We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm still wearing my bracelet!”
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I'm still wearing my bracelet!”
Reviewed 6 March 2009

It is 2 weeks later and I don't want to take it off, keeping me in the moment at the best all-inclusive resort we have ever been to. It is small and intimate, charming and pampering, private like a warm club that you never want to leave, yet accessible to everything. Nestled quietly on the Marina golf course, it has its own private beach club where you can spend a day in the pool, on the ocean, or eating to your heart's content from a wonderful menu. The main building has an excellent restaurant, the drinks are plentiful and potent, the wine list quite good, and the staff really make you feel at home. Stefano, the concierge, even sent me to a wonderful dentist where I'm going to have implants done, saving me $8,000 over the US price. Everything about this place is high end, but the people staying there were nothing like the snooty crowds elsewhere in expensive all-inclusive resorts, everyone simply had a ball and we shared our delight at feeling so cared for and away-from-it-all. You also have restaurants at Vella Vallarta, their sister property only a few blocks away on the water, to choose from, and we had very good meals there too. All in all, my favorite vacation in years. And I'm going back. Even though I said I'd never buy another timeshare because of the hassle you have to go through with the sales people, this place was a delight, no pressure, and very generous with their terms. So I bought a week a year to be sure I get to put that bracelet on every winter. Go there. You'll be so glad you did. PS The spa is great too! Golf is included (thought I'd mention that even though I don't play).

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWAjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    131
    45
    23
    19
See reviews for
113
1,090
33
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Six of us stayed in the Presidential suite and had a wonderful time. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we had every thing we wanted, both in and out of the room.

We enjoyed the food, the pool, the spa, the staff ... I really have no complaints except we did not like how the pedlars could come into the area by the Beach Club as you couldn't relax.

The pool needs more chairs with wheels as everyone moves them around to be in the sun and they are heavy. Very comfortable and the pool is very clean.

The gardens are beautiful ... can't believe we stayed in the middle of a golf course and none of us golfed!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freaky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

I've travelled to Mexico for more than 25 years, and this is by far my best stay. The food, the beach, the pool, the massages, the FRIENDS I met all made this one of my best adventures. The food was delicious, creative and beautifully prepared. I recommend Casa Velas for couples wanting a romantic getaway, or for adults who want a quiet, classy place to restore and rejuvenate. I went alone and made many new friends poolside and at the beach. Most of the staff are friendly and service-oriented. The one disappointment was two botched manicures in the spa, although they do wonderful massages .... I enjoyed two of them! Don't miss the mahi-mahi sandwich at the Beach Club, and the osso bucco at Andreas. The cocktails were wonderful, and waiters gladly served us in our lounge chairs, poolside, or even IN the pool! The hotel runs a shuttle bus between the 3 locations (hotel, beach club and Velas Vallarta), and I never had to wait for more than 2 minutes for it; most of the time it was ready and waiting. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeannieinWestVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio, texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Casa Velas is a wonderful all-adult resort with an excellent staff and beautiful grounds. We observed that all ages truly enjoyed being there and relaxing at the Beach Club and pool, working out in the very well equipped fitness center, being pampered in the spa, playing golf and eating at the continental restaurant. All staff members were extremely accommodating and tried in every way to make our stay the best. We had many meals in our room, and if it's not on the menu, just ask and there is no problem getting what you want. It looks just like the online pictures. We would most definitely recommend this resort for adults of all ages looking for a quiet, elegant vacation.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuck096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

I have been in the hospitality business for over 25 years including working at a few of the top hotels in the US (Stein Eriksen Lodge in Deer Valley, The Resort at Squaw Creek, Hotel del Coronado) and I can honestly say that it really does not get any better than Casa Velas. From housekeeping to room service to the restaurants we were absolutely thrilled at the level of service. The food was wonderful (OK not the pizza but then why order pizza in Mexico). Being an all-inclusive tends to mean that the food and beverages are standard to low-rate but not here. Everything was wonderfully prepared, fresh and flavorful. We enjoyed being off of the beach but after discovering the Beach House we spent most of our time there. We did go the the sister hotel, Villa Vallarta, and it was fun for a little while but not our style. If you want to relax, get away and be pampered I would highly recommend Casa Velas. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago,illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2009

This hotel provided us with a wonderful vacation and was all we had hoped for. A little gem that we luckily discovered on the internet and have now recommended to many.
We are definitely planning to return next year and are already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjulep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

This was my 1st visit to Puerto Vallarta and I can't wait to go back. I came with my sister is an owner of Velas property. I cannot say enough of how well we were treated by the staff, we felt like royalty. The facilities and grounds are immaculate and absolutely beautiful with all the lush greenery. We spent alot of time at the Beach Club where you can take in the view of Banderes Bay and dig your feet in the sand if you wish. Our evenings were spent dining in Emiliano's where you fine dined and then relaxed in the lounge area where you gazed at the stars. From the staff to the food to the drinks, it was a great vacation!!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,642 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Property: Casa Velas
Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing