We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marina--a great place”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Our hotel was within walking distance to the marina in Puerto Vallarta. We enjoyed the marina and it was an easy walk from our hotel, Velas Vallarta. It was also a nice break from going downtown. We ate at Porta Bella--a great meal, good price and great view. We also enjoyed Banana Fajhta except for the guy there trying to sell us stuff while we were eating!! Also the Coffee Cup was a great spot for a breakfast, quick lunch or snack--very friendly staff, cheap and free internet (with meal purchase). We also met Jonathan of Charly's sailing and sportsfishing--a great guy, originally from Calif. We did not book a trip from him--had those already planned but I think next time, I will wait and go thru him. The shopping was pretty good--the best place is LaBrisa--for silver jewerly--go see Rosy. She is awesome, speaks perfect English, is funny and the prices are great!!! If you go there, tell her Lisa from Chicago said Hello!!!! We all loved Rosy!!
Overall, the marina is a nice area--just we careful of all the time share people--they are everywhere!!! My biggest complaint about Puerto Vallarta is the pushy time share people--I have traveled to many other parts of Mexico and have not found it anywhere else--not sure why but......still a great place--again go see Rosy!!!!

Thank Lockportlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,873 - 2,879 of 3,732 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2009

Without question, the Grand Velas in Puerto Vallarta is one of the best that anyone can find. From the minute we arrived to the last moment we were there, the staff was always, and I mean always without fail, extending themselves to make sure that we were served in a manner that would remind you of a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons resort. Everyone, from the maid taking care of our room, the pool side staff, the bar service at the pool, and the fantastic restaurants - everything and everyone simply exemplified first class quality and service. There is no doubt that we will return, and that we will not hesitate to stay at any other Velas resort.

Rudy Beck
St. Charles, Missouri

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudybeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed here about 8 years ago, too, and really enjoyed both visits.

The rooms, restaurants and pools were clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. We got an all inclusive package, which I wouldn't recommend: There are several on-site restaurants to choose from but we found the food to be very average, to even below-average in some cases. Based on the menu prices, if we would have had to actually pay the quoted price we would have been very disappointed. This resort is so close to town and the marina that you have a multitude of choices for dining, everything from Italian and Mexican, to American, and Sushi, just to name a few. The suites are really large, the beds comfy, and there are lots of pillows in varying cushiness (I'm particular about my pillow!).
The timeshare pressure all over Puerta Vallarta is very high, and it was no different at Velas. In fact, we went out on Sunday for a little walk and were hounded at the door by "bell hops" (?) who grilled us on where we were going, who we were meeting, with who, etc. They were assuming we were going to another resort for someone else's timeshare presentation. The highest timeshare harassment window is on Saturdays and Sundays, so unless you intend to to the presentations to get all the freebies and discounts, you may want to just hang out at the pool or beach until Monday.

All in all it was a pleasant experience and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denverdaisy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

My husband, our 2 children (6/12) and my inlaws stayed in a 2 bdrm suite for 1 week in March. We had been to PV previously however this was the first time at this resort. We had a great time, the kids had lots to do and we went on the tours that were offered at the resort. Above all, the staff were exceptional. The cleaning staff, the restaurant staff, and the resort staff we second to none, and we have told everyone about this wonderful resort. In fact we have booked two weeks in November taking my parents this time to enjoy such a wonderful relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OkotoksHavingfun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We booked 28 guests into the Velas Vallarta for a wedding that was held at a different location. Our family has traveled to PV at least 1 time per year for the last 15 years, so we knew kinda what we were looking for: a nice hotel that would be conveniently located for a large group, with good amenities, that 28 discerning guests would be satisfied with.
I would not hesitate to do it exactly the same again.
The location is in the Marina area, which is extremely convenient to the airport, and just a short bus ride(50Cents) or cab($5USD) ride to town. You can also walk over to the Marina and try nice restaurants or just look at all of the spectacular boats.
When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with a refreshing glass of cranberry juice, and some cool wash clothes to freshen up. No problems with check in and the rooms were fine. We experienced one difficulty with an air conditioner, but when we told the staff they fixed it promptly.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and each unit overlooks the beachfront. The pool was wonderful with the service excellent. They would bring tasty little bites of food around about one time per hour to tempt us to order more.
I have to mention that Don, the assistant manager was extremely helpful and we also used Mauricio at tour desk in the lobby to book excursions for the entire group, Thanks Mauricio! We were actually on the Kontiki trimaran sail tour, when the captain handed me his cell phone, and it was the Hotel travel desk making sure that everything was going well. We are not big shots but they sure treated us like we were.
You can hardly ever please 28 people at the same time..but at Velas Vallarta I did not get one complaint from anyone...that pretty much says it all.
Thanks to the staff at Velas Vallarta, you made our stay and wedding week for the family and guests very special and memorable time for all.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarab15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We (my husband , son and I) have made our 4th trip to Velas Vallarta!

Why do we love this place?... here's why:
- the resort is gorgeous - so lush... 2 pools joined by a canal(!!) .. large, comfortable, spotless rooms (in fact the whole resort is spotless!)!
-the staff are very friendly..we recognize faces each trip!
-the service is impeccable!
-the food is awesome...what a selection too...there is a theme each evening as well as a delicious buffet!
-you can relax by the pool.. or join in the many activities(we love the water aerobics and water volleyball) and in the evening there is a different show each night!

It's definitely a 5 star resort!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terahnsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Just came back from an excellent vacation in Velas Vallarta. At first I was a little hesitant because it wasn't in Nuevo Vallarta and from a past experience with all-inclusive resorts. Well as soon as we stepped into the hotel, they made us feel welcomed. We stayed at a 3 bedroom villa (2b, living, dining, kitchen), rooms were OK, bed and AC were great! The pools are huge and water was cool, they even had a kiddie pool which my daughter and nieces enjoyed a ton. Probably thinking duhhh cool water, but have been to 2 other resorts this summer and water was warm.

The service at the restaurants, room service and pool bar were great, we did tip ! But even before we tipped, we good service. Don't know if it was the slow season or they are always that friendly and serviceable. The restaurants have a small buffett, but it is mostly a-la-carte, recomend the steakhouse. A downside to it is that they only have 2 restaurants (not couting the hot-dog & burger cart), but good quality food. What I mostlyed enjoyed about the hotel was that they served CANNED BEER instead of draft and top shelf liquor. Downside to drinking liquor instead of beer is that after 11PM, all bars close and you can't get liquor through room service, only beer.


Pros:
24 room service incluyed in all inclusive
top shelf liquor and canned beer
pool closes at 10
Great service!
Restaurant hours are not limited (breakfast 7-12, lunch12-5, dinner 630-10)

Cons:
only 2 restaurants
bars close at 11pm

TIP !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lando21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
3.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,469 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,598 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#15 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Jalisco, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £217 - £650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velas Vallarta, from the award winning Velas Group, boasts a 10-acre beachfront location with views of the Sierra Madre Mountains in the distance. Located in the Marina Vallarta, one of the most exclusive areas of Vallarta-Nayarit, the resort is also just a few steps away from an 18-hole championship golf course. The center of activity is a lush tropical garden courtyard with three sparkling swimming pools, a cascading waterfall, swim-up bar and even a resident iguana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing