We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Wonderful, The Second Time Around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
new jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Still Wonderful, The Second Time Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2009

This was our second visit to Casa Velas in Puerto Vallarta. We enjoyed it so much last year that we had to return. It has not changed much. Still has the lovely manicured lawns with a sprinkling of little ponds, where the koi swim , that surround the pool area and the golf course. Although it is not on the beach, it' boasts a "gem" of a beach club more like a private villa. Comfortable beach lounges are scattered around a small pool that faces the ocean, or you can occupy a cabana on the beach. We were happy to note that the staff is still as attentive as before and are constantly offering drinks and ice cold bottled water in a bucket of ice. For lunch at the beach club we enjoyed the Shrimp Tempura and the Thai Wings that were just as delicious as we remembered them to be. Emiliano's is their only restaurant at the hotel and it serves fine food and wines delivered in a very professional manner by their efficient waiters. Although we always had a good meal at Emiliano's, it would have been nice to have another option at the hotel. Since this is an all-inclusive hotel we were allowed to dine at their sister hotel Velas Vallartas. This hotel is the polar opposite of Casa Velas. It is noisy, much larger and is not confined to adults . Peace and quiet is in limited supply there. After checking it out one day, we decided it was not for us.

Even though we greatly enjoyed this visit, there were some glitches to iron out. We had made this reservation last September with RCI and later emailed the hotel to reserve a similar room with a plunge pool. We never received a reply to our emails and on check-in were told that because a convention was at the hotel our requested room was not available. They showed us two rooms, both without plunge pools and even one at Velas Vallarta. We did not find them acceptable and after travelling all day, we were very tired and quite disappointed. Finally , when we were about to leave , we had the pleasure of speaking with Sergio, the hotel manager who saved the day and was able to locate a room with a plunge pool and a view of the golf course. Another incident involved the beach club which was our favorite part of this hotel. A waiter at the beach club mentioned that the beach club would be taken over by the convention for one whole day and night and would be unavailable to other guests. We were quite unhappy about this and were never advised by management. When we complained to Sergio, he was very accomodating and offered us a day at Grand Velas in Nuevo Vallarta about 20 minutes away.

In spite of these incidents, we thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at Casa Velas once again. Besides their lovely accomodations, fine food and drink and the exceptional beach club they also have a top notch staff that is always friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make the customer happy. Sergio was always available to help and to ensure that the guests enjoyed their stay and Hector, the beach club manager went to great lenghts to make our birthday celebration a wonderful dining experience at the beach. Then there was Benny, the very "simpatico" bartender in the hotel lobby. He always had a big smile on his face and some funny story as he poured you an after dinner drink .

If you are seeking a small and romantic hideaway with a lovely private beach club and exceptional service, this hotel is for you. Again, as in many other up scale resorts in Mexico the staff are absolutely amazing. They all went out of their way to be helpful and were friendly, hard working and efficient. That is why even though this is an all-inclusive hotel , with gratuities included, one is inclined to tip a few dollars after each meal. They surely deserve it.

p.s. Loved watching the resident peacocks (pavo real) and hearing the chatter of the black cenates. Then there was the strange case of the yellow-bellied birds that kept crashing into our balcony glass door, over and over again. Can be a startling wake up call in the morning!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScarlettNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,276
    127
    45
    23
    19
See reviews for
111
1,062
31
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

This hotel, located in the Marina District is an oasis of tranquility. It doesn't take children so you can sit by the pool which is gorgeous and read for hours without listening to parents and children screaming at each other. The pool is huge but isn't taken over by lap swimmers splashing when you just want to float.

The grounds, public areas and rooms are all immaculate and it is apparent that someone has given alot of thought to guest comfort. Too bad they didn't think of putting a chair in the room so you could sit down to work on your computer but since there isn't a desk area, I guess you would have to put your computer on your lap.

The hotel is not on the beach but has a beach club which is only a five minute walk away or they will drive you over in a van. It is a beautiful beach club and the food (Japanese) is nicely prepared and the service is excellent.

The only thing that put me off about this hotel is the reception staff and the concierge. Once the concierge discovers that you aren't interested in a canopy tour, a city tour, or listening to a sales pitch to buy a time share, he quickly loses interest in you. Time is money and he has to get on to the next possible commission. The reception staff is not there to receive, lacking the necessary "people skills" to be gracious.

The hotel is all inclusive but their tipping policy is vague. When you ask whether tips are included in the charges, they just say only 3-4% is added and it is up to the guest to decide if they received good service. I must say that this policy needs re-evaluation both in the interestof the guests and the staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank annie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

I was skeptical at first of the price of the rooms for this resort. When I arrived I was again disappointed because I could not look out my window and see a view of the ocean. However, once our group of 14 was greeted I quickly began to see the level of service far exceeded anywhere else I have stayed. Our group was there to celebrate a wedding and this group in particular is know to get quite "rowdy" at times. The Casa Velas staff was qiuck to accomodate our every need! Food from both room service and the restaurant was incredible! We did discover the Casa Velas Beach Club the second day and were VERY pleased with that! Great pool, great view and SUPER sushi! We returned there 4 of the next 5 days! The maid service was great and the "chirpping" bartender is funny but watch out for his margaritas!! The fact that no children are allowed makes it very calm and peaceful and you can always head over to their sister location Velas Vallartas for all the kids you can handle. Finally I must give a big round of applause to the concierge service. From cleaning the brides dress to running to the store THREE times to get us the right Ipod dock....they did it all!! Definitely a place I would return!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brandiwine330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

This was our second trip to Casa Velas and already we are looking forward to our return.Upon arrival we were greeted at reception with warm towels and cool drinks. Check in was seamless and our luggage was brought to our room immediately. Amenities in the room are lovely. Nice linens and towels. The shower in the bathroom is wonderful. Hanging space is limited. Toiletries that are provided if you use them are of a high quality. All members of staff are knowledgeable and gracious.Emiliano's is a wonderful restaurant. Service is professional and discreet. The Beach Club is a wonderful oasis and should not be missed, Velas Vallarta their sister hotel should be visited and enjoyed also. Andreas hosts dinners with different country themes, eg France, China etc. La Ribera is more casual and is a fun place to enjoy lunch. The peace and ambience that is Casa Velas is wonderful and you leave with a wish to return. A wonderful destination is yours for the taking. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

From everything we had read and heard, we were anticipating a fabulous week at Casa Velas. We were NOT disappointed! The resort is lovely, the rooms large and comfortable, the pool area spectacular, the restaurants and bar are great, the beach club over the top fantastic! The staff was friendly and helpful. The food and drinks were way above the normal all-inclusive. We visited Velas Vallarta for breakfast, intending to stay for the day, and after 30 minutes at the overly crowded pool, headed straight back to Casa Velas. The only improvement they could make would be more comfortable chairs on the balconies!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PegMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

Fabulous hotel for just the quiet moments you would want with the one you love. Really enjoyed everything...the room, the location, the service (Exceptional) and the spa. Once the staff know what you like, they'll have it for you thru out your entire stay. This was the trip!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

My girlfriend made the reservations about a year ahead and we both were ready for a vacation. Casa Velas hit the spot......we couldn't believe the quiet, exotic surroundings, the superfluous service and the attention to detail. Unless you are serious in buying avoid the timeshare pitch, it was over 5 hours long. Otherwise it made my first visit to Mexico very memorable. The "adult" population made for very good friendships and fun days. Bottom line, we are already booking 2010.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madison49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
7.7 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#12 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#7 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,984 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#8 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Property: Casa Velas
Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing