We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Ranked #20 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Trip”
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We just returned from our stay at the Hola Vallarta. We travelled with 2 children under 10 and another family with 3 under 10. We really enjoyed it there, service was excellent, rooms were clean, food was good (not huge selection but still good), beach was nice and the pools were warm! It is close to the airport (10 min away) and close to the marina's for excursions. Walmart is also a 15 min walk away for anything you forgot to bring. Resort/hotel is in a horseshoe shape, so very contained (and safe), lots of beach vendors that would move on quickly with a smile when you said "no gracias"! Liliana took care of a la carte bookings and anything else you needed, the entertainment team were all a hit (William, Luis, the girls...), waiters were terrific (Omar, Eric) and the beach chef would make you guacamole if you asked nice enough. The only drawback for us, having stayed at many other places in Cuba, Dominican, etc.. was that they say they are a family resort but did very little for the kids. Kids club was great for crafts, but there were no activities set up for them during the day (unless they joined in on the adult activities) and the shows at night didn't have mini-disco or fun for the kids prior to starting like many places we've stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wedgoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,476
    939
    337
    121
    104
See reviews for
869
978
89
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I know I'm slow in posting this but I just found the review that I had written.

My sisters, 1 niece, 1 nephew and I stayed at the Hola 12/10-12/16/2008 and had a great time. We were looking for a place that was close to downtown, within our budget, an all inclusive.

We requested a connecting room and received the pent house. From our room we could see everything, including Puerto Vallarta.

The food was great. My nephew loved the hamburgers by the beach and my niece loved the veggie pizzas.
The fresh salsa was to die for which was served at every meal. The buffet was small but the food was always fresh. Each meal they had something they would cooked for you like steaks, chicken and pork.

The hotel was extremely empty so beach and pool chairs were plentiful. The service was better than most all inclusive. Rooms were made up as soon as you left them in the morning and cute towel animals were there waiting for your return. All the bartenders, waiter and waitresses were the GREAT.

The staff is still replacing pool tiles. It looks like a very complicated procedure.

One of the day in Vallarta we rented a jeep and went North to the town of Sayulita. While we were there we had chips salsa and the largest Margaritas you have ever seen.

We traveled with Funjet Vacations and our rep Ramon was the best ever. He wanted only the best for us. He took time to explain how to get to different tourist sites, including how the bus system works. When I asked for information on old Mexico food, he not only suggested his uncle restaurant but also took us to it. WOW the food was better than you could imagine, with shrimp and chili rellanos.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubakatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

My wife and I were concerned about our first trip to Mexico. We chose Puerto Vallarta to see the whales, which we did from our hotel room at the Friendly Hola. We chose all inclusive, which we were pampered with lots of food and drink at the Friendly Hola. We wanted a good location to be able to walk to shopping, to downtown, to the marina and to sports fields, which the Friendly Hola is within 30 minutes to all. If you wanted to take a taxi or bus, both are on the street outside the Friendly Hola.
The hotel name speaks for itself, Friendly Hola, the staff mades us feel important and treated us extremely well, as we never wanted for anything. Throughout our trip to Mexico we were hounded for tips by everyone, except at the Friendly Hola, where we wanted to give tips for their great service...thank you Friendly Hola for contributing to our wonderful experience in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GubaAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Sk.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We stayed at the Friendly Hola from March 23-30 2010. Everything you hear about the staff is true! Always smiling and happy, nothing is beyond a question away. The hotel is immaculately kept! Everything was easy to find and staff were very helpful. We dined at LaLeche as part of our package, it was certainly worth it. The only thing that could have improved the stay was a fridge in the room as there are no ice machines and you have to get ice from the bar downstairs. All in all a very fun trip, we would definitely return to this small, friendly hotel! A big shout out to the activities staff from Mucho Gusto and his girlfriend!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinnacle8850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I stayed at Friendly Hola Vallarta with a group of friends for 5 nights. We are all college students and it was a good value. Although the hotel probably should have put us somewhere away from the older guests (we tended to be loud) they did put our rooms together.

Most of the guests were from Canada and I think we were 7 of 10 guests from the U.S. They were also retirement age guests-- we were expecting a younger crowd.

Location was great-- very close to downtown.
Great clean, white-sand beach.
Great infinity pool looking out to the ocean with palm tree shade. Great view from our balcony.
Service was definitely friendly but by the end of the trip I just wanted to be left alone.

The night time "Shows" were pretty weird and cheaply done but if you have enough of the free booze you won't notice.

PROBLEMS:
Our room had a sewage leak and so rancid gas seeped from our sink that they tried-- and failed-- to fix.

The beds were terrible and the walls were very thin so bring sleeping meds.

The resort is full of pigeons and scavenging birds. An interesting event took place when one became tangled in a palm tree and stuck hanging upside down by a rope. I showed the situation to a hotel staff who responded with a shoulder shrug. Eventually the bird made enough of a fuss to draw a crowd and the staff was forced to climb the tree--literally-- and cut him down. However, their initial response was shocking.

As with most places, the beaches are overrun with vendors selling souvenirs so if you want to actually enjoy the sun, stay by the pool.

Food was NOT good. Late night snack quesadillas were what we survived on. But understandable for the price. Everything look skeptical, even in the "Gourmet" restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WVUCUDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I stayed at the Hola Vallarta with some family in March, 2010 and I had the best week ever. Upon arrival, I wasn't sure about the hotel because when we approached the front desk, there were 2 different people yelling at the front desk staff because of their accomodations not being what they wanted. Of course this made us think we were going to get worse rooms than the guests ahead of us in line, but when we did arrive in our rooms, we couldn't make a single complaint. We were on the 7th floor of the ocean tower and we had a very spacious room with an amazing view. The bathroom was old and the beds may have been a little hard but I was willing to get over that, especially after meeting the incredible staff at the Friendly Hola, who made up for everything. We loved the staff there, they treated us like royalty, as they did everyone else at the resort--including the people we saw yelling at them upon our arrival. We never had to lift a finger all week, Abraham was always there for us on the beach to set up our chairs and umbrellas, Sergio, Carlos, Paco and many others were constantly making sure things were ok with our meals and of course our drinks! I only made one trip to the bar myself the whole week because the boys were very quick to keep our drinks full! Food was never a problem; if we found something we didn't like, there was always at least one more restaurant open to find something we did like in. The activities staff did an excellent job with their entertainment all week. Location was perfect, there were many stores and attractions within walking distance and we were about a 5-10min cab ride to downtown, and about 10 mins from the airport. The resort may not have been 5 star, but our vacation there definitely was! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

My boyfriend and I just spent a wonderful week at the Hola! The staff was excellent, and the food was great. We've stayed at much larger 5 star resorts before and we both thought the Hola was right up there. It was perfect for our R&R vacation, but that doesn't mean there's nothing to do. It's all there if you choose. Perfect location, close to the airport and downtown.
We love Mexico and the Hola is an excellent example of why! We'll be back next winter with the entire family. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#27 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
#31 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort

Property: Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best all-inclusive vacations in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico with the friendliest hotel! Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa offers incredible location in the hotel zone and a wide range of fun experiences. Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa is located in one of the most precious bays of the Mexican Pacific, with a unique location in front of the beach, in the heart of the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing