We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winter escape”
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Winter was way too long, cold and snowy this year, so we searched out a winter exchange for our Worldmark time share. Why? We love Worldmark but I wasn't available for presidents week. So we looked at an RCI exchange.
Casa Velas was available. It was our first time there - we had been to Dreams, the Grand Mayan and Club Viva before but decided to try Casa Velas because of its reviews. I did this with a bit of dread - the reviews were great. This always bothers me because reviews that good are often hard to meet as they set high expectations. Were we disappointed. No - we were very pleased.
Let us begin. When we arrived the airport in Puerto Vallarta was very busy. You do not disembark on the tarmac but it is quite a walk. So if you have a disability like I have (a bad leg) ask for a wheelchair.
When we passed immigration, we were sent to one carousel then changed to another. when we exited - our transportation was not there We were able to find the booth and after producing our form, we were ushered into a taxi and taken the short distance to our hotel. Upon arriving, we were given and taken to our room. It was not the room we had arranged for and there were stairs, so we requested another. They complied readily and the rest of he week was fine.
The restaurant at Casa was very good, but after a week you will have tried most meal choices. Breakfasts were great.
you can eat at the velas Vallarta also, but the quality at the beach restaurant is not as good. The other restaurant at Velas Vallarta is very good but you must reserve on the day you want to go.
The highlight is the beach club. Quiet, beautiful ocean and you can book to eat there three times a week. ?It's very popular so do it early in the week. The sunset is magnificent (better than Hawaii) and after dinner get a flaming Mexican coffee. The act is rather magnificent.
Would we go again? Absolutely. We enjoyed the variety of the meals more at the Dreams resort, but this resort was overall nicer.
One regret - we need to speak more Spanish. We would have appreciated it more.
Also, if you love whales, make sure you take an excursion. My wife loved it.

Room Tip: We had a room not facing the pool. We loved it. Quieter. make sure if you don't have a room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BarryL798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We just completed a one-week vacation at Casa Velas in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. The whole experience can be summed up in one word: fantastic! It starts the moment you arrive. You pull into a beautiful resort that is centered right in the middle of a residential area. It's almost a surprise that it's there. The grounds are beautiful, the staff is welcoming and the whole vacation is absolutely fabulous. Our room was on the 2nd floor, overlooking both the pool and the golf course. Magnificent! We opted for the all-inclusive. That term is for a often a misnomer. In many resorts, it is " all-inclusive" but with a lot of exceptions. It may not include alcoholic drinks or it may not include wine or only at certain times. There are premiums that you have to pay for certain meals.. At Casa Velas, when they say all inclusive, it is absolutely all-inclusive. When we checked out at the end of our stay, the only extras were a couple gifts my wife bought at the gift shop. The food was absolutely five-star. The meals were creative, delicious, and all that we could hope for. It was definitely one of the most relaxing enjoyable vacation experiences of our lives. We will be back - again and again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Our first time to a non beach front property - and it won't be the last. The resort was wonderful - sparkling clean, great food, and premium drinks. Make sure you have an after dinner drink outside the lobby, as Benny is very entertaining! Thanks to the staff for a wonderful week.

Room Tip: He higher floors and larger room numbers have a better view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rusty0353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We had our vacation pre-scheduled not knowing that the winter of 2014 would be so horrific. We needed the sunshine and warmth badly.
The Casa Velas Resort was one of the best vacation destinations tha I've ever been to. The rooms are top notch. The food was to die for delicious. The services provided by the staff made me feel like a VIP. I was humbled by the graciousness of the staff. I can not imagine anyone being disappointed that they choice Casa Velas for a winter getaway.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We recently completed our 4th 2 week stay at Casa Velas. Once again it was perfect. Setting, staff and food were exceptional. The staff was friendly, calling us by name, making us feel like we were friends. We met 5 other couples we had previously met, felt like home; you see once you've visited Casa Velas it becomes your home away from home. This is a perfect place for couples of any age to get away from the demands of life, sit back and relax; especially designed for the more mature set. You can sit by the pool, go to the beach, golf or enjoy the privacy of your room. We like to walk to the Beach Club, or of course transportation is at your beck and call. Two years ago we needed to visit the AmeriMed hospital. We want all of you to know that this facility is first class, doctors spoke impeccable English and took great care of both my patient husband and myself. Resort staff facilitated transportation both ways and did everything possible to help us. If you choose this resort, I think you will be pleased.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Like all previous reviews, this place meets and exceeds all expectations. Our room was great, spacious,quiet, comfortable bed and very clean. The strongest points of this resort for us was the restaurant and its incredible hostesses and wait staff, service that we never experienced before. Only all inclusive we have been to with such great wine choices. The resort is beautiful, nothing more to say. We only spent a couple of days at the beach club, very nice. The beach at beach club is not the best, a lot of rocks. My only recommendations to the resort management would be to have another bartender give Benny a hand at night when its busy and to set up more lounge chairs around the pool. We would love to come back here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bleublancetrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed at Casa Velas Feb 2014. We had read all the reviews and had expectations of a great experience. The Casa Velas and the Beach Club staff exceeded those expectations, and then some. The personal service at this boutique hotel is exceptional. The staff are absolutely outstanding (there is not enough room to mention each individually). Add in great atmosphere and excellent food and you will seriously believe you are in paradise. The people we met have been returning for years and you can certainly understand why. This trip was a Xmas present for our intellectually challenged adult son and the the kindness extended by staff and guests alike was incredible. Thanks to everyone at Casa Velas for making this a trip to remember. We would highly recommend consideration of this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CdnFinn2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
583 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
810 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#17 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,614 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £273 - £553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a beautiful beach resort in Puerto Vallarta for an indulgent vacation refuge with sublime dining, a pristine beach, ocean club, golf courses, pools and a spa. Our spectacular resort is within walking distance of Puerto Vallarta's sophisticated 500-slip marina and 15 minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing