We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An extra star for their extra-activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An extra star for their extra-activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have been in close touch with Velas Vallarta during High Season periods at Velas Vallarta and I can just say the Staff is really wonderful, the facilities are amazing, the environment is really relaxing and the overall experience of the guests at the hotel is great. Extra activities during high season are wonderful: Swimming Classes, Cooking Classes, Barman classes, Aquaerobics, Hip Hop Classes and my favorite, Zumba Fitness classes.
You will find your holidays really fullfilling.

Room Tip: Some rooms are far away from the beach and from the general fun, but are more quiet. the choice is u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iandalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,684
    658
    162
    57
    48
See reviews for
1,454
1,181
54
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (874)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My friend and I spent our spring break at the Velas Vallarta. We stayed in a room over looking the property with the ocean as a gorgeous backdrop. The hotel has a tropical feel with bougainvillea spilling over the balconies and peacocks and iguanas wandering throughout the resort. We took advantage of the all-inclusive package and were quite pleased with both the food and drinks. My friend is a vegan and the staff did their best to accommodate her dietary needs, all with the utmost hospitality and warmth. The pools were gorgeous and relaxing and where we spent most of our time. We ended our relaxing week with fantastic massages out in the oceanside cabana; it was 45 minutes of heaven. I highly recommend the Velas Vallarta for a relaxing vacation where the staff go out of their way to make your stay special.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Stu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I recently stayed at Velas Vallarta as part of a group gathering. Wow, we were treated great! From the dinner on the beach, conference setting and our pool side service our experience was great. Hoping to return to this resort in the future!

Room Tip: I recommend the All-inclusive option so as to try all the wonderful food and drinks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our group of retail store owners from across the U.S. take time each year to getaway, share, learn, relax and have fun. Each year we go somewhere new and this was the best place yet. In fact, it is the first time we all want to go back to the same place again!

It would take more space than provided to share all of the many good experiences. Even the one time we had a problem with an AC unit, it was fixed before we even had returned too the room.

Check-in: The lobby is grand and The front desk was prepared for US travelers with staff speaking English well. Our reservations were ready and rooms properly prepared.

All rooms for the group were in good shape and wonderfully comfortable. The rooms are large and well appointed and the layout of the buildings make it easy to find and get to everything.

The grounds and pools are beautiful. We spent most of our time in the huge pool at the beach. Many people in the group talked about the excellent massages and spa treatments they received some in the spa and others enjoying the beach tents setup to enjoy the breeze while being pampered.

Staff: This is what made the trip special. Each person working here showed they cared about the Guest at every level. Housekeeping was timely, the restaurants were friendly and willing to accommodate special requests, the bar staff (especially at the pools) were fabulously attentive. While our group rate include tips, we all found ourselves tipping extra to thank them for their exceptional service.

Food: We visit all-inclusives so food is often similar at each hotel. Velas does something nice, each night of the week the restaurants have different menus to create more variety throughout the trip. While there was always great choices and the main stays for room service, the chefs on were willing to take special requests and made sure every Guest was fully satisfied.

Activities: We did not attend many of the planned hotel activities.

In Town: It is only brief taxi ride to town and Puerto Vallarta is walkable and friendly area. After a day at the outdoor markets and store we returned with artful blown glasses, blankets and fun souvenirs.

Getting around. The taxis are well regulated and safe. Taxi from the airport was about $10. Going to town was about the same and we agreed on a place and time for the same driver to pick us back up making t all very easy.

If you are looking for a very nice place to hold an event (weddings, meetings, reunions, etc) I highly recommend this property. Large enough to have what you need and intimate enough to enjoy being together. My wife and I are already thinking about a return romance trip!

Room Tip: If you go to bed early ask for a room in the side buildings or a higher floor in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ONTARIO
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I am an owner at Velas and we LOVE our resort. Bringing some friends in March. Only one complaint I have. Please can you put in coin operated washer and dryers. We stay 2 weeks and paying for Velas to do our laundry for a family of 5 is expensive. I hope that you consider this as I know other owners would appreciate it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LOVEVELAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our first stay at Velas Vallarta - and it won't be our last! We had an amazing time. We were a group of 7 - 4 adults and 3 children (grandparents, parents & kids). The grounds are kept amazingly clean, the food and drink are wonderful and the service was fabulous. Our 1 week stay was not long enough.
I would like to give extra thanks to all the staff who helped our son. He has a severe nut allergy and the staff and servers, as well as Donald in guest services, were nothing but helpful and accommodating towards him/us. Thank-you for helping make his stay safe. Additionally, the hospital is very close to the hotel - 5 min drive.
Our boys especially enjoyed the iguana's and peacocks on the grounds. The massages at the spa are incredible. The room service and cleaning were excellent also. We had a 3 bedroom suite. It was a great size for all 7 of us.
All the servers went out of their way to help our son and I was not able to catch all their names, but want to thank Tino by the pool for his service and Jesus at Andrea's for great service. We had Jesus serve us several times, and he was so good to our 3 boys - please thank him from us. We can't wait to come back again. Stayed May 30 - June 6, 2014.

Katie - Langley, BC Canada

Room Tip: The higher level rooms have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Five minutes from the airport. All rooms are suites. They have 1,2, and 3 bedroom suites. They have connecting rooms too, with sofa beds.The grounds are beautifully maintained. Large pool. Wide flat beach. The food was delicious and the presentation was fantastic. The views from the room are spectacular. I will return.

Room Tip: The seventh floor has the best views of the ocean and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racing2dayBedfordTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,054 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
17.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#31 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: 585 Paseo de la Marina | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing