We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Ranked #48 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Burnaby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

For the third year in a row, my husband and I have stayed at the Melia Puerto Vallarta for 3 weeks. Although it is a family hotel and a few kids around, we still find it a very relaxing place to go. The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful and they seem to all remember you from year to year. I don't know whether it is because we are considered long term or what but quite often when we came up to our room in the afternoon we had special treats i.e. wine, cheese plates, chocolate strawberries, fruit, etc. This service, along with the great staff is what keeps us going back. The food is basically quite good but the specialty restaurants could add a little bit more of a selection to their menus. The rooms are kept immaculate. We strongly recommend this hotel.
Ron and Sandy Laidlaw
Vancouver. B.C.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanronl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,025
    1,142
    605
    256
    212
See reviews for
1,533
799
47
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

The hotel is great. Really big and with different spots to eat. We saved a ton of $$$ doing the all-inclusive and not eating out. Parts of the hotel are kind of kid oriented, but it's not in your face.
The pool is really nice and we didn't have any trouble reserving chairs for 5 girls. The food selection is big (fresh fruit, vegetables, etc.) and there is as much bottled water as you can drink.
The hotel staff is really helpful and pleasant. Our rooms were always clean and the bathroom was nice. They helped us get cabs and get a good price from the drivers, and told us good clubs/bars to go to.
I would recommend NOT doing the whale watch/booze cruise thing to an island. It's just genuinely miserable. You book it through the hotel, but they don't run it. One downside was that you couldn't really go sit on the beach without locals coming up and trying to sell you stuff. Order a Dirty Monkey from the bar while you're there!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebber6655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Recently my husband and I went to Purto Vallarta, and stayed at the Melia. This is our 3rd time to PV in the past couple of years, and as well we have stayed at a 5 star hotel in the Mayan Riveira. This was by far our favourite hotel and resort! Not too big, but not too small. Lots of things to do if you want, but lots of quiet relaxing as well.
In a few of the reviews we read that the music was loud by pool, but we did not find this at all. They were not on the PA yelling at you all day - they just let you know what was going on, and then left you alone.
The food was wonderful in the buffet, and we throughly enjoyed all three of the ala carte restaurants at this resort. At every other resort we have stayed at, we have never liked the food in the restaurants, but here we wished we could have had more time to re-visit them all for a second time.
The staff were all wonderful, and anything we asked for was done immediately - rare for Mexico resorts. They were all friendly, and most helpful. They had waiters/waitresses coming around the pool area all day long taking your drink orders, so no need to ever leave your chair if you didn't want to! Great choice on drinks - not just the cheap stuff - and had different speciality drinks each day.
We up-graded to th "M" experience, and for the little bit more money this was the way to go. Lovely rooms, twice daily maid service, late check-out, in room wireless, and many more benifits.
The resort is a very short walk from the Marina area which I fast walked/jogged every morning for exercise. Very quiet in the early morning, and nice even pavement for a safe walk. There are tons of restaurants along here as well, a great lighthouse Pub to have drinks in looking over the marina, and some nice slightly upper scale stores to buy some great gifts.
I could go on and on about how wonderful I thought this place was, and it's location believe me. I will go back for sure, and have been telling all my friends to go there as well. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandBNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkirk, NY
Level Contributor
112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

Just returned today from ten nights at the Melia, our second time in three years. This is my wife's favorite result and area in Mexico, we have also been to Tampico, Manzanillo, Cozumel and Mayan Riveria. The Melia is a great place for families, though we are grandparents traveling by ourselves. The kids are kept busy, and for the most part do not intrude on your vacation stay. The pool area is great, the beach ok, though at low tide you can walk for a mile or so on the beach, it is all public.

Rooms are old but clean and very functional, we did not find the beds exceptiuonally hard as some do. The food is of good quality for an all inclusive, both at the buffets and the Italian and Mexican. Snack bar has burgers, hot dogs, fries and wings for when you are tired of buffets.

Drinks are good, don't be afaid to ask for something other than well stock, they always are willing to comply.

In ten days we were not asked once about time shares while on property, different story while walking on street or at Marina. Most of the vendors are very polite, they do try to get you to stop and join in the banter, just say no and keep walking.

When arriving at airport, walked straight through to taxi counter, big yellow booth. No need to arrange transfers, cheaper to take a fixed rate taxi.

WE went downtown a couple of times, used taxis though buses were available and cheaper, just a personal preference. The Malecon on Sunday night is worth the trip, lots of street performers. Felt completely safe.

All in all, great value for the weather, location and facilities. WE will probably return again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FireChiefDunkirk_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

My husband and I just returned from our fourth visit to the Melia in Puerto Vallarta; we heartily recommend this hotel; grounds are lovely, the staff couldn't be better, and for just 6 1/2 pesos you can take the public bus in front of the property and go to town several times
to enjoy the wonderful restaurants for a different kind of dinner and the shopping. There is a wide selection
of food in the buffet, as well as an italian restaurant and a mexican restaurant (open air, in front of the italian restaurant). We have stayed in Dreams and also went to look at the Barcelo in Mismaloya. Overall, though, considering the beauty of the property, and the value for your money, you can't miss with this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Pere
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

We just got back from the Melia yesterday and we would go back. We were on our honeymoon so we didn't want too many kids around, but knew there would be when we booked it. When we first walked in the was a big statue of Barney Rubble standing in the lobby so my husband asked the man checking us in if it was mostly geared for kids and he said there are lots of things for kids to do. Well I was extremely impressed with how the Melia handled the kids. They took the kids off to some play area and entertained them and to be honest I never was bothered by any kids except for the last day when apparently at noon is when they bring the kids to lunch and they were all running around screaming. So stay away from the buffets for lunch until after 1. The pool was fantastic...it was huge, swim up bar was great and not crowded, they have cans of beer so you don't have to drink tap beer, servers walking around all the time asking what you need to drink to bring poolside, the entertainment was not obnoxious but just enough to be fun. The food for breakfast was great and a huge selection, the food for lunch was OK, not great. The restaurant "La Palapa" was good, but the Italian was not. We went across the street to the marina where there are plenty of bars and restaurants to keep you entertained. If you want a fun restaurant for dinner try Victors. Great place for drinks in the marina is the El Faro lighthouse, try it you won't be disappointed. The Old Salt and Lime has great mexican food. Did not care for Fajita Banana. Mr. Cream has great breakfasts=best french toast I have ever had. Found a great bar for night time El Kiosco and Old Salt and Lime. There is great shopping over there too, but they won't barter too much with you. Best massage I have ever had was at Venus and it was cheap- $65 for a couples massage for an hour. We had a couples massage at the Melia as well down by the water and there was no privacy and it was a lot more money...I would go back to Venus in the marina.
The rooms at the melia were great but we did upgrade to the junior suite and had the Mexperience which was well worth the money spent. It had two bathrooms, two flat screens, two balconys, a view of the ocean, and the pool and gardens. The beds are very hard!!! The room did not smell musty. The air conditioning worked great. I would say that there was not much to do at this hotel in the way of bars for nighttime. We would mostly go across the street. The one night that they offered Karaoke they started it at 10:15 in the main lobby bar which is the only bar they have and it was packed for that night. It was supposed to go to midnight and they received one complaint for it being too loud, so they shut it down at 11:30. They had some very unhappy people that evening. Overall I would say the Melia is a fantastic hotel, it is in a great part of Puerto Vallarta, right across the street from the Marina which has plenty to do, but close enough to downtown to just hop in the cab. The cab ride downtown is about 10 minutes and there is a lot to do down there. Go to the restaurant Tony's in Mismaloya-best food we had in the two weeks we were down there. Amazing experience and cheap! But don't let the cab driver tell you he will wait, the restaurant can call you a cab. It seems a little desolate, but the cab driver is just trying to scam you for money. Enjoy your time at the restaurant, we got scammed and had to hurry through our meal in an hour, because we told him to wait for us. The cab ride is about a half hour up into the mountain so go about 6:00.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErnieDePere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer,AB
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

I travelled with my 5 month old twins and it went way better than expected because of the staff!! They were friendly and it was a great place to go with family especially with a young family such as mine. There were many young families so you did not feel out of place there. The food was delicious, and loved the location because it was so close to the airport. I left my babies at the baby club, a few hours each afternoon and the girls in their were great and were really kind and caring with my babies.
Definitly recommend this hotel for familes.....

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Valla...
#52 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#34 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
3.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
9.2 mi away
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
#33 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive

Property: Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Address: Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Mexico from the moment you enter Meliá Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive. This complex four-star luxury under the concept All Inclusive, has 318 rooms and suites and offers guests a variety of dining options and recreational activities perfect whether you're looking for a romantic getaway, a family vacation, or planning a corporate meeting. Overlooking Marina Vallarta, in one of the most exclusive and serene neighborhoods in Puerto Vallarta, just 5 minute ride from the airport or 10 minutes to the town center and a chip shot walk to the 18 hole/ 72 par Marina Vallarta Golf Club. The property has a timeless, tropical charm thanks to large, open, airy communal spaces, serene eco-friendly gardens (alive with iguanas, ducks, coy, birds) and wide-open water views. Traveling with children? Meliá Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive is a family friendly hotel offering baby-sitting services led by trained and certified baby sitters. The Kids & Co Clubs are available for children from 4 months to 11 years old. Kids activities include arts and crafts, billiards, Ping-Pong, foosball, arcade games, and more. Attention: TOBACCO SMOKE-FREE HOTEL IN GUEST ROOMS, ROOM BALCONIES AND ENCLOSED AREAS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sol Melia Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing