the balcony of my 8th floor room was a big part of the total serene atmosphere and experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2013Beachlover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear 2013Beachlover2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, and for choosing our hotel to enjoyed your holiday, we feel flattered with all you wrote about us and is very nice to know how much you love to be here in our hotel. We are working every day to have a better place for all our guests!. See you soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our 9 day stay at Friendly Vallarta Resort, the staff was GREAT! The room were clean and a good value if you are on a budget. This is our 2nd time in a row staying here and we would come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Jacqueline M.

Please do not hesitate to come back to visit us, for us is a great reward to know how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for sharing your opinion :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Hotel Friendly Vallarta--Sept. 18-27. We enjoyed the food and warm welcome and good service from the staff. The hotel is older, but any drawbacks there are more than compensates by the other amenities. We had a beautiful view of the Bay and the beach and the activities at the hotel were great. We also loved the beautiful "towel art" that the service maid left in our room--very creative. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Dan T.

Thank you very much for everything and for sharing your experience. We are glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, please come back soon, we would love to see you once again!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#39 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#27 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,703 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#23 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort

Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £110 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best all-inclusive vacations in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico with the friendliest hotel! Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa offers incredible location in the hotel zone and a wide range of fun experiences. Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa is located in one of the most precious bays of the Mexican Pacific, with a unique location in front of the beach, in the heart of the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing