We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Family vacation”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We loved this hotel. The staff and upkeep were 5 star. We especially liked Marcelino and Eric at the pool, they treated us like royalty. I've never seen a hotel so well maintained, our room (beautiful view of the ocean and grounds from our balcony), restaurants, pool area, everything was immaculate! I would recommend this resort to anyone!

Room Tip: Upper floors with a balcony overlooking the pool/ocean. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Rebecca, thank you very much for your splendid review of your vacation with us. It pleases me immensely that you noticed the emphasis that we put into the cleaning and maintaining of the property. Without that dedication, hotels in the tropics can show their age very fast and that is something that we are truly committed to; the cleanliness and beauty of our landscape and buildings. Thank you also Rebecca for recommending our resort and it would be my pleasure to be able to host you and your family again so you can see the continued consistency of our hotel and product. Take care and special regards to The City of Angels.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,290 - 1,296 of 3,732 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have stayed at the Velas approximately 10 times, and never once have been disappointed! From the time we entered the property, it was like we have come home to our second family! The staff is 5 star and makes each and every stay unforgettable! We came with friends and celebrated my birthday while we were there! Carlos and Eric (pool staff) were exceptional! Candelario at Andreas provided rock star service! Brenda was the best hostess every morning for breakfast! The cleanliness of the Velas is second to none! Thanks everybody for another wonderful vacation! Toni G!

Room Tip: I would suggest building 3, 5th floor or higher for some amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you Toni for having chosen us for yet another wonderful vacation. I am sure that the birthday celebration was enjoyed to the fullest and that our team of Carlos, Erik, Candelario and Brenda were a large part of the fun. As you know the resort and much of its staff by now, I hope that your 11th visit reinforces that “second family” feeling that you carry. Thank you again Toni and from all of your extended Mexican family here at Velas Vallarta we wish you a terrific summer up in Jacksonville, Illinois. Take care my friend.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We just returned was there 5/3 - 5/10 and didn't want to come home. Had room 4322 and absolutely loved it, could see the pool and the ocean from our balcony. The place was small enough that walking from the beginning to the end was no problems. After Sunday the place was deserted so you didn't have to save a spot at the pool or a cabana at the ocean. The landscaping was meticulous and the peacocks and iguanas where so entertaining. The pizza by the pool is to die for. The pool waiters where awesome and worked there buts off to make sure you where hydrated and good to go. I would recommend this place to anyone. I would say the only downfall was the nightly entertainment was lacking but by that time we where too pooped to party anyway, lol.. Definitely would go back again, most of the people we met there this was their 5th to 17th time there. They have people living there year round.. The maids come about 3 times a day and your refrigerator was stocked everyday with what you requested. The small touches met a lot.

Room Tip: above the 3rd floor so you can see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skooters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

I am very pleased that as your vacation was coming to an end you felt that you did not want to go home. It speaks volumes for the happiness and good times that you experienced while with us. You are very kind to mention that “the small touches meant a lot”. The extra maid service, the pool side wait service to your table, the restocking of your snacks and drinks each day in your suite, just to name a few are what sets Velas Vallarta apart from many resorts in the region and that is why we do have a rather large base of loyal repeat guests, as they know just what to expect in a successful and fulfilling vacation experience. As for the evening entertainment selection, we try to maintain a healthy balance for all age segments that are staying with us in order not to cause an imbalance in catering to a larger party scene. We realize that there are discos and nightclubs nearby in order to socialize and dance the night and morning away. I really hope that your vacation experience, along with the little details that you enjoyed, entice you to revisit Velas Vallarta in the future and that your time in “paradise” be repeated. Thank you for your review and we wish you all the best this summer in St. Louis, Missouri. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just returned from another stay! We love being welcomed 'home' each time we arrive. The service is second to none, please take the time to get to know the staff! They truly want you to enjoy your time with them. Tino, Marcelino and Miguel are always amazing! I still miss Geraldine's special touches but everyone at the resort ensures your happiness! Dinners were fabulous and there's nothing better than waking up in paradise each day. Can't wait to visit again in June!
The wonderful ladies in the spa make the stay so enjoyable, don't miss the massage special on Saturday... Nothing more relaxing than a 90 minute massage listening to the ocean in the background.
If I could add... The resort is all inclusive, but please make sure you tip in some manner, the employees go out of their way to make your vacation spectacular and deserve recognition as well, they become friends.
Thank you again for a beautiful time

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lphillips25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you Sres. Phillips for your fine words on your very recent vacation with us. It really delights me to read that all facets of your stay were to your great satisfaction and that you cannot wait to return again in June. I know that the young men and women that you referred to will be very happy to see such a popular personality as yourself. And please do not hesitate to ask for me so as I can put a face to the kind words that you so graciously took the time to express. Thank you again Sres. Phillips and we look forward to seeing you again next month. Take care and good luck up there in Reno, Nevada.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I want to say the Hotel is beautiful, we got married there on April 28th all the guest love our wedding and they told us we choose a beautiful hotel, defenitily all my family and friends want to come back to Velas and of course we want to come back soon too, I recommended Velas to more people that I know here and they want to go! hopefully during summer, and Thank you so much to everybody who works at the hotel you guys are awesome! Let me know please if you guys have some good deals later that me and my wife can go! Love you Velas and thank you again:)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Juan, congratulations on your wedding and a big thank you for giving us the honor to host your very special event. In speaking with my wedding coordinator, she mentions that the displays, menus and settings were the perfect selection in order that everything flowed perfectly. Together with our options and your selections all went very well, culminating with some teary and emotional eyes as the ceremony was in progress. Juan, I wish to thank you also for recommending us to friends and it will be our goal to have them greatly satisfied just as you and your new wife were. It would also be my pleasure to be your host for your 1st anniversary so that you can relive the special moments that you all enjoyed this past April. Thank you again and we wish you all the best in the future. Congratulations!

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This review is a bit late and our trips were taken in the month of November on 3 separate years for our anniversary . We have stayed in 2 and 3 bedroom units here which are very similar in layout. We've enjoyed each and every trip to this resort and have truly enjoyed this experience. On our first stay we were joined by another couple and were not disappointed in how we were greeted. We were given champagne and beer at check-in which was in a huge lobby with great views of the pool and ocean.

This resort is a bit older than what we've stayed in before, but nicely maintained and well appointed. The pool areas are maintained and the water is great with activities and music all day long. The activities at the pool are non stop and geared towards all age groups. If the music is too loud for you other areas are established for those wanting some peace and quiet. They offer a lazy river which connects the pools and water features.

Several large scale events take place for guests throughout the week to include poker and mini Vegas nights to Fiesta night which is a large show with lots of music and dancers. They offer top shelf spirits and decent food at the resort, but have a well kept secret about a nicer restaurant in a sister resort close by. This restaurant serves 4 course meals and has nicer food you might find in a 5 star restaurant. During each trip, we've gone to this restaurant on more than one visit, but it does require a reservation as it has limited tables.

The rooms are nice and beds are comfortable. In our 3 bedroom units, we have literally been able to walk through the grass from our large patio to the pool and beach. This was nice and allowed us to come and go from our back patio instead of walking around to the front door. The all inclusive is nice and decently priced if you don't want to worry about carrying money with you.

We would recommend this resort to those looking for a lot of fun. If you are looking for peace and quiet you can have that here too, but seemed like it was geared more towards the younger crowed during the day around the pool. The staff is very helpful and can provide you with information about the area. We rode bikes to the nearby marina and town. We parasailed off the beach, and experienced the zip lines a short drive away.

We recommend this resort and know you will enjoy your experiences at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your continued loyalty and recommendation of our resort. Many of our clients are repeat guests of ours as their first visit turned into a friendship, thus creating a satisfying future for many couples and families. I am glad that you found our day and evening activities to be apt for many types of persons and that our facilities are “nicely maintained and well appointed”. The “well kept secret” of dining at our sister resort Casa Velas actually was not much of a secret anymore with so much success that we have seen over the years. Now to dine at Casa Velas one has to be residing at that boutique hotel in order to enjoy the benefits of their culinary selection. The demand from our guests grew to the point that it was not feasible anymore to handle so many requests and as you pointed out, only does have limited seating. I thank you for sharing your delightful insights on Velas Vallarta and I certainly wish to see you and the other couples that you invite enjoying the luxury and relaxation of our two and three bedroom suites. Take care and kind regards to Portland, Oregon.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

What a beautiful resort in a gorgeous place. Everything was first class form the rooms to the staff. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The pool staff was especially friendly and attentive bringing us drinks and food with a smile - Jesus and Marcelino were great. The all inclusive option was so wonderful. Nothing to worry about all week. Whatever we wanted was at our feet. A truly relaxing vacation in a tropical paradise. The kids loved it, too! The atmosphere was very family friendly. We really enjoyed the activities each day as well as the Sunday evening fiesta. Great!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great views of the whole coastline if you are facing downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you Kimberly for selecting Velas Vallarta for your family vacation. I am glad that you think of the resort as “gorgeous”. The visual pleasure, along with our attentive service were able to provide you “a truly relaxing vacation in a tropical paradise”. Jesus and Marcelino are to be commended for contributing to the great atmosphere that they provided for you and your family around the pool. I hope that we can have the privilege of hosting you in the future so that the kids can marvel at the activities and Mexican fiesta that they enjoyed so much. Thank you again Kimberly and fond greetings to Castle Rock, Colorado. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
3.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,468 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,598 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#15 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Jalisco, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £217 - £650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velas Vallarta, from the award winning Velas Group, boasts a 10-acre beachfront location with views of the Sierra Madre Mountains in the distance. Located in the Marina Vallarta, one of the most exclusive areas of Vallarta-Nayarit, the resort is also just a few steps away from an 18-hole championship golf course. The center of activity is a lush tropical garden courtyard with three sparkling swimming pools, a cascading waterfall, swim-up bar and even a resident iguana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing