We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Velas
Nearby Hotels
US$338
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$307
US$218
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$316
US$212
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$154
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
US$631
US$305
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$288
US$259
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$472
US$251
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$338
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
US$339
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$238
US$226
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,674)
Filter reviews
1,674 results
Traveller rating
1,442
140
49
24
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,442
140
49
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubplunge poolsister resortgrand class suiteemiliano restaurantshort shuttle ridemain resortboutique hotelour honeymoonshrimp burritovista vallartalobby barhotel poolan adults only resortall inclusive resortgourmet foodaqua bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
724 - 729 of 1,674 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Last year our experience was less than memorable due to two destination weddings occurring in one week.
This year there were no weddings scheduled during our stay and as a result the vacation was wonderful.
The staff are outstanding, the food is sublime and the location(s) perfect.
We will be back next year for sure.

Room Tip: Avoid staying when weddings are scheduled; if the beach club is closed it can have a major negative impact on the vacation experience (and brings into question the rates being charged)
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DavidRB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Winter was way too long, cold and snowy this year, so we searched out a winter exchange for our Worldmark time share. Why? We love Worldmark but I wasn't available for presidents week. So we looked at an RCI exchange.
Casa Velas was available. It was our first time there - we had been to Dreams, the Grand Mayan and Club Viva before but decided to try Casa Velas because of its reviews. I did this with a bit of dread - the reviews were great. This always bothers me because reviews that good are often hard to meet as they set high expectations. Were we disappointed. No - we were very pleased.
Let us begin. When we arrived the airport in Puerto Vallarta was very busy. You do not disembark on the tarmac but it is quite a walk. So if you have a disability like I have (a bad leg) ask for a wheelchair.
When we passed immigration, we were sent to one carousel then changed to another. when we exited - our transportation was not there We were able to find the booth and after producing our form, we were ushered into a taxi and taken the short distance to our hotel. Upon arriving, we were given and taken to our room. It was not the room we had arranged for and there were stairs, so we requested another. They complied readily and the rest of he week was fine.
The restaurant at Casa was very good, but after a week you will have tried most meal choices. Breakfasts were great.
you can eat at the velas Vallarta also, but the quality at the beach restaurant is not as good. The other restaurant at Velas Vallarta is very good but you must reserve on the day you want to go.
The highlight is the beach club. Quiet, beautiful ocean and you can book to eat there three times a week. ?It's very popular so do it early in the week. The sunset is magnificent (better than Hawaii) and after dinner get a flaming Mexican coffee. The act is rather magnificent.
Would we go again? Absolutely. We enjoyed the variety of the meals more at the Dreams resort, but this resort was overall nicer.
One regret - we need to speak more Spanish. We would have appreciated it more.
Also, if you love whales, make sure you take an excursion. My wife loved it.

Room Tip: We had a room not facing the pool. We loved it. Quieter. make sure if you don't have a room you asked for, request another.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BarryL798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We just completed a one-week vacation at Casa Velas in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. The whole experience can be summed up in one word: fantastic! It starts the moment you arrive. You pull into a beautiful resort that is centered right in the middle of a residential area. It's almost a surprise that it's there. The grounds are beautiful, the staff is welcoming and the whole vacation is absolutely fabulous. Our room was on the 2nd floor, overlooking both the pool and the golf course. Magnificent! We opted for the all-inclusive. That term is for a often a misnomer. In many resorts, it is " all-inclusive" but with a lot of exceptions. It may not include alcoholic drinks or it may not include wine or only at certain times. There are premiums that you have to pay for certain meals.. At Casa Velas, when they say all inclusive, it is absolutely all-inclusive. When we checked out at the end of our stay, the only extras were a couple gifts my wife bought at the gift shop. The food was absolutely five-star. The meals were creative, delicious, and all that we could hope for. It was definitely one of the most relaxing enjoyable vacation experiences of our lives. We will be back - again and again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Our first time to a non beach front property - and it won't be the last. The resort was wonderful - sparkling clean, great food, and premium drinks. Make sure you have an after dinner drink outside the lobby, as Benny is very entertaining! Thanks to the staff for a wonderful week.

Room Tip: He higher floors and larger room numbers have a better view of the golf course.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rusty0353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We had our vacation pre-scheduled not knowing that the winter of 2014 would be so horrific. We needed the sunshine and warmth badly.
The Casa Velas Resort was one of the best vacation destinations tha I've ever been to. The rooms are top notch. The food was to die for delicious. The services provided by the staff made me feel like a VIP. I was humbled by the graciousness of the staff. I can not imagine anyone being disappointed that they choice Casa Velas for a winter getaway.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews