We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a relaxing beach stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #62 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at 4 different places while in PV. Krystal was not bad. I see some reviews here about people getting screwed. I can't comment non that as I booked through a discount site and I didn't pay the hotel directly. The food was hit or miss. One day it was really good, a couple days later (getting the same meals) we were very disappointed. This hotel is close to the marina, making it easy to walk to and is also close to a grocery store making it cheaper to eat. One bad thing that the other 3 places didn't have a problem with is the locals harassing us trying to sell things. We would lay on the beach chairs and have a vendor approach us every 30-60 seconds trying to sell crap. The first day, security came out after a couple hours and chased them off. The rest of our stay, they didn't care at all. If you go back up in the pool, the approach you still and if you go behind the pool they stand in front of it and wave their merchandise at you. I understand that they're trying to make a living, but we were there to relax and being harassed non-stop killed that possibility.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randall O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,548)
There are newer reviews for Krystal Puerto Vallarta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 1,548 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

There are newer villas and older ones. Make sure if you'd like a quiet evening don't book a room that is close to the discoteca. You will be nómina all night long...no joke. They know how to party!! PS New Years Eve fireworks on the beach lasted for 30 minutes. Incredible!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Kellfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The family and I planned on staying at the Krystal the first part of December 2013 as it was our favorite resort. We started going 20 years ago when the original family owned it. It was a nice villa with lots of land, a very large beach, many restaurants, a great Fiesta, a disco, and a great staff. About 10 years ago the original owners sold to NH. It appears that the main reason that NH purchased the property was so they could sell off the land to developers. They did minimal upgrades and let the property deteriorate. We came back one year and they had leveled 2/3rds of the ocean view time share units - NH sold the land to ICON for 2 or 3 high rise buildings. A new structure was built near the middle of the Villa so it appeared that they were going to start putting money into the Krystal. WRONG - 2 years ago NH apparently sold off the new structure to the Hilton and put up a wall to divide the property. In the process they removed the pool and all the swim up bars that were the corner stone of the resort. We did not know this until we arrived Dec 2013. Needless to say, after we saw the resort, we stayed elsewhere as the rooms in the Acueduct are run down and poor quality (They Krystal claims they were renovated 2 years ago). They also did a "bait & switch" on the time shares in that they offered a $500 switch to the "renovated" Acueduct units, but didn't bother to disclose they were selling off the newest portion of the resort and removing the main pool. NH no longer appears to be managing the Krystal. Seems they got their money out of it by selling off 50% of the property. I will never stay their again and my advise is DO NOT BUY ANY TIME SHARES FROM THIS GROUP.

Room Tip: Beds are still hard as a rock. Your hips will be hurting you after 2 nights.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Douglas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel staff can barely speak english. They amount they quoted us for the all-inclusive is not the amount on our bill. We asked how much it would be for the all-inclusive for 4 people 4 days. The receptionist quoted us $90 per person for 4 days or total $360. We couldn't believe it, so we kept asking her and even asked her to write it down. When we checked out our bill was for $900. She meant to say $900 for 4 people 4 days. The hotel refused to honor our quote. They did give us a 10% discount, but still was twice the amount we were quoted. I disputed the amount on the credit card, but because I signed the bill I was out of luck. Bottomline, if you are over charged, do not sign the bill. Also, the food is not that great. Top shelf liquor is not included. DO NOT DO THE ALL-INCLUSIVE.

Screwed

Room Tip: Beds are all very hard. Go to a different hotel. Our friends got stuck with a timeshare at this ho...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SCREWED999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I've travelled to Krystal resort in Puerto Vallarta a few years ago. Great resort. Good food and the pool area was nice. My only complaint about the pool was they played a cheesy cd on repeat. Our rooms was spacious (four girls easy fit with luggage). The view from our room was ok and it was a little far from the pool but otherwise very nice. The room, pool area, and grounds was well maintained. The beach was gorgeous, but was not private and street sellers would constantly bug. Just pretend your asleep or have head phones in and your ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the pool
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sabrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We bought this trip for a 5 night 6 day all inclusive trip. We were told we would have to attend a time share presentation when we get there. We were told this trip would cost us $249 US plus taxes so about $310 as long as we attended their sales presentation. We purchased our own flights, of course. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told there was an additional "resort" fee of $20 per day of stay. Okay that's not much. However, we were so disappointed with the property. It has aged so much and is extremely run down. They had shut down the building right in front of the ocean and told us it was under renovations, which is why we were put in a room in another building. There was no construction and we later found out from the sales presentation, that Krystal normally closes that building during slow seasons ( you would think they would close the rest and keep that open??). Anyways our room smelled of mold and insect repellant--it seemed they had sprayed the room so much, I could barely breathe when I walked in. We insisted we needed a different room. Staff and the manager at reception was very accommodating and moved us to a much larger suite. We were happier with this room, however the AC didn't work, so once again we were moved. We finally stayed in the 3rd room, a nice large suite, but the drains in the sink and tub took hours to drain. However after a long day of travelling, we needed a good bed to sleep on, and the bed was comfortable.
The meals were of extremely low quality-- a choice of one or two main proteins-- one always a pork dish and the other usually chicken with skin on and no white meat. Not much there we cared to eat so we usually ate out mostly. You can't go wrong with eggs, so breakfast was ok..
The pool is nice, but the resort is very run down, and if you know what you're paying for in advance you may not mind it so much. We were told otherwise and the pictures are of the resort from years ago when it was a newer resort, so we felt misled.
The staff work very hard, and have good customer service skills. There is not much they can do about the resort quality. We are told the owner lived in the large house on the resort, but has now sold the house and moved away. He still owns the resort but is never there anymore. So there is no one there to look after the property, and it seems they don't care to renovate and update the property. The landscaping needs attention, the exterior needs extreme attention, the plumbing needs attention, and the rooms, although, some have been renovated, could use some work still.
Krystal is very close to other resorts, restaurants, town and the marina, so the location can work for those who want to be out and about. But for those looking for R&R and just want to spend the majority of their time at the resort, they need to look at other 4 and 5 star properties (most in Nuevo are very good for that), the sheraton in town is quite nice but expensive for food.
We left the Krystal and moved into the sheraton after the 3rd night there, so we lost some of our money as it was all non -refundable. We are just glad we didn't pay too much for it, although it is hard to get holiday time, and disappointing that we were misled about this property by the sales team that contacted us.
And apparently, the sales team that contacted us is just a team that makes a commission off of everyone they bring there, so there is no one at the who can assist to resolve our issues once we arrive there, nor can the resort do anything about what you pay, as the payment goes to the sales team, who then pay a portion to the resort ( this is an assumption based on what we were told at the front desk)..
If you're planning on visit Krystal, just know it is NOT a 4 or 5 star. I've stayed in many 4 and 5 start resorts, and from what I've seen, I would rate it a 21/2 star. Once again I do want to stress that the staff work very very hard, and are extremely accommodating.

Room Tip: If the beach front building is closed, do not go there. Those rooms face the ocean and you would at...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Neilin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

So the walk around is just impressive, the way everything looks from the outside is absolutely breathtaking, but once you get to the pool area the horror starts, no bins to put anything in, you wait for the service as much as you can, the water was filled with horrible horrible things....I dont know how they can leave a pool in such a state, ive seen many people just blowing their noses into it and everything just floating around, it makes you sick to your stomach.
So we wanted to order something and we went to the bar there outside but surprise because we were not guests of the actual facility we were not served so we purchased something from the beach and just ate it there, packed our bags, left and never got back again. Such a pitty because there is great potential in there.
Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elena2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
3.3 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
551 reviews
2.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
781 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,693 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#31 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Puerto Vallarta

Address: Av de los Garzas s/n | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £63 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Krystal Puerto Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda-style Resort on 32-acre gardens with private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Krystal Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Hotels Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Vallarta
Nh Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Vallarta
Krystal Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing