We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to Return!”
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 October 2008

I'm writing this review from their business center. I've got an hour to kill before heading back home so I better write my review before I get too busy. Anyways, we can still have drinks and snacks from the bar.

My husband and I are workaholics so this was the perfect place to stay. Everything positive I've read about was correct. We checked in last Friday afternoon with no wait! We were greeted at the door, seated quickly at the reception, given hisbicus tea and a cool towel, and in our room within 5 minutes. Note it's their off season.

We used one of our bonus weeks from RCI so we had to pay the all inclusive fees minus the 3% since we prepaid before arrival. The all inclusive was not bad at all. Yes, they give you a itemized bill after every meal, which I think is good so you know how much you've spent. For us, we made sure we spent $250.00/day since that was the fee per day for both of us. Also, an excursion is included...highly recommend dolphin encounter...we did the canopy tour too, but it was extremely physical and hot. We've done it in Hawaii and was easier. My right arm is so sore. The cab fare to the dolphin encounter was $18 one way!!!
Also these items were inlcuded: Golf usage (cart fee additional), City or Cultural Tour, $100 Spa Certificate, All the food and drinks you can want. I'm a personal chef so I'm very picky.
You have 6 different places to eat...Emilianos, Pool Bar, 24 hour Room Service, the Beach Club, Andreas and La Ribera from Velas Vallarta their sister resort. There was plenty of variety between all choices...most I picked were excellent and some were so, so, but I've never liked everything from any restaurant's menu. Depends on your taste!

I think we got a great deal and had a wonderful time. If you like being waited on hand and foot then this is the place. So quiet and peaceful..no kids...and everyone is so nice and attentive. Bring at least $100 in ones for tipping if you plan on staying one week! Tipping is included in the all inclusive but we always gave extra since staff employees don't really earn much as I was told. I was curious so I asked at the front desk!

I think the negative reviews are just bad luck. The airport is very close but so is all the other resorts. Airplane noise did not bother us. I love this resort...we've stayed at many...and we'd love to try their sister resort..Grand Velas.

Mariel, Jorge, Hugo, and all their staff members were awesome!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 4,150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,573)
There are newer reviews for Casa Velas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2008

If you are looking for a QUIET get away, I cannot recommend this Boutique Hotel strongly enough. With only 84 rooms, it is a quiet, adults only, ( NO KIDS running around the pool) with a very attentive staff who will pretty much do anything you request and in a timely manner. The grounds are as beautiful as they appear on their website. The All-Inclusive was such a great touch as well. Never had to worry about money at all and YES, actual 24 hour room service. VERY NICE.
The food was excellent for all meals. Please try the French Toast with Rum Butter. MMMMM Good.
If you want loud music, it's sister hotel on the beach can take care of that, but if you really want to get away from everything and just relax in the quiet and beautiful surroundings of a top level hotel, this is the place.
You are welcomed as FAMILY upon you arrival by Mauricio, the head concierge, who will lead you to the front desk, make sure you have a cool drink in your hands and then once you have checked in, he will make sure luggage arrives to your door promptly.
His staff is always around to take care of any of your needs.
If you want to golf, please play the 2 Mountain Courses and not the one that boarders the Hotel.
The only changes I would like to see, would be an outdoor HOT TUB that is actually hot for those late night dips and the spa allow couples to have treatments together if they desire.
Other than that, you have a pool all to yourself, a beach club with beautiful sunsets and food that is wonderful.
We cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank GOLFNUT288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

This place was everything and more than we expected! It was a wonderful getaway... nice and peaceful:) The place looks just like the pictures in their website! .... And the staff... WoW, such great customer service! They made our stay an even better one (specially Pablo and Jorge) =D We will definitely be staying there again! Thank you!

Carlos n' Claudia

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank claud257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We had the most wonderful time at Casa Velas! We loved not only the resort, but also the people! They were all so friendly and so helpful! Even in the storms, they were happy and helpful! We were there for our honeymoon and we didn't want to leave! We felt like royalty and everyone at Casa Vela did everything to treat us as such! The room was gorgeous! The private pool was wonderful! We loved room service! And, we loved swimming out to the bar! We want to say that Angel, Pablo, Monika, Julio, and Mariel were exceptional care takers! We are hoping to go again many times in the future. We have shared with everyone we can about how wonderful it was there! It was truly a dream come true!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEMR080808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We have very little to say about this hotel, as we never even got to spend a single night in it.

We booked Casa Velas for our Honeymoon in September 2008. They confirmed it, and took payment.

We arrived of our flight from LA, only to be told by them that they had subsequently sold the whole hotel out for another wedding, so they would be kicking us out halfway through our Honeymoon.

The unbelieveable unprofessionalism is breathtaking. Eventually, they told us we would be staying in a sister hotel Grand Velas... see our review on this (we didnt stay long).

The best part of the saga? Checking into the Four Seasons hotel in Punta Mita. That IS a five star hotel.

We would avoid Casa Velas and Grand Velas at all costs - especially if you are looking for a luxury experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
3  Thank farflungmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Wow! This was a perfect, lazy week!
We'd exchanged a timeshare week through RCI and paid the rather large all inclusive fee. But if you want a laid back luxurious week, this is an excellent place to come.

Our secluded suite (508) had a lovely setting overlooking the golf course, with a warm outdoor plunge pool and bathroom jacuzzi that we made much use of. The twice daily maid service ensured we were well cared for. The room bar facility was restocked daily (part of the all-inclusive charge).

The grounds and ponds are beautiful and extremely well cared for. Whilst we were there we observed the gardeners climbing ladders to remove browning leaves from the many palm trees.

The hotel pool was never crowded ... the most people I ever counted around it at once was 12 and frequently my wife and I had it to ourselves. The moment you arrived poolside you were provided with cooling water bottles in ice buckets and regularly waited upon with cocktails and snacks at your request. It was always quiet ... no children allowed!

We regularly used 'Emilia's Resaurant' in the evening which was top class, both in terms of the menu and the service provided. Each morning for breakfast we had choice from another very extensive menu, eating on the patio overlooking the coy fish ponds and the swimming pool. During breakfast we were provided with printed highlights from the New York Times.

As the hotel site does not have immediate access to the beach, it does provide free transfer to it's exclusive Beach Club about 10 minutes away, again where you have the same first class waiter service beside your pool immediately above the beach and sea. Transfers are provided within minutes of your request, if not immediately.

There is the same transfer arrangement (5 mins) to the sister hotel, 'Velas Vallarta' which is a much larger and more traditional lively beach hotel, to which Casa Velas guests have full use of facilities, most of which are covered by the all inclusive charge. There are a range of daily activities and evening entertainments here.

All staff were constantly attentive to our needs and very keen to please. Indeed, at one point a maid was walking past my wife and I carrying a lovely flower arrangement (presumably left by a previous guest), and we commented on how beautiful they were. Within a minute she was back, presenting them to my wife!

Almost all staff seemed to speak good English.

As part of the all inclusive package we made use of a Puerto Vallarta city tour and a Cultural tour, both of which were extremely worthwhile.

Whilst all food and drinks were included in the charge, at the end of each service we were expected to 'sign' for what we'd had ... and to add a tip at the end ... so that at the end of the week there was a small bill to pay. We also had some laundry done which was chargeable, but which was very reasonable.

Finally a word of warning! We had arranged with the concierge to be collected from the airport to be transferred to the hotel. When met at the airport we were met by a gentleman who was keen to talk to us about the services and trips available ... and eventually arrange for us to attend a sales promotion the next day at Velas Vallarta. (This was a little frustrating, as after 16 hours travelling we were just keen to get to the hotel) Once arranged, we were passed on to our transfer driver. Once at Casa Velas I checked with the receptionist if this was all above board, and a little sheepishly, was assured it was.
The next day we attended the presentation (we're very experienced in this!), which was courteous and friendly and in no way 'high pressured', and as usual we declined the offer to take up 'fractional ownership' (a form of timeshare) ... but we did accept the 'free' 1 hour massages each. ($55 US each if purchased). These were wonderful! We could have also had discounts on further day trips, had we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

My new husband and I went to Casa Velas for our honeymoon. We picked the hotel out of my mothers timeshare catalogue. It looked nice. The only things we really knew about Casa Velas was that it was an adult only, all inclusive hotel.

From the moment we pulled into the secure gated entrance, it was star treatment. They offered us drinks while checking us in and took our bags to our room. After a brief check in (Where Monica gave us a run down of the amenities and restaurant on thier property and thier sister property that we had full access to) Angel, gave us a short tour on the way to our room. The property isnt that large(compared to some of the other "resort compounds" we encountered) so it's a short walk from the front door to your hotel door. On the way to our room we passed another couple who just said to us "Welcome to Paradise!". My husband and I looked at one another and knew beyond any doubts that we had choosen the right place.

When we entered our room we turned into children on Christmas morning. It was beautiful. We were litterally jumping for joy. Nice bed with big soft pillows, large jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, mini fridge with soda, beer, and snacks that was restocked daily,plus we had a private pool right off our patio.

While Casa Velas is not beach front they provide services to make up for it. They have a spa, swim up bar in the pool, 24 hour room service, a 4-star quality restaurant, on demand shuttle service,business center, golf course, and a little shop. But if it is the beach that you want, their shuttle will take you right around the block to their very own beach club. Where they have a restaurant, infinty pool, cabanas, and they provide towels.

If you feel like this isn't enough for you, you have access to their sister hotels. The one that we went to the most was Vela Vallarta.Vela Vallarta is the beach front family property that has great restaurants with rotating menus, shops, Wii game center, nightly activities, huge pool with lazy river, Koi pond trails throughout the property, and it was just as beautiful as Casa Velas.

All in all we had an amazing time. The staff is awesome.The lanscaping is georgeous, and we just couldn't get over how wonderful everything was. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HellaGela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
524 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,903 reviews
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,721 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,581 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £293 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a beautiful beach resort in Puerto Vallarta for an indulgent vacation refuge with sublime dining, a pristine beach, ocean club, golf courses, pools and a spa. Our spectacular resort is within walking distance of Puerto Vallarta's sophisticated 500-slip marina and 15 minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing