We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #4 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Recently returned from a thoroughly enjoyable 10 day stay at the Velas Vallarta with my wife and 2 year old son (along with other family who had their own rooms). This was my first time staying at the Velas Vallarta, but my fourth or fifth time traveling to Puerto Vallarta (second time staying near the Marina). We are not time share owners at the resort, and we were not put through any timeshare presentations.

The resort is very very nice, with large pools, great food, good shade, and excellent service. Detailed breakdown:

Rooms:

We spent one night in a ground floor studio room (facing outwards) before switching to a ground floor one bedroom suite (that faced inwards towards the pool). There is a very large difference between those two types of rooms, both in terms of size, light, and overall feel. The one bedroom suites (at least the one we were in) are very large and bright. There was a full kitchen that included a 4 element stove, microwave, pots / pans, dishes, blender, and full size fridge (and more, but we did not make extensive use of the kitchen during our stay).

Beds were soft and comfortable, and there was never any disturbing noise in the bedroom which faced the pool (our son took 2+ hour naps every day during the mid afternoon and was never disturbed).

The hotel has cribs with sheets which we used for our son. He was completely happy in the crib and slept well (< 3 you will probably want to use the cribs since the beds are high and the floor is marble).

Room rating for one bedroom suite is very very high, very lovely rooms.


Pools:

The hotel has an abundance of pools that are slightly heated (at our best guess) so that they are comfortable at all times of day. The pools are large, and there is a separate shallower kids pool near the kids club with pool toys available for the kids to play with. A winding connecting river flows down the center under bridges and has a small slide entrance where it terminates at one of the pools. My son quite liked the small slide and swimming down the river under through the tunnels (under the bridges) to the pool bar and back.

An abundance of both shady and sunny seating is available around the pools due to the elegant lay out of the hotel grounds.


Food:

The food at the hotel was very good. The buffet selection is a little bit smaller than at some other resorts, but of higher quality. The plated food and dinner service are the best I have had at an all inclusive resort. The plated dinners at Andrea's are comparable to good high end stand alone restaurants.

Room service is available and included on the all-inclusive plan which is a nice bonus. There is even a selection of food available in the room that is also included (potato chips, popcorn, nuts, cereal, noodle soup, milk, pop, etc) and restocked daily.

Buffet selection for breakfast included (but not limited to, as this is from rough memory and not meant to be everything): Fresh pancakes, waffles, and french toast made to order, custom omelettes made to order, banana bread and pastry selection, fresh fruit selection, yogurts, cereal, oatmeal and granola, scrambled eggs, bacon, salads, fresh juice selection, etc, etc.

Dinner at the beach restaurant is a plated meal and is a steak theme on most nights (and the steaks are very good). At Andrea's the theme varies nightly but includes italian and french nights serving a variety of seafood, steak, and other dishes which are all very good.


Service:

The service at the hotel is outstanding and everyone goes out of their way to ensure your stay is exceptional. All of the staff and wonderful attitudes and were a pleasure to deal with. Donald deserves a special shout out since he is such a nice person and really cares about ensuring everyone is happy and that everyone has a wonderful vacation.


Beach:

The beach is wide and sandy and there are rows of complimentary pavilions providing nice shady areas. Not many people were swimming though, perhaps due to the water being a little bit rough. The pools are more enjoyable for swimming, and the beach is there for sandcastles and relaxing for which purpose it serves quite well.


Overall:

The resort is wonderful and a great place to have a vacation! We loved it and we really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: One bedroom suites are significantly larger than the studios, or at least feel that way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Valheru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you very much for having selected Velas Vallarta for your family reunion this year. I really enjoyed reading your detailed review and your descriptions on your suite and our cuisine. As you well know by now, there is a substantial difference in the space and amenities between a studio and a one bedroom suite. I believe that based on your needs your decision to upgrade to the larger one bedroom worked out quite satisfactorily for your family needs. The careful planning that we took to ensure a high level of quality and variety in our culinary menus certainly paid off with your complimentary review. After visiting Puerto Vallarta in various all inclusive your seal of approval is greatly received and please be rest assured that my executive chef will share your translated comments with his chefs and line staff. Our culinary goal is to provide the best for our guests within all the competition in our region. And it is important for me make sure that the little guests that we cater to are happy playing in our pool areas and Kids Club. We have enough pool furniture for every single guest that wishes to relax and play around the pools and as you mentioned “an abundance of shady and sunny areas”. The remodeled Kids Club is a big hit with the children as our girls who administer the area are very involved in the entertainment that is provided. I am appreciative of your comments that our service is outstanding. The friendliness and pro activeness is what makes a grand hotel and I thank you for pointing that out. Donald is always on hand to assist the guests in whatever their needs and wants may be, as are all the 560 Velas employees that contributed in making your holiday a success for you and your family. On behalf of the Velas family, I thank you for having selected our resort and I hope that as you are now familiar with our product, we will have the honor of hosting you for many years to come. Take care and warm greetings to beautiful Vancouver.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,760
    679
    162
    57
    47
See reviews for
1,509
1,208
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (901)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Thank you once again to the excellent staff at Velas Vallarta!! You always go the extra mile to make us feel welcome and relaxed. A special Thank You to Rodolpho and Ricardo (Andy Garcia)at La Ribera and to Eric and Alex who work at the pool bar!! You guys are excellent at what you do and you take care of us so well! Our room was outstanding and always well cleaned at least twice per day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you Dave for thinking of us as your home. It is especially moving for us to know that you look forward to being at Velas Vallarta to enjoy the consistently good service that you have come to receive over the years. Rodolfo, Ricardo, Erik and Alex have taken great care of you and are just some of the many employees who receive the same compliments from many of our other guests. Please be rest assured Dave that we will continue to go the extra mile for you and all of our cherished guests in order to generate the same level of satisfaction that you and your wife felt during your stay with us. As a team, we look forward to you having many enjoyable vacations at Velas Vallarta for years to come. Thank you again Dave and warm regards to Phoenix. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Really had the best time on our stay! Great food, service, room and things to do. The pool was super clean and waiters came around frequently to help us. We ventured out several times by bus and by taxi for some exploring and shopping with ease. I was surprised how easy it was to get around and of course was fantastic to come back to an icy drink by the pool.

Room Tip: Our room did not face the garden pool area so was very quiet other than people walking to their room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you very much Sandy for sharing your nice comments on our great service, suite and the comfort that you experienced during your visit with us. I am especially pleased that you were adventurous and got to know Puerto Vallarta and the surrounding areas all with relative ease as you put it. With so many things to do inside and outside the resort you were able to really see what is a true vacation and of course a safe and secure one. Thank you again Sandy for selecting us for your well deserved vacation and we await your return for another icy drink poolside delivered by your favorite waiters. Warm greetings to Victoria, BC.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I (both in our 60's) recently spent 10 relaxing days at this great resort. The service was impeccable, from the maid who never missed a day making sure we had thick, thirsty towels in a spotless suite, to the pool attendants who made sure our glasses were always full, to the waiters who made every meal a joy.

The grounds are very lush and beautiful: the winding streams filled with koi, a mini lazy river and spotlessly clean pools are all surrounded by well established, immaculately tended gardens which separate the various areas and lend a sense of privacy in this paradise.

Be prepared to be visited by the pet iguanas as you lounge by the pool and by the resident peacocks defending their territory as you dine in the delightful Andreas restaurant.

We really liked the fact each dining area provides gourmet a la carte service as well as a buffet.

Although this resort does not have a designated lounge/bar area, drinks of all kinds may be obtained pretty much everywhere in the resort, including at the swim up bar and in the lobby.

There's a bus stop almost directly in front of the resort and for 8 pesos you can get almost anywhere you want to go in Puerto Vallarta.

Also, turn right when you exit the resort and a short 10 minute walk will take you right to the boardwalk around the marina with its several shops and bars. Watch out for the "Beware of Crocodiles" signs there!

This hotel is very near the airport, and we were worried that noise might be a problem, but that wasn't the case at all.

We both slept well in a very comfortable bed. Our room was on the side of the resort facing towards Puerto Vallarta, rather than the grounds of the hotel, so we had a great view of the lights of the city at night. Keep in mind that the standard studio suites (the cheaper ones, like the one we had) do not have a balcony; instead, the door of the suite opens onto an open air hallway.

Not only did the suite have a well-stocked mini-bar, it also had a basket of snack food like chips and peanuts that was restocked daily.

The hotel also offers free use of a computer in the lobby to print out your boarding passes. There is, however, a charge for using the computer for other purposes. The girls in guest services by the computers were very helpful and pleasant.

Overall, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appleboughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for the insightful and thoughtful comments in your review. Your fine photographs also put a lively perspective on your experiences during your stay with us. I am very pleased that many of the aspects of your ten day holiday were to your great satisfaction and that the personal touches such as your maid, wait staff and guest service girls were delightful for you. When spending ten days on vacation it is very important that the standards, cleanliness and comfort of your suite are impeccable and I am happy that you found them to be just that. The amenities provided to you such as the lush towels and crisp linens are freshened twice a day and the snacks that you refer to are 22 different items restocked on a daily basis with the complementary option have having extras of any item depending on your preferences. I certainly hope that you and your spouse will find the opportunity to revisit the relaxing times that you enjoyed with us in Puerto Vallarta and as a group we thank you for recommending us to others. Have a great winter and a special greeting to you in British Columbia.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is one of many trips down south. Our overall experience was amazing. The service was excellent and the cleanliness impecable. From our first entrance to the hotel, the different aroma smells of soap/spa/flowers was welcoming. The food was well presented and excellent as well. As for the rooms, we asked for a regular room, not ocean view and they gave us a studio that looked like a motel! We were very disappointed. We asked to get moved right away and had to pay and extra 50$/night for an upgrade. The other room didn't compare to the first one: it had a balcony (the other one didn't), it had high celling (the other one didn't), we had ocean view as well...Basically a way nicer room for a higher price which was unexpected. As for the beach, it was very rocky and difficult to go into the water since it went deep right away. Overall, i don't think the hotel should be rated 5 stars, and especially not if you get the room we first got! Oh one more thing, if you want berries/champagne/extra fancy stuff, askk for it because apparently they put it out because of the birds!!!! lol

Room Tip: Don't choose a studio because its like a "motel style"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
I am very pleased that you found that your overall experience to be amazing especially having taken so many trips to Mexico. We do pride ourselves on many details such as the cleanliness of the entire resort and thank you for pointing that out. And thank you also Carole for mentioning the difference in our studios and one bedroom units. As the name applies, one can imagine that there is a difference in sheer size and amenities such as a terrace and separate living area in the one bedroom. And of course there is a price difference between the two classes. I am glad that you chose the larger of the two in order to satisfy your personal vacation needs. It is our pleasure to have champagne and tropical fruits on the menu. Our goal is to offer a quality and variety that you may not find at similar category resorts. And of course we do not put berries and champagne out for the birds. Because then the iguanas, peacocks and fish would get very jealous I am sure. Thank you Carole for your colorful comments and I hope to be able to provide you another amazing experience again. Just next time please reserve a one bedroom from the beginning. Take care mon amie and best regards to Laval, Quebec.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Absolutely remains our happy place! Great staff from airport shuttle through out stay.

VIP check in staff very professional and helpful. Although my least favorite part of our vacation was our room location. We asked for the fourth building, got it, offers morning sun and afternoon shade. Asked to be 4th floor or higher, near the ocean. Got the fourth floor, unfortunately, the room was the farthest on the fourth floor from the ocean. Every year I have an issue getting the room I want and I always make reservation months ahead, AND being members has not helped us get a choice room. Terrific made at 4601, but don't want the room again.

Chris at activities is a favorite, Jacinto at pool service, Christina, Julio, Juan, Teodoro, Erik and Adrienne at Andreas

The spa ladies are excellent, enjoy the spa days, usually spend the last two days of vacation at the spa, packing and away from the pool and the sun!

The property is immaculate both in the tropical garden, restaurants and the suites. If I could add one thing to the suite it would be a washer and dryer. However, the laundry service is affordable.

Velas has started cooking classes that are enjoyable and have helpful ideas. And now offer comp wi fi or continue to pay for high speed. The slow speed was fine although often disconnected.

The staff all work so hard, professional, but very friendly and helpful, we enjoy seeing the same staff every year and appreciate they remember us, like home away from home.

Already planning return in 2015, going to really focus on getting a room in a location I enjoy, hope Donald will help me with this goal!

Room Tip: Fourth building for morning sun and afternoon shade, fourth floor or higher, west end near the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon5012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you Sharon for your valuable insights and recommendations. As a long standing guest of Velas Vallarta we do take into consideration your words of betterment. We are planning some improvements and updates to certain areas; however washers and dryers in the suites are not one of them. To invest these items in 345 suites is a very daunting task, as well as the maintenance, noise and vibration factors. Let us do your clothes washing for a good price so you can get the most out of your vacation. However, one of the investments that is long overdue is the changeover to electronic safety deposit boxes in the suites. This endeavor will be starting in April for the added comfort of our guests. Also please be assured that Cristian, Jacinto, Cristina, Julio, Juan, Teodoro, Erik and Adrian will be recognized for their valuable contribution to your splendid holidays and will motivate them even further. And I wish that you give Donald or myself a reminder before your arrival date in order to best accommodate your specific room assignation as it is paramount for us to consider and complete the requests of all of our guests upon their arrival. Thank you again Sharon and I hope that you will find that the adjustments that we have made to our free internet system are to your liking on you next stay at your Mexican home away from home. Take care and special greetings to Salem, Oregon.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

What an incredible experience. We had the junior suite, kitchen, bath, king size bed and balcony overlooking the grounds and the ocean. The resort package we choose was all inclusive. The meals were at the Italian restaurant, Andrea were simply delicious. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The staff could not do enough for us; they were pleasant and attentive to our every needs. If ever given the opportunity I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you very much Peter for considering us as your “vacation paradise”. I am pleased that your studio accommodations, cuisine and service were all to your complete liking. I hope that we will have the pleasure to be your hosts again when the time comes for your holiday to the Pacific coast. Take care Peter and many thanks for selecting Velas Vallarta. And special greetings all the way to Florida.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.3 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,567 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,396 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,831 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing