We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were there in April for a week. We've stayed at the Velas many times and are NOT timeshare owners. We stay there because of the resort and the staff. I cannot say a single bad thing about the resort. The grounds are impeccable, the food is very good and the service is extraordinary.
Donald, the Assistant Manager of Operations is 100% attentive to your needs. He's been there 19+ yrs so he knows his job and does it well. Thank you Donald for your assistance. Marcelino is the most attentive staff member we have ever met. He's extremely good at his craft and very humble.
This is and always has been a stress free, no bad surprises, just good surprises visit each and every time we stay there. We will stay no where else in Puerto Vallarta. Visit the Velas Vallarta , you'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank farmer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and splendid recommendations on Velas Vallarta. It is always a pleasure for us to continue to provide “good surprises” for our large segment of repeat guests, as we are constantly looking for new items to incorporate into our product. Yourself more than many others will have seen those changes and adaptations that continue to “wow” you each and every year. We certainly do dedicate a lot of effort into our lovely grounds and culinary offerings. But the service has been very consistent over the years as well as most of our personnel. Donald and Marcelino practically live, eat and drink what is Velas Vallarta and that loyalty is reflected in the service and smiles that you encounter with every visit. I thank you very much for your valued loyalty to Velas Vallarta and please know that your friendship is very important and special for us. Thank you again and all the best to you this summer in Edmonton, Alberta. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 3,728 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just got back (July 2014) from Velas Vallarta today. Had a great time and wanted to shout out some of the particular reasons why: 1) Marcelino -- hands down the BEST server in the resort with a great mix of fun, sass and expert customer service 2) Rafaela and the top-notch cleaning staff who went above and beyond to even make up a mini-bed for my 3-year-old daughter and do turn-down service for her! and 3) the guy that made my perfectly delicious chorizo/onion/queso omelette every morning. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVVPV, General Manager at Velas Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Andy, the pleasure was most certainly ours in being able to host you and your lovely, outgoing family and I do wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your energetic comments while you just arrived to your home. Marcelino and Rafaela are really two of our stars in their respective areas, but both share the same customer satisfaction philosophy that is paramount to a successful organization and very integral to an extraordinary and unique vacation experience for our valued guests. And that mindset goes all the way to the front of the restaurant chef who handled your omelet just the way you liked each day. The unique details are what really define a great hotel. Thank you again Andy and I hope that you can return with the family again in order to relive some of the “good times” that you enjoyed on this holiday. Take care and our kind wishes go out to you, your wife and your little girl.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Second time here for family vacation. Absolutely wonderful. Breathtaking views and outstanding pool facilities. Staff very attentive to every need. Marcinelo, our poolside server, was amazing! He offered suggestions and kept us more than happy as we enjoyed the week. We will go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 81BrutusBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My cousins and I stayed for 4 days, 3 nights all inclusive. We absolutely fell in love with our beautiful room, the beachfront restaurant, the gorgeous peacocks, but most of all, we loved the staff. I wish I could remember everyone's name but everyone we encountered was so sweet to us. We were so sad when we had to leave. Normally I don't like staying at a place more than once because I like seeing different resorts, but I would definitely come back here! Thanks to all the staff that made our experience so wonderful! :)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

After a very trying week, this trip is just what I needed. This resort is absolutely beautiful and the staff caters to your every need. It is a very large resort, however it never felt like it was crowded. There was 8 of us and we never had to wait on a table, search for loungers or pool toys for the little ones. The entire family enjoyed the Mexican Fiesta and Casino Night. Breakfast at Andrea's is the best meal of the day and followed closely by the stir fry grill at the Beach restaurant at night. We stayed in room 4605, which is building 4, 6th floor, 2 bedroom suite, and 3402, which is building 3, 4th floor, 1 bedroom suite. Each suite was spacious, well appointed, and Raphela was absolutely the best. Our recommendation for improvement was varied menu selections for lunch and offering of non-motorized watersports at the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dabrickhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

we stayed at this resort February 2014 with our family of 6 in a 3 bedroom suite. It was fantastic. The room service was outstanding, we could get anything at anytime. We have stayed at other resorts in PV but the food here was the best we ever had. The evening entertainment was a little bit lacking. Overall this was a very fun trip and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I've always believed that it costs one nothing to be nice to their customers. Velas Vallarta took this to another level. The price might come cheap, but you get 5 star service and amenities throughout your stay. I'll go through a few specifics.

1) I emailed concierge to let them know it was my wife's birthday. When we arrived they had upgraded us to a "honeymoon" suite (room 3815) and made a special cheesecake for her.
2) We came with our toddler son, and the room had no child protection, so maintenance literally drilled a chain lock to the door.
3) To keep our son on some sort of a schedule, we asked for a rollaway bed which they provided at no extra charge.

I could go on but to keep this short and simple, some other pointers.
1) Their concierge can pretty much make anything happen
2) Room service arrives quicker than New York delivery
3) Poolside service is a little slow, but we were at the kiddy pool so probably not prime real estate
4) The value for the all inclusive has increased significantly (its out third stay there). The pizza's were actually good and the food at Andrea was 5x better than it had been in past years
5) you're not getting top shelf alcohol or beers in the all inclusive, but their pina colada's are awesome
6) If you're in the all inclusive, go to the Fiesta Mexicana they put on. The food and drinks are awesome.
7) The rooms, even the non-honeymoon suites are excellent. ultra powered AC and all the amenities you would need to feel like home.
8) I do have to give a negative review to keep this realistic, so here it is. Terrible coffee. I mean, seriously bad coffee. We've begun bringing our own coffee, or, you can go a bit down the street (~1 mile) to starbucks.
9) Take the workout pass at Casa Velas, which concierge will give you...Its a much much nicer facility.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3815...or even better, a room like 3815 but not next to an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rmisra41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
3.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,464 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,596 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#15 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Jalisco, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £215 - £646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velas Vallarta, from the award winning Velas Group, boasts a 10-acre beachfront location with views of the Sierra Madre Mountains in the distance. Located in the Marina Vallarta, one of the most exclusive areas of Vallarta-Nayarit, the resort is also just a few steps away from an 18-hole championship golf course. The center of activity is a lush tropical garden courtyard with three sparkling swimming pools, a cascading waterfall, swim-up bar and even a resident iguana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing