We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Resort But Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #56 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Older Resort But Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Sure, it's an older resort, but, the rooms are very clean, as are the beaches, eating areas. Registering and checking out was a breeze, however, upon departing, we had no airport shuttle; had to cab it ( 100 pesos ) Staff are very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast ( all inclusive ) is plenty with good variety. Excellent location, minutes to downtown PV, near the marina, can walk or take a bus for 7 1/2 pesos. Supermarket very near. Grounds very nicely groomed. I would suggest to remove the mini bar currently in room and replace with a mini fridge. Nice beach, but, really cannot swim as the surf is too strong, but, I am not complaining. Lots of activities you can choose, i.e. para-sailing, horseback riding, massages in enclosed canopy on beach. The girls are fantastic at giving massages. Oils they use are wonderful smelling. Stayed for one week Mar 2-9( 9325 ocean view ) and have nothing but great reviews and fond memories.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room. Enjoy the sunset and surf while sitting on your deck. Good soundproofing, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    414
    279
    224
    219
See reviews for
443
365
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from the Krystal Vallarta Hotel. We enjoyed every minute of it with their super friendly staff. They are always ready to help you in any way you ask. They go out of their way to show you their hospitality.

Room Tip: The room were hot that spacious but comfortable. We had an oceanfront with a balcony which was exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonCoOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I loved everything about this resort. Spent five days there last month ... staff was great, rooms were in good shape and clean. Good location. Restaurant options were good, bars had good selection. A good experience all-around.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Only spent two nights at the Krystal, but would stay again. A great beach, good lounger chairs, lots of sand, great waves, jacuzzi's pools and the food was tasty, other than the Brazalian BBQ, which tasted gasey on the grilled meats. Only complaint is the cost of the WiFi, it should be included in the price of the room. However I like the location, close to Walmart, Costco, other restaurants in the area, and we had an ocean front room, ground floor, which is our choice and it was great, step out to the beach and enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for the room you want and the desk will do their best to accommodate. Ocean front is supreme
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

WE LOVE THIS RESORT. The staff are TREMENDOUS! After five years staying at the Krystal they have truly become friends. Thank you to Carlotta, Aristeo, Roberto, Angel, Bruno, Martine, Eduardo, Elroy, Saul, Enrique, Jesus, Francesco & last but not least Marcella. Each day Marcella and her staff ask if we are happy and were we satisfied. So many we still do not know by name but their smile makes our day.
The hotel rooms are not brand new, however, they are clean and very comfortable. People have to remember that this resort is an older "Treasure". The Mexican ambiance is warm & very, very pleasing. We go to Puerto Vallarta - yes to enjoy the sunshine but most of all the hospitality of the Mexican People. We receive all of this at the Krystal. We meet fellow Canadians & Mexican tourists as well. We spend our days looking out at the very wide/open expanse to the Blue Pacific & the Sierre Madre Mountains. What a view!
The hotel seems to be working very hard to improve their image. However, we have to realize that in todays economy it takes time. We truly hope that the management, of the wonderful Kyrstal, will do everything in their power to make necessary improvements but never, never, lose the ambiance we so dearly love. Good Luck to you all.

Until we meet again,
John & Sheila (from Canada)

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room in the hotel> By doing so you do not need to put the a/c on, instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krystalconcierge, Maitre Lobby at Krystal Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear John & Sheila.
I am so glad to hear you had a great time staying at Krystal Puerto Vallarta. I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences you lived and enjoyed during your stay with us, I am delighted to read your positives comments, I will happily share them with our staff.

Aristeo , Carlotta, Roberto, Angel, Bruno, Martin, Eduardo, Eloy, Saul, Enrique, Jesús, Francisco and Maricela already know about your review and are very proud to have made you feel comfortable and very special, they´re looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Thank you again for allowing us being your host and we hope to have the opportunity in a near future to provide you one more time with the excellence in service we are known for.

Please let me know if you´re planning you next vacation, It´ll be a pleasure to have you back in this beautiful resort.

Cordially
Bárbara Gamerdinger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in a villa and used two of the bedrooms. The staff here are wonderful! My sister has had a timeshare here for 12 years and is disappointed in many of the changes that have occurred but we enjoyed the peaceful grounds as a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of town. Our unit and pool were kept very clean, again the staff did a great job!
I think many people would be disappointed if they view this as a self contained resort or went with the AI option. We had lunch twice by the pool and order from the menu that is available. The food was fine but the choices are somewhat limited if you are planning on eating here everyday. We had a kitchen so one of us made breakfast every morning and the rest of our meals were eaten either at the Marina or in town.
We found the pools to be very nice. The chair hogs are ridiculous though! See Photos! One morning we did just move some towels off a couple of chairs we wanted to use after our morning stroll on the beach. They were there when we went for our walk and still there after 45 minutes when we returned. We moved the towels and hung out for about an hour and nobody showed up! Its all very silly.
Check out time was 10 but we asked and we were allowed to stay in our rooms until noon giving us another relaxing morning on the beach! At noon, after showering and packing, we left our bags with the bellhop and went into town for a couple hours before our flight. We also asked at the front desk and they printed out our boarding passes for us!
My husband and I really enjoyed our time here. I think if you just use it for quiet and relaxation you'll love it. I would not go here and plan on spending 24/7 on the hotel grounds. The PV area is interesting, safe and cheap to get around so do get out and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCTravelHounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krystalconcierge, maitre lobby at Krystal Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest:

One of the best satisfactions in the hospitality industry is to learn from guests we made you feel special and exceeded your expectations, our unique goal is to create great stories that will remain in your mind forever.

I thank you for have chosen Krystal Puerto Vallarta to spend your vacation, I also appreciate the time you took to let us know your important comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

cons;(
1. There are not two swim up bars that are in reviews. There are actually NONE
2. One full time restaraunt to choose from with little choices.
3. Little activities day and night.
4. Grounds are very worn down.
5. Hottubs are not hot.
6. Lots of little screaming kids.
7. Lots of bugs found some kind of roach in our room.
8. Pools in villas are cold
9. You only get the dine out in vallarta and room service in the all inclusive if you complain. Don't publicly offer it.
10. No refrg that you can use in your room.
11. Clientel is all Mexican or over the age of 65 plus.
Pros:)
1. The staff is wonderful and the owners should appreciate that.
2. Beds in the villas are very comfortable.

Overall I believe at one time this used to be a nice resort and the owners should be shamed that they have left this resort go to shambles. Feel bad for the staff because they have to try and help all the upset tourist. Everyone that we talked to felt like they were ripped off just like we were. Granted they gave us a nice villa and tried to help but my trip has already been ruined in my beautiful puerto vallarta. I will never ever recommend this resort anyone and I am a very frequent guest to PVR

Room Tip: Don't stay here. If you do you will have to complain to get upgraded cause that's all they c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krystalconcierge, maitre lobby at Krystal Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest:
On behalf of the entire Krystal Puerto Vallarta Staff. I thank you for taking the time to share your review, your feedback is very important for us.
Your observations have been taken into consideration and improvements have been achieved in the areas you mentioned. Thank you for helping us render a better service.
I lament that we were not able to exceed your expectations.
We all will be very grateful to have the opportunity to welcome you back and present you the significant improvements made due to the valuable suggestions addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Vallarta hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
3.3 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#34 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#23 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Puerto Vallarta

Property: Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Address: Av de los Garzas, s/n | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Krystal Puerto Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda-style Resort on 32-acre gardens with private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Krystal Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Hotels Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Vallarta
Nh Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Vallarta
Krystal Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing