We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$516
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
US$571
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$480
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,668)
Filter reviews
3,668 results
Traveller rating
1,855
1,124
403
145
141
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,855
1,124
403
145
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly holagourmet restaurantqualton clubsunset grillbracelet makingmain towerspanish lessonsactivities staffnon smokingmain buffetlobby barinfinity poolan older hotelbeach servicebeach volleyballala cartebeach vendors
Filter
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 3,668 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We have been to PV over 25 times and had not stayed at this hotel. We had always been told about the outstanding service. We stayed in the tower and had a lovely view. The rooms are getting old but the cleaning services were impeccable. Every day we had a different animal towel done in our room and the rooms were always cleaned well.
The food is ok,the usual all incl type of food. We never got into the Al La Carte as it was always busy. However to be fair we did not try that hard as we go out most nights.
The staff was very friendly. It is the first hotel where the staff will bring you your chairs,tables and umbrellas to the beach for you. A big shout out to Rene these guys work hard. The waiters on the beach must have calves of steel walking in the sand all day!!
The only staff member we found unfriendly was at the reception area. It was a woman named Liz who stood out more as she was one of the few that never had a smile on her face. We had checked out early and thought we would let them know so they could clean the room and get another person into their room earlier. When we advised Liz of this she simply stated " It is the process"???
They are building a new pool which I understand will have a swim up bar. This hotel has a


lot of regulars and a lot of seniors if that is the environment you are looking for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CINDYR238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 December 2016

Dear CINDYR338,

Thank you for choosing Friendly Vallarta as your vacation destination and for leaving us your review. It is very important for us to know the good and bad that our guests experienced to be able to improve and give a better service.
At Friendly Vallarta our main goal is to provide the most personalised and friendliest service of all, but most importantly to make you feel at home.
We hope to host you again in the near future.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I had a pretty good idea what Friendly Vallarta would be like, and it pretty much turned out as expected. This is what North Americans would consider a 3-star hotel, and I have rated this based on what that - i.e. overall, it was a good stay, but not a great one.

First of all, the rooms. We were in the tower on the 6th floor, so had a fantastic view. But that is the trade-off for overlooking the pool area, which from late morning till late evening has one or more music sources playing (especially if there is a wedding taking place). It wouldn't be so bad, but during beach exercise activities, they have the speakers pointed towards the hotel, so you have to listen to both pool and beach music simultaneously! You could get a room on the side, and the music wouldn't be so bothersome, but you also lose most of the view. As expected, the room was tired, in particular the bathroom. While it was clean, it was well below the finish of any 3-star hotel I have stayed in. Water pressure was good, and two bottles of water appeared each day, even though I have heard that the water in this area is drinkable. The beds were firm but comfortable. Air conditioning seems to have been modernized recently, and was easy to control and kept the room cool with minimal fan noise. We were lucky enough to have a mini-fridge in our room, which was stocked daily with Coronas, sodas, water, chips and peanuts. The TV has only a handful of English channels; we had trouble watching movies over the noise from the pool area, and had to crank the volume just to listen to the dialog. WiFi in the room was ok, but you have to constantly re-register your device, which got very irritating. Download your Netflix before arriving, as you won't be able to do it over the hotel WiFi. The railing on the balcony had loose stiles, which would have been a concern if you had a small child or baby out there.

The beach is relatively nice here, but extremely busy relative to the other resorts nearby. Loungers are packed tightly together, and choice spots were often "reserved" by the time we ventured down in the morning. WiFi coverage at the beach is spotty; move closer to the restaurant for better service. The new pool construction was not as noisy as expected, but did force you to go all the way back to the main building to use bathrooms. We didn't use the pool area, as the music was too loud there for our liking.

We only went to one a la carte restaurant - Ranchero Grill - which was a bit disappointing. Based on feedback from other guests, we did not bother with Frida - the dressy Mexican restaurant. The main buffet at the Villa Linda served a variety of food, but I stuck mostly to the grill stations, serving both Mexican fare and nightly feature. Overall, the food there was good, sometimes very good (try the roast beef). The Venetia by the beach was sub-par, serving snacks and other light meals - take a pass on the pizza. The coffee bar served espresso drinks, but I never managed to get a good cup of coffee there. The drip coffee urn was available for self-service, but was often weak and/or lukewarm.

As others have noted, this resort is popular with locals and we had two weddings during our stay. Luckily, one wedding had the beach setup so that the speakers were facing towards the ocean, so we did not have to endure as much noise as we did a few nights before. But there will be fireworks, and the explosions really resonate around the U-shaped area of the hotel. The rest of the guests were almost entirely Canadian - which made for a very friendly, mild-mannered, polite stay - a refreshing change from US-centric hotels. For some reason, many guests were repeat visitors, some staying weeks at a time; many saying they had been here 5 or 6 times before.

There are theme nights in the ballroom - on those evenings, the Villa Linda restaurant is closed, and they serve the buffet in the foyer of the ballroom. We missed the Michael Jackson show, only stayed for 20 mins. of the Latin evening, and enjoyed the brief magic show.

This was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta, and we liked the fact that most hotels were close to the airport - this one is ~10 mins. away in light traffic. You can easily walk to the Malecon, but buses are very frequent. A large grocery store is only a block away, as are a number of banks - handy to get Pesos for tipping etc. We think we will be going back to PV in the future, just not back to Friendly Vallarta.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 December 2016

Dear Rico_vancouver,

First of all thank you for choosing Friendly Vallarta and for sharing your experience.
It is very important for us to know all the positive and negative feedback our guests experienced in order to improve and give a better service.
At Friendly Vallarta our main goal is to provide the most personalized and friendliest service of all, but most importantly to make you feel at home.
We really hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

This was our second time to the Friendly Vallarta. Again the staff are amazing. We were there for fourteen days and enjoyed every moment. Thanks to Juan on the beach every morning who helped us set up our lounges etc. My husband is kind of a chatty cathy and enjoyed talking with the staff. Anything we wanted or needed the staff were always there to accomidate us. The food was good and the seafood on the beach during lunch was excellent!. Love, Love this resort and we will be back.
A & D Newton
Vernon BC
Canada

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd building with the elevator.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank anewton2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 December 2016

Dear A & D Newton,

Thank you so much for your preference and for coming back to this your home in Puerto Vallarta.
We are so happy to know that once again you had a great time with us and that the staff went above and beyond to make sure all your needs were covered.
We are already looking forward to your next visit.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

What is the first thing you need to know and hear about Friendly? Well,the staff is simply amazing! This is our 16th trip to Mexico and this staff is,by far,simply the best. "Double Double",Liz,Erick and Miceil were complete standouts
Here's a quick breakdown-
Beach-excellent
Service-unmatched
Food-very decent. Pizza was awesome. Buffet a tad small
Rooms-beds,as usual in Mexico,we're not comfy but tequila fixes that
Location-perfect
Price-very reasonable.....until you decide to stay two more days then the hotel reeeeeally gouges you. Was not impressed by that but that's our fault for not booking long enough
Just a five minute walk towards the Malecon is a small Canadian owned restaurant called "Blakes". Food is very inexpensive and very very good. Hockey fan is always on
We will definitely return next year. Just one quick stop at the Walmart down the street for a $40 piece of bed foam and we are set!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the "north" side. South side does not get sun until the afternoon hours. See picture of our room from 2401
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MexicoManiacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 December 2016

Dear MexicoManiacs,

We are so happy to read that our staff is the best you have encountered in all your trips down to Mexico, they are the ones that make Friendly such a special place. Our main goal is to go above and beyond to make sure you have the best vacation ever and that you feel like home.
We are already looking forward to host you again in the near future, Friendly will always be your home away from home.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Please take advantage of this delightful resort and lovely people who make you feel like kings and queens during your stay! Friendly Vallarta is tucked away next to beautiful Banderas Bay with ocean front rooms. Wonderful staff, fabulous food, and 24 hour around the clock service to make you smile. Don't pass this resort up, it's a hidden gem in beautiful PVR!

Room Tip: Main tower, upper floors.........
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 December 2016

Dear Mary M,

It is an honor to have you as part of our family for all these years, thank you for your preference and for sharing your experience with us.
We are so happy that every time you visit us you have an amazing time. Our main goal is to make every one of our guests feel like home.
We are already looking forward to your 7th visit, your Friendly family will be waiting for you.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews