We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older Hotel with Great Service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Older Hotel with Great Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed for a week at Villa del Palmar over our honeymoon. The hotel is a bit older but they have done a nice job remodeling everything outside of the rooms. The room is older but had very nice bathrooms.

We were not in the hotel room much so this wasn't a big deal for us. The pools were great. One large one with water falls and a slide. They always had activities like volleyball and stuff to do in the afternoons. The beach was pretty nice. A lot of vendors but they had ropes that prevented them from coming up to you a lot. I would recommend not sitting in the front row if you don't want to be harassed.

The restaurants were pretty good for being hotel restaurants. The breakfast buffet was very good. We always ate more than we should have but it was hard not too with great food. The omlete bar was so good. As far as dinners, we didn't eat at the hotel much because we explored the city for authentic restaurants. But we did like the mexican restaurant at the hotel. There is a particular waiter there that made our week. I can't remember his name but you'll know who I'm taking about if you stay/eat there. He is VERY FRIENDLY and always said hi throughout the week. Everyone at the resort liked him.

We did massages at the Spa one day. Very clean and friendly staff. A great value for a couples massage package.

Room service was good. They always swept up the sand that would get tracked in. The towels were always replaced and beds were changed and made. There service was very good.

The hotel is very centrally located to attractions around P.V. I would recommend staying here if you are looking for budget friendly centrally located hotel. If you are looking for an really nice hotel with fancy restaurants, this might not be the place for you... Family friendly and lots to do.

We will definitely return to this hotel in the future with our children. Thanks Villa del Palmar for the great customer service and making our vacation enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    730
    318
    159
    100
See reviews for
717
816
77
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Janesviulle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed the week of Oct 26th thru Nov 2nd. Do not usually do all inclusive since I owne in this resort but got a good deal on a package.Fantastic service in the Market resturant by Carlos at breakfast, Xaviar by the pool Emiliano at dinner at the market. Food and beverage was great.
They were doing some work on tbe resort but not a big deal. Excellent location and value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meyers654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Co
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying the hotel is beautiful, very clean, and the staff was great. It would be a wonderful hotel for some people it just wasn't the perfect fit for myself and my husband. Reason one is that everything shuts down by 10:30. Drinks and food are over and it is like a ghost town, and it's quite a long walk to get anywhere else. We had a late flight coming in, and were able to make last call for some last minute drinks with an extra tip, but we were foodless until breakfast. This leads in to my next reason...I think they are really overpriced for their food and drinks. The next morning we were starving and headed straight to breakfast. We were not offered a menu we were just told to start the buffet. It's my fault for not asking the price, but 510 pesos for 2 for a mediocre breakfast is a little steep in my book. The yummy fruity drinks by the pool were delicious, but very weak. I questioned at one point if they were virgin! Also, way too expensive unless they were able to pack a punch, or even a slight tap. I will have to say though we had dinner at the Italian restaurant and it was not only inexpensive, but absolutely wonderful so I highly recommend giving them a try. We ate at the deli quite a bit and I very much enjoyed the food there. This will now bring me to my next reason I wouldn't return. The timeshare pitch that is everywhere in this hotel. I get it you want people to buy the timeshare for this hotel, but the walk from the lobby to the deli you should not have to be ambushed 3 times each direction. Wearing headphones doesn't help, carrying hot food, carrying cold food that you want to put in your fridge doesn't help, you will get stopped. On the streets downtown I expect it, but in your own hotel gets old quick. Needless to say, we went to Old Town a lot so keep in mind the hotel will make sure the cab gets you there for 50 pesos, but they will always charge you 100 pesos to return. This has nothing to do with the hotel, but it's something to know if you're staying there. One more bit of advice they show a commercial on the hotel channel on TV for a place called Josephinos...avoid it. It has the right idea, but the buffet was old and cold and they had no interest in offering anything else. I will do a separate review on that, but the reason we went was because we saw the commercial on repeat in the room. I had a wonderful trip, but would probably not return to this hotel when there are so many other options in PV.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JessiDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a wonderful place, centrally located to town. The rooms are clean and the one bedroom is comfortable enough for 4 people. All though there are hotels in the area that may be newer and more updated, the staff makes up for it. From the front desk staff and through out the entire facility, one person was nicer than the next. THey always made you feel that you were appreciated which is always a nice way to start and end the day. If you are an Interval Member, you can get some fantastic prices via the getaways... I have been here several times I the past and will continue to frequent this establishment. In my opionion, its a win win :)

Room Tip: Most all rooms face the pool area...Just ask !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princesa520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We have stayed at VDP for 5 years now. Close to everything! Bus or taxi to Malecon, Liverpool Mall, Walmart. Easy walking distance to groceries. Rooms clean and well equipped with everything we needed. Best part of VLP in PV is the warm, accommodating friendly staff. From the minute you arrive they treat you so well. Exceptional service from Claudia in guest services!! She helped us on so many occassions! Highly recommend this resort :)

Room Tip: Have stayed in various part of the resort.....all equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveVilladelPalmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

It s a beautiful place, Good weater And wonderful experience i really love The kayak tour And is a perfect place for relax, is have a Good beach whit y thats sports And entreteiment, all days have an espectacular show,

Room Tip: All are perfects
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comanche, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband and I had forgotten just how much we love Mexico! Had not been there in about 25 years. Well, the exceptional service at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort helped us remember! I think it is a place we will go back to again and again.

Room Tip: This report is older so not all rooms have a nice view. Be sure to request a room with a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank laurie_creswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
2.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
2.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.6 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
8.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48335, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the soft sands of Banderas Bay is Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta, an enchanting family resort that combines charming Mexican tradition with upscale sophistication and modernity. The magical resort, situated close to the center of downtown Puerto Vallarta, offers a unique vacation experience that will have you falling in love with the stunning beachfront destination. Boasting two freeform pools, three delicious culinary options and a state-of-the-art spa, Villa del Palmar is everything you need for a fun-filled vacation and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing