We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why ovebook?......we had 3 rooms in 24 hours before you got it right.”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #4 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
“Why ovebook?......we had 3 rooms in 24 hours before you got it right.”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We paid for a one bedroom suite. When we arrived we were informed that our rooms were not avalible, do to over booking. They down sized the couple we were traveling with and ourselves to a two bedroom suite, one king size bed and two twins, not exceptable. We were then given a two bedroom suite with two bedrooms, although it was beautiful, it is not what we paid for. Agian another down size. We arrived At 5 P.M. and recieved our final room at 9:30 P.M. the following day.
We wish to THANK ALL staff members for our stay. as they are what made a difference to a good trip or a great one. These ones really stand out.
A GREAT BIG THANK YOU to the following staff members who make up for the resorts short comings:
Karen, you booked our excurisons for us and were the sound for all of our concerns The zip line was fantastic. the fishing was top notch and I hope your hand heals. Lovely lady.
Manuel, you moved us twice and were great to see again as you took us to our room so we could finally rest. A very pleasent fellow.
Gilberto, you moved us to our final room, 2510,THANK YOU. You went back down to get the safe keys we needed because we were exhausted.
Martin,you keeped us well watered. You did an excellent job of keeping up with us. A very nice man, even remembers your name, and what beverage you want. Again Top Notch.
Elonso Ruiz, you are such a joy to be around. Fast, courtious service, with a personal touch that makes you special. Thank you and I hope you and your family live very well. Top Notch service.
Truly, our ONLY ISSUE was the over booking and room shuffiling.
Gene & Kris Bellamy

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Respected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,760
    679
    162
    57
    47
See reviews for
1,509
1,208
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (901)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2011

1st wk was my husband & I, 3rd wk adult daughters and self. Staff is very responsive. Needed a Dr. while I was there, hotel arranged for office call to my room. All staff worked very hard to cater to our every need. Jacinto took special care of us anytime we were around the pool. One of my daughters said it was the nicest place she'd ever stayed. I fuss about the whole time share thing but I know whenever I go to Vales Vallarta, I will be treated very special and I can gets lots of rest. and relaxation. I love to go there. Can't wait until next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This is our 6th year of staying at Velas. It is a great place, especially if youd are traveling with children. The food and service is exceptional. The only concern is that the rooms are becoming rather outdated, the bathrooms, particularly need updating. TV's are old, need flat screens considering the cost of the stay. Also, internet service should be part of the all inclusive. Again, can't say enough about the service, you feel very pampered!.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granny016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napanee, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The one bedroom suite facing the ocean was spacious and comfortable. The food , service and room service was excellent. The grounds were lush and well laid out, great set up for families but spread out enough for privacy. Pools were great and not crowded, enjoyed the cabanas at the beach and particularly the exemplary service of Marcelino who showed us what real five star service can be like. Being timeshare owners we generally avoid all- inclusive mandatory resorts. We really felt we got our money's worth at this one. Look forward to returning in the future.
J&D

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djmccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Jalinto was our waiter at the pool and was great, always there with great service and fast service.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dharte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estevan, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed a length of three weeks this time. The hotel and staff was always excellent, great service and friendly helpfull staff at all times. This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this location and as always, enjoyed our stay. Looking forward to our next stay in 2012.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertwayneirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Although this resort is the oldest of the velas resorts in the area, it does not show it's age. The rooms were well kept along with the gardens, pool and restaurants. We really enjoyed the people and the service was outstanding. We missed some of the activities at the resort due to excursions we booked, but did participate in the Mexican fiesta which was delicious food and great entertainment. I would like to mention the names of two people that are exceptional employees for this company They are Olivia and Don. Olivia although I am not sure of her actual title gives information on what the resort offers when you arrive as well as asks whether you are interested in the time share presentation. She talked to us briefly when we arrived but throughout the week she didn't hesitate to help, knew all of us by name and was a warm friendly face as we walked through the lobby. Don in guest services was also very helpful and kind. He knew this was our first time in Mexico so he walked us through different options of places to see, how to get there and in general just made us feel welcome along with helping us to make the most of our time in Puerto Vallarta. The only thing I would suggest of the resort would be to add activities in the evening to the heated pool area, such as bar and music. We opted to check into the time share sales to see what they had to offer and this was the only negative experience we encountered in the seven days. This was of course optional and we chose to look into it and the sales team we had were very nice until we chose to tell them no, then they became rude. This was obviously not representative of the norm for this resort as we experienced throughout the rest of of time there. We will definately come back to this resort!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunlap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.3 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,567 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,398 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,831 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing