We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very run down hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #62 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The only thing good about this hotel was the view. The first room we were put in had wood rotting around the bathroom door with a pile of it on the floor. The bathtub had a hole in it and all beat up. The room had a very strong moldy smell and was small. The refrigerator door had been closed so that smelled also. After complaining they put us in suite, just two rooms open to each other. This was cleaner but the vents had mold on them. They did take them down and clean them for us. I was hoping that when we had the a/c on for a day it would take the smell and humidity out of the room, but it never did. I figured all the rooms in the hotel would be the same since they were on the same ventilation system. We didn't want to have to battle to get yet another room that would be the same. Apparently the villas are very nice since that is all they're trying to sell timeshare wise. The sales people are very pushy and the last guy downright rude. The pool was OK and the service was good. We took the buses everywhere and never had any problems.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanAntonioGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krystalconcierge, maitre of Lobby at Krystal Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest:
On behalf of the entire Krystal Puerto Vallarta Staff. I thank you for taking the time to share your review, your feedback is very important for us.
Your observations have been taken into consideration and improvements have been achieved in the areas you mentioned. Thank you for helping us render a better service.
I lament that we were not able to exceed your expectations.
The mold smell is something that we have for the nearest whit the ocean, but we take your feedback and we are looking for a ventilation sistem that hep us in the future.
We all will be very grateful to have the opportunity to welcome you back .
Cordially..

Barbara Gamerdinger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,548)
There are newer reviews for Krystal Puerto Vallarta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 1,548 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Apparently the Krystal Puerto Vallarta has been split into two different hotels, and it's already very old. Definitely not a good option to stay, the price is not even that good, you can find other all inclusive hotels of similar price that are better. The pool is small, the pool area feels completely claustrophobic and secluded. The food is totally average, nothing that I would recommend. I will never stay there again. The worst of all is the service, takes forever to check you in, after you're completely tired and hot from the 5 hour drive, and they don't even offer you a drink while you wait 40 minutes to get checked in. Once you get into the room, there's not even a bottle of water, and no toilet paper! What kind of hotel is that?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It is a good hotel with a very nice beach and all you expect for a great time during your vacations. It is not a luxurious hotel like others in PV, but it is a very nice place, and the staff is very friendly. It is close to downtown PV about 10 min, 9 dollars cab ride, and it is walking distance from the Main Pier.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I spent two weeks in the Krystal villas in March 2014. Pressure to attend a Time Share presentation was heaped on us while waiting to check in. (Incidentally, if you own a Time Share already they will pay you US$800 to attend a presentation.) We had one week in a Studio suite and one week in a Master suite. The villas have kitchens which are supposed to have the basic pots, pans, utensils, toaster, cutting board etc. Ours didn't have any of the above and it took two requests to get them delivered. The studio suite's glass door had a broken seal and we couldn't see through it, mildew on the sheer curtain, and a left opening fridge that should have been a right side opening. I had to jam myself into a corner in order to open and close the fridge. The door connecting to the master and one bedroom suite wasn't soundproof and we could hear everything being said in the adjoining suites. We were excited to be moving into Master suite 430 with its private pool. However the strong sewer smell in the bathroom off the kitchen was gross and we kept the window in there open and the door closed. During the night when we were awake we could smell sewer coming from the on-suite bathroom as well. We twice complained about it and were told that someone would be there to see what the problem was but nobody ever showed up. The liquid gas tank and pumps for the pools at that end of the property were in the "yard" of master suite 430 so it seemed like there was a constant stream of workers going to and fro also due to suite 433 being worked on. The air conditioning in both suites did not work and the fan couldn't get the temperature down below 28.5 deg C.

The beach has very coarse sand/pebbles and hurts your feet to walk on. Not as nice as in Centro or romantic zone areas.

It was good to be only a short walk to Soriana grocery store but the Time Share sharks are there too and we were approached on every trip to the store. Tourists wearing the coloured bracelets are an easy target and the sharks know what hotel you are at and whether you are a time share owner, guest, or in the hotel section.

We won't be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Irishdancer635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here for a week. The hotel stay was so so. I wish I stayed somewhere else because it would probably been a better vacation. Was my parents time share so we stayed for almost free but it's not a place I would want to come back to. First the rooms were very dated. They looked clean but my wife did not trust our 1 years old to crawl around on the tile floor so she did a basic cleaning ourselves with a wet rag and actually were quite dirty. The room had ants galore. I reported the problem and someone came an hour later. Did some spray, left, ants came back from another spot the next day. The rag was dark brown and sandy. The pools are very nice but there is 0 shade trees in the main pool area. The other pool had shade so we stayed around there due to our little one as his skin is tender (mine too) but it is not as beautiful. The check in was slow, the checkout was slower. The location was good. We enjoyed that it was within easy walking distance to Soriana grocery. If you want nightlife, you will need to take a taxi. Not a fan of this hotel or really Puero Vallarta either.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. If you do stay here, get one of the new rooms in the tower.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldtravelers_ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krystalconcierge, Maitre of Lobby at Krystal Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

I thank you for taking the time to share your review, your feedback is very important for us, I lament that we were not able to exceed your expectations. I was very much concerned by your review and disappointment faced during your check in and check out, about the cleaness of your room and the ants I do want to ensure you that all your comments were followed up in order to avoid any lowering of our standards or inconveniences for our guests in the future.
We all will be very grateful to have the opportunity to welcome you back and present you the significant improvements made due to the valuable suggestions addressed
regards.

Bárbara Gamerdinger C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I took the all inclusive suite, hotel is easy to find. Located on one of the main roads in Vallarta. Check in was fast and the staff was friendly. After check in they give you a small tour of the resort. Rooms were fine to me, I had a pool view. Food and drinks were good. Check out was fast and easy. If you have a car, it will only cost you like $5 per night.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank rudy1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We ended up at the Krystal b/c of a mixup with our travel agent. We started in a reg room but b/c of mixup we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom condominium. It was beautiful with a wonderful balcony but unfortunately the people in the condo above us, left a tap on and flooded our bedroom causing us to be moved again. The hotel then moved us to a timeshare villa. It was nice as well and close to the pools.
The pools were great, very clean and nice staff who were eager to please. The beach was great, but LOTS of vendors. So, if you can't handle them, sit by the pool. We chatted with many of them and enjoyed hearing about their families and lives in Mexico. The gym was adequate, but very warm if you went first thing in the am b/c they turn the air off overnight. There is only one restaurant and the a la carte Italian. Food was a 5/10 at best, with much of the same stuff being served day after day. The snack bar by the pools and bar never varied from day to day. The bar in the lobby is never open and the restaurant right beside it serves supper one night a week with entertainment. We enjoyed the dancing and singers, but other than that one night, there is no other nightly entertainment. So, the resort is very boring in the evening. You could fire a cannon through the lobby and never hit anyone. Sun/Wed at 5pm there is Bingo with prizes in a comfy air conditioned room right across from villa 523. It will cost you $10 but you get drinks and popcorn included. There is NOT a swim up bar at this resort. If you happen to be looking at an older website it will tell you there is, however it was removed about 4 years ago. This is mostly a timeshare place and you will see lots of older American timeshare folks. Minimal activities at the pool each day. Aqua size, bingo and darts. Couple times we saw poker at a table next to pool. I did get two 75 minute massages in the resort for 900 pesos. Excellent massages with Lupita! One other staff member who provided exceptional service and lots of helpful advice was Eduardo. He is a gem and so very friendly! He went above and beyond and we always enjoyed chatting with him! If you ask him how he is, he will tell you "Heyyy, I'm fresh as lettuce man!" Most of the other staff were pleasant and helpful as well. We really enjoyed a whale watching tour with Juan. (Fellow on the beach) It cost us 900 pesos for two and included all the water, juice etc plus lunch and a four hour tour. It was excellent including the yummy lunch! We also visited the Malecon. Lots to see, do, buy, eat and drink there, but be wary of all the sharks wanting to get you into a timeshare presentation. If you want to eat at a great, great seafood restaurant, try Melissa's. It's a couple blocks east from the ocean boardwalk and the food is excellent! We went twice and enjoyed giant Portugese style shrimp. Stuffed with cheese and wrapped with bacon then grilled to perfection, these are a big piece of Heaven!
In a nutshell, the Krystal was clean, had good staff, but the food really lacked and there was next to no entertainment in the evenings. I will also add that the grounds were kept very clean and manicured as well. Not the worst place but we would not stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pysankakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
3.3 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
551 reviews
2.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
781 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,693 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#31 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Puerto Vallarta

Address: Av de los Garzas s/n | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £63 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Krystal Puerto Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda-style Resort on 32-acre gardens with private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Krystal Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Hotels Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Vallarta
Nh Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Vallarta
Krystal Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing