We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staff Ever”
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I visited Puerto Vallarta in January and stayed at this amazing hotel. I can't say enough about how wonderful this place is. The grounds are absolutely incredible. The pond in the front of the hotel even has turtles and the indoor grounds have peacocks! The inside lobby has a mesmorizing indoor fountain/pool. The room we stayed in had a little private pool on the balcony. And since it is an adults only hotel, it was so peaceful and quiet. But what really stands out is the staff. They literally tend to your every need. They seem to know where you are at all times - on or off the property. This way they know when to clean your room during the day and turn your bed down in the evening. They are very unobtrusive, yet attentive at the same time. The restaurants are top notch as well, as you have access to their other neighboring hotels and beach club. Be sure and try the spa during your stay! I highly recommend Casa Velas for anyone wanting to be pampered with great food, service peace and quiet.

Room Tip: The second floor is most convenient to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lebrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts in this forum. We really appreciate your participation.
We feel flattered for the fact that your experience at Casa Velas was worth it minutes of your valuable time to share your experiences.
We are very happy to know that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed our service.
We are pleased to know that you also enjoy the food, We know that some of our guests are not used to rich and spicy food and for this reason we offer healthier and lighter alternatives in our menus.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you back in your home away from home to try our new menus.
Regards,

Pierre Yves Bonin
Managing Director
Casa Velas Hotel Boutique
”YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

I recently took my Mom here on her first "all-inclusive" trip. We picked Casa Velas because it was a smaller resort. Well, my Mom is now officially spoiled! She thought it was the most beautiful place she had ever been-and I must agree it is beautiful! The grounds are spectacular and immaculate, our room was clean and spacious and the staff were wonderful. The pool is big (it does need a little tile work) and the restaurant was delicious. Thank you to all the amazing staff who made our stay so comfortable and for making my Mom (and me!) feel safe and pampered! Jorge, Lourdes, Edgar, Ricardo, Felix, Fredy, Benny (I know I am forgetting some names), you all made our stay unforgettable and we can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank morrisAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We check in here not knowing what to expect. It was on a golf course, not on the beach and sometimes all inclusives can be quantity and not quality. This was NOT the case. From the beginning the welcoming experience was right on. Our room was spacious and clean. Every terrace has a dipping pool that was a treat after being all day at the pool. The food was special and excellent variety. No buffets, thank goodness! The staff was over the top, could never do enough. Lots of warm smiles. We used the spa lots, massages and facials were some of the best we have had and very reasonable. I would highly recommend the place to stay if you want an adult only place that is a little on the low key side of things. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Others have shared what an attractive property this is. I want to emphasize how much the wonderful staff puts this place over the top. They all seem to be very happy to be working there everyday and it comes across. A great experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank callee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was the second time we have stayed here. The staff is always helpful and happy to provide any assistance. Our only wish is that more people would go. Although we appreciate the calm serenity that is always present, we do like to meet people from around the world.
I am bad about remembering names but I can tell you we always are pleased and delighted by all of the staff members. No matter who they are or what they do they will take the time to talk to you and answer you questions. The concierge was most helpful. This time we chose to plan trips ahead of time and all of the arrangements were readily handled.
The food is first rate. Especially nice is the breakfast. The choice of juice drinks is facinating. Although the dinners are tasty and pleasant, after being there for a week it does get a little repetitious. But mid 80 degree weather in the winter makes it all worth our while.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a bit of a walk but always level ground. We loved the view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcrqtrmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is my fifth visit to Casa Velas. It was as wonderful or even better than all my last visits
Everything is perfect. The staff is superb. The accomodation, the food, the golf, the spa, the location to amenities.

Everything is 6 Star and could not be better!! I will always return.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room. It is a small boutique hotel. Therefore everything is easy walking distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeff_h_epstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Well, were to begin. I am still here and don’t have to wait to leave to write this. We have travelled the world and done everything from the National Geographic thing to total pamper and luxury. Sure there are incrementally more luxurious hotels, more spectacular locals, more exciting flora and fauna – but this was not a Galapagos Island or Ugandan safari trek. This was a winter break from DC and for that purpose we rate this resort up there at the top of our list. That list for us includes the Rayavadee Krabi, Paradise Cove Mauritius, the Palace at Sun City South Africa, Amarvilas and Rambagh Palace, Leela Palace India, Table Bay Cape Town, La Casitas Village PR, dozens of Ritz’s and Seasons etc. We always look for that point of diminishing return where the value is at the point of having to spend gobs more for a little better – we don’t need a little better for twice the price. For us Casa Velas was the luxury value – where spending $300 – 500 more per day wasn’t really going to buy us anything that much better.

Casa Velas is an intimate, spectacular property, spacious, warm and welcoming. It only has 80 accommodations, meaning that for all these facilities and staff the maximum you would have is 160 people – usually golfing, touring, trekking, beaching or lounging. We never saw more than 20 – 25 people anywhere – usually less – even though they were 80%. Right now I am sitting by the main pool and there are 14 people spread out amongst the loungers and dual cabana chairs. We did visit the sister luxury property – Grand Velas and for us it was too big and lacking in something. Think Crystal Cruises vs. Seabourn, Regent or Silverseas. We prefer intimacy and “Boutique”.

Everything is cooked to order. No buffets in site. We also enjoy the low rise garden/villa concept, open air halls, Spanish/Mexican design. We had a Grand Class Suite Plus – with “immersion pool. For us, not worth it – but since we were on an upgrade a nice addition. We only used it twice but it looked nice on the large balcony.

The staff are wonderful, attentive, caring and actually seem to enjoy their jobs. My BS alarm wasn’t ringing with false “happiness” doing their jobs. The food is fantastic and we sampled everything. If we didn’t like something it was not for lack of quality or presentation – it was personal taste. The dislike of a dish was very rare and we just ordered something else. We found the house wine selection to be varied and something for every taste. No swill served. Drinks – name it and you can have it (within reason). Johnny Walker Black – no problem and other top liquors served. There were also additional fee wine lists. We enjoyed having the beach club at separate location and we walked back and forth each time.

Stefano was great and informative in arranging all our tours – and they were great. I would also recommend anyone explore their resort program (it’s not exactly timeshare but a variation called fractional). I ran the figures and it was well worth it but not for our lifestyle. For those who plan to visit particular resorts year after year (including an extensive high level luxury exchange worldwide, the numbers seem to work well).

We are returning in May with my daughters so they can have this experience. (It is an adults only resort).

At the resort pool, beach club pool, beach club restaurant and resort restaurant you always had the feeling of being in a private exclusive enclave – which is exactly the type of vacations we like.

Room Tip: Even their most basic rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bristow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
584 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
811 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#18 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,616 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £282 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a beautiful beach resort in Puerto Vallarta for an indulgent vacation refuge with sublime dining, a pristine beach, ocean club, golf courses, pools and a spa. Our spectacular resort is within walking distance of Puerto Vallarta's sophisticated 500-slip marina and 15 minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing