We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Fabulous pool and beach - mediocre food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Krystal Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #62 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location - Fabulous pool and beach - mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

This was my first trip to Puerto Vallarta and i can't wait to go back. I wouldn't go all-inclusive to this resort. There are way too many great restaurants downtown and the food here is not great. You will be tired of the drinks and food after day two. If you are staying here, make sure you stay in the towers as the other rooms are not good. This is a great location as there is a neat little mini mall just next to the hotel, where there are cool shops and bars and it only takes 5 or 10 minutes to get downtown by taxi. The pool here is the best asset and the beach area is also nice. It's a great place to stay if you are in the towers, but you will want to go elsewhere to dine. There is only one computer in the lobby with free internet. If you have your own laptop great as there is free wireless internet. If you are looking for nightlife, go somewhere else!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    400
    273
    221
    214
See reviews for
412
351
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

Just returned from a week at this resort. Check-in was quick and very organized. We asked to be moved to the adjoining room to our friends, and they moved us the next day, no problem. We had a free upgrade, so stayed in the new tower. The rooms were nice and clean - no complaints. The pool and beach were both nice. The water aerobics were awesome! The drinks were just so so. The food was okay, but not a lot to choose from. We had vouchers to eat at a different local restaurant each night (Señor Frogs, Outback Steakhouse, Bubba Gump, etc.) and I think that's what saved us. It's hard to mess up breakfast and a light lunch! The only complaint that we had was no entertainment at night or fun things going on and the fact that even though we were all inclusive and had a different colored wristband than the non-all inclusive guests, we had to sign for everything we ordered -- meals, drinks, snacks, everything. This was a total pain in the butt. When I'm on vacation at an all-inclusive place, I don't like to sit around waiting for them to bring me a ticket to sign or be scolded because we left the pool area before signing our ticket at the end of the day! It just makes no sense -- we pay for all-inclusive for the carefree stay.
Great location -- five bucks will get you a taxi to town and it's a close drive. Walking distance to a nice grocery store and wal-mart if you need anything.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin-Jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

My Husband and I stayed here just a few days ago for one week. We recieved an amazing price on an all inclusive trip. Unknowing what to expect, our expectations we very low. On arrival at 930 am we were told our room would not be ready untill 3pm. A very aggrivating start to the trip. Once ready for us we were amazed by the room. Perfectly clean, beautiful decor, and Ocean and pool views. Definatly worth the wait. The staff were all overly friendly, although I found more times than not at the buffet we were constantly having to find our waiter at the end to sign out name. The location was perfect, far enough out of the city for it to feel like a holiday but close enough that it was only a 50 peso cab ride or 6.50 peso bus. Although we did walk it one day and although young fit people I do not recomend it to anyone. Long and Hot. Check out was quick and organized where check in seemd a little disorganized and long. Not enough staff on front desk. The food was fabulous, I recomend the sushi bar. But the italian place was delisious and the buffet hut was never disapointing.
I would recommend staying here to anyone. But make sure you request an ocean view room. You will not be disapointed!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NDMD_CWRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

Overall, it's an o.k. place but there were a few problems with our stay. Check in was very slow and the line was long. We entered our room and it had an overpowering "sewer" smell. After using the shower and bathroom, the smell subsided the next day. The shower was clean but the glass door leaked horribly. We improvised and attached the rubber bath mat to the bottom of the door to stop the water flow. Other people in our group reported having to change rooms because of a putrid smell. One guy even had geckos in his room! There is internet but not everyone can get it in their rooms. I had to use mine in the lobby to get a connection. Now onto the buffet - as I said, you get what you pay for. Breakfast was definitely the best and they make eggs to order. The meat selections were mostly tough and fatty so I tried to stay with chicken/rice/veggie dishes. We enjoyed "dinner on the beach" and food was o.k. but watching the sunset was awesome! Tried the Japanese restaurant one evening and were glad we did. It was a welcome change from the buffet. There is a spa on the grounds and we totally enjoyed our massages. You get 1 hour/15 minutes for $45 if you pay with US dollars. One last thought, you will be pushed starting at the airport and continuing with the hotel concierge about a time share. Also, call your credit card company beforehand & let them know the dates your traveling in Mexico.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarDex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

We just returned from 14 days at the NH Krystal. We were a group of 6 firends. This was the first time at this resort for all of us.We stayed in the deluxe tower and the rooms were very nice , clean and modern. The resort is very beatuiful and really has the mexican feel with the coble streets and villa's throughout. The villa's seem to be for time share people.The main pool is hugh and very nice. It overlooked the ocean but we found the vendors seems to be around the pool area allot although a polite no thankyou was all they needed.The service at the hotel was great. Although we found giving a tip got you better service especially at the pool area where they actually would prefer to serve you then you go and get the drinks and food yourself.The location of the resort was great for going into town. We taxied into town many times for 50 pesos about $4.00 US.Now for the negetative things. The food is not that great at all. We found breakfast and lunch ok but supper was hit or miss. They only have one buffett and limited items on it.They have a italian restaurant that was good and the susi restaurant just wasn't our thing.We did like their dine around program where we could get coupons to use at certain restaurants on certain nights . We used senior frogs, bubba gumps and the outback. They do have a set menu with the coupons but all but senior frogs gave us 92 pesos towards ordering off the menu. Senior frog made you order from the special menu consisting of mainly burgers, etc.The other main complaint at the resort was the lack of evening shows or activities. We usually like to sit in the lobbies at night and have drinks with friends and watch shows but at the krystal the lobby bar wasn't all inclusive and there were only two nights of shows .So we could go to the sports bar to drink at nights with friends but mostly drank in the buffet restaurant in the evenings.So would we go back? Probably not just for the reasons of the food and the shows although the staff were wonderful, the view was great , the rooms were nice and the pool very nice. Hope this helps as I enjoy reading reviews before I go on trips and find this web site very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kroswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

Just back from 3 days in February. Hey folks the buffet is brutal. Cold food and a very small area. Wife and i stayed at the Riu Vallarata 2 weeks earlier, and yes it is more expensive, but 99% better.
The Crystal is small. Swim-up bar is the only feature worth talking about.
Service and yes I tipped was brutal. The shower in the new section is built for 10 year old kids it is so small.
So make sure you know what you are getting. Less than average service. Horrible food, and the best bet is going next door the Chili's and aand eat there.
Never again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakeadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Vallarta hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

We stayed at the Krystal last week and had an enjoyable time for the most part. The grounds are really beautiful and well taken care of-although some maintainence is needed with the cobblestone walkways-just watch your step! The "quiet pool" is very pretty and a great place to relax while the main pool is busy,noisy and hard to find chairs if you don't get there early.There are quite a few palapas on the beach but again get there early and we found many of the loungers to be broken so check that out . The food at the main buffet was just O.K. the breakfast was the best option. We really liked the food at the Italian restaurant-ate there 3 times. There aren't many nearby choices for dining outside of the resort within walking distance-used to be -but they are closed now. All in all the Krystal was just an average place to stay,we were a bit disappointed as it is no longer the Krystal it used to be.We would not stay there again as there are so many better choices in PV.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moomra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
3.3 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#33 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
2.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Puerto Vallarta

Property: Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Address: Av de los Garzas, s/n | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Krystal Puerto Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda-style Resort on 32-acre gardens with private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your Krystal Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Hotels Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Vallarta
Nh Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Vallarta
Krystal Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing