We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Experience”
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Topeka
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Casa Velas exceeded our expectations. From the top-notch service, good food, and beautiful grounds and rooms, we were rarely disappointed during our week-long stay.

The resort is small, only 80 rooms, and this means you will have avery quiet and relaxing stay. At times we found ourselves to be the only couple at the beach club or pool, and even at the busiest times, there were less than 40 people to be found. There is no beach at the hotel, however the resort's Beach Club complete with infinity pool, bar and grille, and beach is a 5 minute walk or very short shuttle ride away.

Staff is very friendly, from Miguel at check-in, Olivia at Emiliano's, and Fabian at the Pool. Mauricio was also a stand-out, often checking on us. By the second or third day, many of the staff knew us by name.

Food at Emiliano's and the Beach Club was usually very good with few exceptions. We also ate one evening at Vela's Vallarta, and found it also to be quite good. Liquor is all top-shelf and readily available. We ordered bottles of wine on several occasions with dinner and from room service.

My wife received a facial and pedicure and said both were very good. The spa was very relaxing and attentive. While we did not golf, the course which surrounds the hotel is beautiful.

Only one part of the experience would get a negative review from us - the welcome breakfast sales push. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful with the exception of Stefano, the "concierge". Once he finds out you're not interested in attending a timeshare presentation, his demeanor sours and he barely acknowledges you from that point forward. My best suggestion to Casa Velas would be to change how this encounter occurs as it is off-putting especially for such an other-wise high class establishment.

We only wish we could afford to return more often, but we will be sure to return again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikey06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,325
    135
    46
    23
    19
See reviews for
117
1,102
33
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Stayed at the Casa Velas in Puerto Vallarta for a week in March of 2009. It was beyond what I thought I would get for an all inclusive hotel. What a deal! The rooms were very large with beautiful bathrooms that were extremely clean with a nice view of the golf coarse. The staff was exceptional. From the moment we arrive we had drinks in hand and anything we wanted at anytime of the day or night. The spa was very nice and had a great massage. The only thing lacking was a little on the food. I wish they had more regional cusine. The drink choices were very good offering higher-end liquers. The beach club was lovely and very private. There was always plenty of room. And no kids screaming!! Great relaxing trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingSpirit_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Han ds down this hotel is so great Beautiful lobby, sleeping rooms. The hotel is just the right size (80 suites) so that you truly feel like a special guest, not just one of many. Mauricio the head concierge was great too.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

OUTSTANDING hospitality. Went with my boyfriend, we had a wonderful, relaxing stay. The food at Casa Velas we exceptional and we are from San Francisco, were we get great gourmet cuisine. Great cocktails and we were so spoiled. The service was 5 star for sure and this place has something that most 5 stars don't have and that is warmth. Much pride is taken in the guest's experience and it is evident.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmaddipati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

One we figured out the "Mexican Minute", and how to work around it, our vacation was perfect! The golf was wonderful, the food amazing, the hotel was small, so we were able to build relationships with the great staff and learn them by name!! Maurecio, Monica, Jorge, Angel, Hector and Ivan helped make our trip special!

We've done the Spring Break trips, and were looking for something different, so we absolutely loved the relaxing, adult-only atmosphere....it was quiet and serene and we didn't have to fight for plush lounge chairs by the pool! The Beach Club was a great asset. At first, we didn't think we would like having to be shuttled to the beach, but we never had to wait for a shuttle and it was only a two-minute drive....well worth it!

If we had to say something negative, it would be that we missed the aqua blue waters of the Caribbean and that there is no nightlife at Casa Velas, however, when we wanted some nightlife, we took advantage of the sister resorts: Grand Velas and Vista Vallarta.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kirkth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

My husband and I went on our first year wedding anniversary to Casa Velas, and we loved it. We are still talking about it to our family and friends and are planning on going back soon. Most of the couples we met there had visited Casa Velas before, and chose to return. We loved that the hotel was extremely clean, had beautiful decor, and extremely relaxing. We felt very well taken care of, and all of our concierge needs were done perfectly. Ask for Ivan, he's extremely helpful and gave us a thorough tour of the resort. Definetely go to the beach club, and order their shrimp tempura and chicken wings...they are delicious! The only negative is that I thought the food at Emiliano's was hit or miss. We preferred the food at the beach club better. They have free wi-fi access, and the spa services are reasonable and amazing. Ask for Alicia! This is the best hotel to stay at in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Tabgath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

This was our second visit to Casa Velas in Puerto Vallarta. We enjoyed it so much last year that we had to return. It has not changed much. Still has the lovely manicured lawns with a sprinkling of little ponds, where the koi swim , that surround the pool area and the golf course. Although it is not on the beach, it' boasts a "gem" of a beach club more like a private villa. Comfortable beach lounges are scattered around a small pool that faces the ocean, or you can occupy a cabana on the beach. We were happy to note that the staff is still as attentive as before and are constantly offering drinks and ice cold bottled water in a bucket of ice. For lunch at the beach club we enjoyed the Shrimp Tempura and the Thai Wings that were just as delicious as we remembered them to be. Emiliano's is their only restaurant at the hotel and it serves fine food and wines delivered in a very professional manner by their efficient waiters. Although we always had a good meal at Emiliano's, it would have been nice to have another option at the hotel. Since this is an all-inclusive hotel we were allowed to dine at their sister hotel Velas Vallartas. This hotel is the polar opposite of Casa Velas. It is noisy, much larger and is not confined to adults . Peace and quiet is in limited supply there. After checking it out one day, we decided it was not for us.

Even though we greatly enjoyed this visit, there were some glitches to iron out. We had made this reservation last September with RCI and later emailed the hotel to reserve a similar room with a plunge pool. We never received a reply to our emails and on check-in were told that because a convention was at the hotel our requested room was not available. They showed us two rooms, both without plunge pools and even one at Velas Vallarta. We did not find them acceptable and after travelling all day, we were very tired and quite disappointed. Finally , when we were about to leave , we had the pleasure of speaking with Sergio, the hotel manager who saved the day and was able to locate a room with a plunge pool and a view of the golf course. Another incident involved the beach club which was our favorite part of this hotel. A waiter at the beach club mentioned that the beach club would be taken over by the convention for one whole day and night and would be unavailable to other guests. We were quite unhappy about this and were never advised by management. When we complained to Sergio, he was very accomodating and offered us a day at Grand Velas in Nuevo Vallarta about 20 minutes away.

In spite of these incidents, we thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at Casa Velas once again. Besides their lovely accomodations, fine food and drink and the exceptional beach club they also have a top notch staff that is always friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make the customer happy. Sergio was always available to help and to ensure that the guests enjoyed their stay and Hector, the beach club manager went to great lenghts to make our birthday celebration a wonderful dining experience at the beach. Then there was Benny, the very "simpatico" bartender in the hotel lobby. He always had a big smile on his face and some funny story as he poured you an after dinner drink .

If you are seeking a small and romantic hideaway with a lovely private beach club and exceptional service, this hotel is for you. Again, as in many other up scale resorts in Mexico the staff are absolutely amazing. They all went out of their way to be helpful and were friendly, hard working and efficient. That is why even though this is an all-inclusive hotel , with gratuities included, one is inclined to tip a few dollars after each meal. They surely deserve it.

p.s. Loved watching the resident peacocks (pavo real) and hearing the chatter of the black cenates. Then there was the strange case of the yellow-bellied birds that kept crashing into our balcony glass door, over and over again. Can be a startling wake up call in the morning!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScarlettNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
486 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,842 reviews
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,152 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Property: Casa Velas
Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing