We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this was an amazing vacation”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 June 2010

A great experience, unforgettable! The service was extraordinary, very friendly. Thanks for all the wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maru_qm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,536 - 2,542 of 3,726 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2010

Whatever the best reviews say about this resort,are definitely true and then some. We could not have asked for a more beautiful resort,the grounds are gorgeous,surrounded by gardens and wonderful,warm pools (ocean is warm too). you will be right beside the beach and the staff keeps everything spotless. The food was great,and never ending,whatever you ask for you get immediately.All the staff is amazing(all the waiters are great, esp. chef Thomas at Andreas,Fernandez, & Carlos)they are soo happy and simply want to please you,the best service I have ever had. Our room was unbelievable, we were upgraded as soon as we got there at no extra charge to a 3 bedroom suite,wonderful!! We also loved Bernie the peacock, iguanas, and a few cats that roam freely on the grounds.There are activities scheduled during the day if you want to participate which we did some everyday,and entertainment at night in the lobby was alot of fun.I highly recommend the Vallarta Adventures Outdoor Adventure if you are wanting to go on an excursion.It was exciting and alot of fun ( includes many activities- rappelling,ziplining,mule riding,speed boat ride through ocean,small amount of hiking,open jeep ride).We did not mind the local vendors on the beach, they do not come up on the pool area, and we liked buying some jewelry,dresses,and pottery from them at great prices,and we felt they really needed some business and they were very friendly, we actually wish we would have bought more from them.So if you are wanting a wonderful vacation without lifting a finger,and great memories this is the place to go.Oh yea the sunsets are beautiful !! I SIMPLY CAN NOT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THIS RESORT & PUERTO VALLARTA.We hope to go back some day.And going in June is a great time to go about 20% occupancy,so no crowds,with perfect weather mid-eighties with a warm breeze.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We were in Puerto Vallarta a couple of weeks ago with friends and although we had a wonderful time I think our experience was spoiled by first going to Cancun a couple of years ago. This hotel is about 20 years old and it shows. The rooms are not really resort quality and in fact we had to be moved because they got our room wrong the first time. The staff was wonderful with exceptional service. A very odd mix of iguanas that swam in the pool, peacocks that would be so loud at night it would keep us awake and roaming cats? People want to relax on vacation not worry about 5 foot long lizards that roam the premises. We have zoos at home. P.S. the hotel really should post when they will be closing a major amenity such as the swim up pool bar.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpires37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We just returned from Velas Vallarta where we stayed for a week with our 2 small children.....we had an amazing time! Even with 2 toddlers, we were truly able to relax because the staff was SO accommodating and the resort was so child friendly. The food was very good and we really were waited on ALL day....at the pool....room service.....amazing waitstaff at the restaurants. The main pool was enormous and perfect for kids who can't yet swim....there was also another big pool and then a kids pool. Can't say enough about the service....they truly bent over backwards for anything we needed and we were able to relax! Location is right on the beach, though we spent most every minute in the pool! Very clean and I can't think of one complaint! Chef Thomas at the Andrea restaurant was the awesome and Juventino (Tino) was the BEST poolside server!!! Sit is his section and tell him that the kid who loves pickles sent you :)

Jill from Dublin, CA

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jilldemichiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

First time visitor to Puerto Vallarta. Traded our Cabo timeshare for a week at Velas Vallarta located in the marina district. We had no previous recommendations at Velas hotels but decided to give this one a try because their MANDATORY "All Inclusive" charge seemed somewhat more reasonable than their other hotels .What a great choice. Especially after we discovered you can even dine or use the facilities at their other (even more upscale) neighboring properties.

This hotel/resort is located on the beach about 10 minute drive south of the airport. The hotel itself is maybe twenty years old but in great shape and very well landscaped. Our room was a one bedroom suite very large in size and well appointed. Anything you wanted was there, including a small kitchen.... which we never used.

As noted, the hotel was exceptionally nice but the real treat at this property is the staff and the food. I mean everyone goes over and above to keep you happy. From the pool service to the beach restaurant to their upscale restaurant named Andrea's. We had planned on dining in town a few times but with Andrea's, their was no reason to travel. The food and restaurant experience was truly amazing. All of the staff was terrific, Carlos and Omar at Andrea's, Geraldine in guest services, everyone. This was perhaps our best trip to Mexico and we look forward to returning.

All of Puerto Vallarta was wonderful. It does seem somewhat less energetic than Cabo and may therefore be somewhat less desirable if you are looking for more nightlife.

Only disappointment we had in PV was with an organized boat snorkeling trip. Skip that. Ten hours on a boat for 30 minutes of snorkeling. What a waste of time. Golf was good but play at the Nicklaus designed Vista Vallarta course. Short cab ride away.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Had a wonderful time @ Velas Vallarta, PV....There were a few times we needed a helping hand and Geraldine was there to handle the situation....Her attitude is what everyone wants to see......"GET THE PROGLEM HANDLED".....
Thanks Geraldine, you made our Stay Perfect.........
John W. Murrell
2806

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwmurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

You can't ask for better! The staff is outstanding. Friendly, heolpful and efficient. The grounds and pools are beautiful and well kept. The food was also excellent. We looked forward ro dinner every night. We dined mostly at the Andrea Restaurant and the meal and service were a treat.
The location is also so convenient to the airport. We have stayed here many times and plan to do so again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
3.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,455 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,596 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#15 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Jalisco, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £217 - £647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velas Vallarta, from the award winning Velas Group, boasts a 10-acre beachfront location with views of the Sierra Madre Mountains in the distance. Located in the Marina Vallarta, one of the most exclusive areas of Vallarta-Nayarit, the resort is also just a few steps away from an 18-hole championship golf course. The center of activity is a lush tropical garden courtyard with three sparkling swimming pools, a cascading waterfall, swim-up bar and even a resident iguana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing