We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything is possible with Gilberto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything is possible with Gilberto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Every single person we encountered at Velsa Vallarta was friendly and accommodating. It was clear their goal is to please you and make your stay enjoyable and stress free. Gilberto, who works at the Aqua Bar, was especially pleasant and lives by his motto "everything is possible with Gilberto!". The facilities were always clean, the food was good and it was always great to be able to enjoy the buffet, order off the menu, or order a special request that wasn't on the menu. This is a place I would return to and send family and friends to. We also felt very safe and witnessed main entrance staff monitor the front door and require a couple who were not staying at the resort to leave (only guests were allowed on the premises). The two pools were great (and warm) as you could go to the 'quiet' pool or the 'activites' pool that had music (DJ) and had all-day activities and games.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mngortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,670
    655
    162
    58
    48
See reviews for
1,444
1,178
53
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klamath Falls
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

This was our first "all inclusive' vacation. We were worried that we would not get our money's worth... and were happily surprised. It was so nice to eat when you were ready, without taking a bus downtown, or walking a mile to a restaurant. Simple things like sitting around the pool, ordering drinks, including water, food was so nice.

The surrounding gardens were lush and well-cared for. We noticed that everything was always neat, clean and beautiful. They used a lot of fresh orange hibiscus to decorate.
The two pools were very nice and clean. Daily activities like water aerobics made the day fun.

The staff were wonderful. They were friendly and worked hard. The pool boys hustled to get what you wanted with a smile. The restaurants had delicious food. You could order from a menu or use their buffet. They changed their menus often.

The location of the resort is 5 minutes from the airport and was not a problem.

We felt safe and very comfortable in our one-bedroom suite. We are anxious to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

I can't say enough about the atentiveness from the staff at velas vallarta. their ability to arrange accomodations, book transportations and handle the flight schedules of a very large group have been amazing. A special thanks to Geraldine!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uwf1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

This was our third trip to Velas Vallarta. As ever, it was totally relaxing and delightful in every way. We enjoy it so much because there is so much more available than just the resort. Velas Vallarta is in the Marina District of Vallarta so the Marina itself is a short walk. The whole area is so pleasant to walk in. But downtown is only a very inexpensive bus or cab ride away with lots of great restaurants, shopping, etc. So some days we just hang out at the pools - and some days we go do other stuff. This time we did not do a whale sail, but from our balcony we saw a mom whale with calf going by about a 1000 feet offshore.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyDix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Valley, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

This resort has it down! This was a stress-free beautiful resort that took care of every need and was beautifully maintained. We have been to mexico several times, the Caribbean several times and stayed in some wonderful resorts, but this was the best resort, by far!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 85degreesorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

We just got back from a 7 night stay and it was as great as ever. The staff is what makes this resort #1 in our PV travel books. Everyone remembered us from 2 years ago which is amazing. The food was good. We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom unit for free at check-in which made the suite roomy for our family of 5. The beach was great for walking but pretty rough for swimming. Some construction going on during the stay but plenty of other areas to play in. We will go back again next year.

Room Tip: Call 2 days before hand and ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PagosaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

Like most others, we found our vacation at the Velas Vallarta to be a pleasant, relaxing experience. We traveled with teens and tweens who had been spoiled in the past, on cruises and five star hotels. While we prepared them to the fact that the Velas was "only" 3.5 stars, it turns out that we had nothing to worry about: not only were they not disappointed but in fact stated that this was their favorite place of all and asked to come back.
From an adult perspective, the two-bedroom suite was comfortable, clean but a bit stark. The living area was dimly illuminated, with no art on the walls to speak of -- so it felt a little cold and gloomy. The bedrooms and terrace were wonderful, and very well-maintained.
In general, the resort is spotless. There are service staff everywhere and everyone seems available and eager to help. Unlike other reviewers, we had no interaction with the time share reps and they never approached or bothered us.
The food ranged in quality: for the most part it tasted like typical hotel food. On the other hand, there are many food choices and if you don't like one item you can always order another. Overall, I preferred the Mexican items on the menu. Meats and fish were not always premium quality, though always fresh and beautifully served. The hit for our family was the pecan ice cream outside La Ribera.
The only area that can stand some improvement are the activities. Daytime activities by the pool were so-so. The MC/water aerobics instructor/activities director was not very engaging or funny and what he lacked in humor he made up by picking on some of the guests -- especially the winners at Bingo or the Mexican Fiesta Raffle. Pretending to kick a guest in the butt as they exist the stage is juvenile and even the kids did not find it funny.
Night time activities were few and many of them did not seem to start on time. The lobby area -- while pretty by day -- is cavernous and somewhat depressing by night. It was illuminated by orange energy-saving bulbs, which made the place feel sterile and uninviting. Indeed, very few people seem to hang out there. It wouldn't take much to make the lobby a true center of attraction -- many reviewers on this site had great ideas about that.
Overall though, it was a lovely place -- and when you sip a margarita on the terrace of La Ribera and watch the sun set in the Pacific, very little else matters.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank serenabythelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
17.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#31 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: 585 Paseo de la Marina | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing