We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort with Great Service by Aqua Bar Gilberto”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort with Great Service by Aqua Bar Gilberto”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A little slice heaven with an angel (Gilberto) taking care of you while you lay by the pool. This resort is so nice this is the second time we've stayed in three years and will be going back in another two years. Not only are the grounds beautiful with perfect temperature pools, the beach is also well maintained with plenty of cabanas. When you visit, be sure to sit in Aqua Bar Gilberto's area. He is so attentive you don't even have to ask for anything, he see's you and brings you your usual. We had such good service with him in 2011, when we went back in 2014 we only sat in his area. We'll look for him again when we stay in 2016. I agree with the review about the timeshare staff, don't purchase a life long timeshare, instead, purchase a 3-4 year access program. It offers great savings without the long-term commitment.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room, quiet (except for the peacocks that wake you in the morning), and clean (they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mngortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,763
    680
    162
    57
    47
See reviews for
1,512
1,209
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seven Sisters Falls
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We owned at another resort in the area and were not happy with it. Friends were staying at the Velas and invited us down and we loved it and bought that day. Now some 6 or 7 years later we would stay no where else, in fact have upgraded to full all-inclusive. Food is amazing as are the staff, just a terrific place for a more relaxed vacation. Pool side activities during the day and a band usually at night etc., ... couldn't be happier.

Room Tip: We like it higher up on stage 3 and can see and here the ocean etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rustynail462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
It is an honor to have converted you to a loyal Velas Vallarta family member. It was a great decision to have opted for the all inclusive package as it is quality orientated and very easy to use and enjoy. Just the mini bar and 24 hour room service alone make it a package that is irresistible. I am glad that you consider us a terrific and relaxing place to vacation and that our activities were to your great satisfaction. On behalf of the 530 Velas Vallarta employees I look forward to welcoming you back in the future on your next Mexican vacation. Take care and all the best to you in beautiful Seven Sister Falls, Manitoba.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapala, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We actually were staying at Casa Velas, the boutique sister resort but we ventured over to Velas Vallarta many times and spent a whole day there. Occupancy was high due to season. Grounds as usual were in meticulous order. The addition of a new Oasis on beach is quite unique. We ate at La Ribera for lunch a few times, very enjoyable outside seating we chose. Food was very good as was service from Carlos and Christian. They have some new peacocks including an albino peacock.

I had a few massages and also a pedicure, so love them there. The pedicures seem to last and last. Massage therapists are always great and only negative is they have to end.

The absolute best news I found while there was that they are now offering free internet throughout the resort with no limit on devices. Awesome.

The pool was inviting, so we hung around awhile and sat in loungers, had some drinks, walked along beach and said hi to everyone we know from previous visits.

They had an additional restaurant open during this time as was high season and it is wonderful but only open in high season.

We are very excited to return in a mere few months in July with family and friends....more extensive review then.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bezerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
On behalf of the staff members mentioned along with all the employees of Velas Vallarta I wish to thank you for your kind descriptions on your brief visit with us. The oasis on the beach that you refer to was actually something that we made for our New Years Eve party. But once we took the tent away the narrow sliver of grass looked very much unique as you will not find it on any beach along these shores. The grass and the palm trees certainly add another aspect as our guests can relax and picnic on a piece of our grassy beach or on the natural sand itself. The other dining venue that you mention is Alejandra Gourmet. And you are correct. We utilize this popular dinner restaurant normally when we are at high capacity and it is really a hit amongst the guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your family visit in July. Take care and best regards to Chapala, Jalisco.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We loved this hotel. The staff and upkeep were 5 star. We especially liked Marcelino and Eric at the pool, they treated us like royalty. I've never seen a hotel so well maintained, our room (beautiful view of the ocean and grounds from our balcony), restaurants, pool area, everything was immaculate! I would recommend this resort to anyone!

Room Tip: Upper floors with a balcony overlooking the pool/ocean. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Rebecca, thank you very much for your splendid review of your vacation with us. It pleases me immensely that you noticed the emphasis that we put into the cleaning and maintaining of the property. Without that dedication, hotels in the tropics can show their age very fast and that is something that we are truly committed to; the cleanliness and beauty of our landscape and buildings. Thank you also Rebecca for recommending our resort and it would be my pleasure to be able to host you and your family again so you can see the continued consistency of our hotel and product. Take care and special regards to The City of Angels.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have stayed at the Velas approximately 10 times, and never once have been disappointed! From the time we entered the property, it was like we have come home to our second family! The staff is 5 star and makes each and every stay unforgettable! We came with friends and celebrated my birthday while we were there! Carlos and Eric (pool staff) were exceptional! Candelario at Andreas provided rock star service! Brenda was the best hostess every morning for breakfast! The cleanliness of the Velas is second to none! Thanks everybody for another wonderful vacation! Toni G!

Room Tip: I would suggest building 3, 5th floor or higher for some amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you Toni for having chosen us for yet another wonderful vacation. I am sure that the birthday celebration was enjoyed to the fullest and that our team of Carlos, Erik, Candelario and Brenda were a large part of the fun. As you know the resort and much of its staff by now, I hope that your 11th visit reinforces that “second family” feeling that you carry. Thank you again Toni and from all of your extended Mexican family here at Velas Vallarta we wish you a terrific summer up in Jacksonville, Illinois. Take care my friend.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis, mo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We just returned was there 5/3 - 5/10 and didn't want to come home. Had room 4322 and absolutely loved it, could see the pool and the ocean from our balcony. The place was small enough that walking from the beginning to the end was no problems. After Sunday the place was deserted so you didn't have to save a spot at the pool or a cabana at the ocean. The landscaping was meticulous and the peacocks and iguanas where so entertaining. The pizza by the pool is to die for. The pool waiters where awesome and worked there buts off to make sure you where hydrated and good to go. I would recommend this place to anyone. I would say the only downfall was the nightly entertainment was lacking but by that time we where too pooped to party anyway, lol.. Definitely would go back again, most of the people we met there this was their 5th to 17th time there. They have people living there year round.. The maids come about 3 times a day and your refrigerator was stocked everyday with what you requested. The small touches met a lot.

Room Tip: above the 3rd floor so you can see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skooters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I am very pleased that as your vacation was coming to an end you felt that you did not want to go home. It speaks volumes for the happiness and good times that you experienced while with us. You are very kind to mention that “the small touches meant a lot”. The extra maid service, the pool side wait service to your table, the restocking of your snacks and drinks each day in your suite, just to name a few are what sets Velas Vallarta apart from many resorts in the region and that is why we do have a rather large base of loyal repeat guests, as they know just what to expect in a successful and fulfilling vacation experience. As for the evening entertainment selection, we try to maintain a healthy balance for all age segments that are staying with us in order not to cause an imbalance in catering to a larger party scene. We realize that there are discos and nightclubs nearby in order to socialize and dance the night and morning away. I really hope that your vacation experience, along with the little details that you enjoyed, entice you to revisit Velas Vallarta in the future and that your time in “paradise” be repeated. Thank you for your review and we wish you all the best this summer in St. Louis, Missouri. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just returned from another stay! We love being welcomed 'home' each time we arrive. The service is second to none, please take the time to get to know the staff! They truly want you to enjoy your time with them. Tino, Marcelino and Miguel are always amazing! I still miss Geraldine's special touches but everyone at the resort ensures your happiness! Dinners were fabulous and there's nothing better than waking up in paradise each day. Can't wait to visit again in June!
The wonderful ladies in the spa make the stay so enjoyable, don't miss the massage special on Saturday... Nothing more relaxing than a 90 minute massage listening to the ocean in the background.
If I could add... The resort is all inclusive, but please make sure you tip in some manner, the employees go out of their way to make your vacation spectacular and deserve recognition as well, they become friends.
Thank you again for a beautiful time

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lphillips25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you Sres. Phillips for your fine words on your very recent vacation with us. It really delights me to read that all facets of your stay were to your great satisfaction and that you cannot wait to return again in June. I know that the young men and women that you referred to will be very happy to see such a popular personality as yourself. And please do not hesitate to ask for me so as I can put a face to the kind words that you so graciously took the time to express. Thank you again Sres. Phillips and we look forward to seeing you again next month. Take care and good luck up there in Reno, Nevada.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.3 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,567 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,405 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,839 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velas Vallarta, from the award winning Velas Group, boasts a 10-acre beachfront location with views of the Sierra Madre Mountains in the distance. Located in the Marina Vallarta, one of the most exclusive areas of Vallarta-Nayarit, the resort is also just a few steps away from an 18-hole championship golf course. The center of activity is a lush tropical garden courtyard with three sparkling swimming pools, a cascading waterfall, swim-up bar and even a resident iguana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing