We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Nearby Hotels
US$331
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
US$305
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$514
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
US$500
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$487
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,007)
Filter reviews
4,007 results
Traveller rating
1,302
1,395
713
319
278
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,302
1,395
713
319
278
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubrifle shootingclimbing walltime sharelobby baritalian restaurantbunk bedsnightly showshot dogsfamily resorthuge poolgarden viewmusty smella la carte restaurantsall inclusivesmarina areagreat family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
1,340 - 1,345 of 4,007 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Just came back from the Melia puerto vallarta last week june 11- 16..the lobby is beautiful. We booked a garden view room and dunno why but got upgraded to an oceanview. The room is very clean and well maintained. Housekeeping cleaned well everyday and we were satisfied. Beds are firm but we had no problems with them at all. Got 2 double beds. free wi fi too..Food is just OK.. breakfast fare included made to order omelets, pancakes which were ok. we had lunch at the outdoor grill restaurant where they have cooking stations which were surprisingly good.. we had tepanyaki one day then steak and fish then burritos which were all good. There's a snack bar that served burgers, hot dogs, fries, nachos for the kids. We ate at the mexican restaurant where we had the blue crab and fajitas which were delicious..we also ate at the italian place and had the beef fillet and caesar salad which were superb. The pool is huge and nice but shows some wear like some uneven tile so you have to be careful esp. kids. they have pool toys and floaties so you need not bring your own..The staff is very polite and service is top notch. We had not encountered anyone who did not treat us well..we got cocktails and tequila shots all day long. The best thing i would have to say is the child care staff. our kids stayed at the baby rock club and bam bam club a couple of hours each day and they enjoyed it so much it's hard to take them out.. they have activities lined up for them all day.. the staff esp. karina and elena are very caring and great with the kids. the child care room is very clean and well equipped. when we checked in, we were forwarded to a time share agent yasmin inviting us to a presentation and talked about the amenities of the hotel which we politely declined and she didn't bother us anymore about it. Overall, it was a great vacation if you don't have very high expectations.. great value for your money esp. for families.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mishy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Wonderful staff and lots of stuff to do. Food was not the best and the rooms smell of mold. Beach, pool, and service were top of the line. Every day they have entertainment staff that does fun stuff all day. Finally at night they have a different show of dancers and it was surprisingly amazing. If I didn't know any better I would have thought we were watching Cirque Du Soleil. Great resort minus the food and rooms.

My other big problem was outside the resort. At the airport you are harrased to come on retreats with other vacation compnies and just to get a taxi you have to listen to a pressuring speech to come check out a hotel or tour. I have been to Japan, Europe, Mexico, Canada, Brazil, America and South Africa and I have never had to go through something like that right out of immigation at the airport. All I wanted to do was get to our hotel and we had to get pressured to buy something our first hour in Puerto Vallarta.

Also FYI Don't get screwed like we did. A normal size taxi to Melia from the Airport is ten US dollars and for a bigger SUV for the luggage of a big family is fifteen US dollars. We were pressured into getting a taxi for thirty US dollars which is completely too much for Mexico. They then told us the tour of Puerto Vallarta was free with the taxi, but we still said no. Latter on we discovered we over paid and they screw tourist over by including the tour cost with the taxi to the resort and don't tell you.

Finally, be aware that if you go into town to shop. If you don't look like a Mexican EVERYONE will be trying to sell you something. After a while it gets extremely annoying. "Come into my store, look for free, for you I give you special deal." Good God, after three hours of that I just wanted to go back to Melia.

Overall we had a great trip, beach and staff were amazing. We tipped server 20 US in the morning and he took care of us the rest of the day. I don't want to go back because I love to explore new places. But I would recommend for people looking for a cheap vacation. Food was not good at all and the room smelled, other than that it was great.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claussenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We have stayed at the Melia hotel in Cabo and in Ixtapa and although we enjoyed the hotels in those locations, Melia Puerto Vallarta outperformed both in almost every way. The staff were friendly and entertaining at the pool, in the restaurants, and at the night time shows. The food was amazing, even the desserts, breakfast, lunch and dinner. We never had a bad meal. I'm sure we both gained weight! The rooms were slightly damp everyday-my husband's only complaint-but the beds were sooo comfortable we slept soundly every night. We did find that it was much cheaper to arrange day trips with the beach vendors sitting right at the steps to the beach. Don't arrange any trips through the hotel--they cannot give you any great deals. You can also go over to the marina which is a 5 minute walk, and arrange any boat trips with any of the great people who run businesses there. They will negotiate prices and excursion details--we got a great deal on fishing in the bay from one of the guys on the beach. The beaches on the marina are not great. You should definitely rent a car, take a bus/taxi to any of the better beaches. Los Muertos, Mismaloya, Las Animas, Sayulita. You won't be disappointed. The location of this resort, close to the airport, marina, Nuevo Vallarta and near (15 min. drive) downtown was ideal for us. We spent a lot of time in the marina at restaurants, on boats and it was great we could get there on foot. We also spent a lot of time downtown walking on El Malecon and getting a taxi there cost 80.00 pesos and was quick and easy to do. In June starts the rainy season so it was cloudy every afternoon and we never did see a sunset. But, we both got great tans without sun overkill and there was so much to see and do we forgot about the sunsets. We both had such a great time all around we were sad to leave. We both loved the hotel and Puerto Vallarta from Banderas Bay south to Sayulita in the north. If you had to choose a beach destination in Mexico, go to Puerto Vallarta and stay at the Melia. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saltillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

If you are traveling with just your spouse, a friend or your whole family this is the perfect resort. From the bell man that greets you to the maintenance staff you will be greeted with a warm smile and attitude of service. Weather you want a quiet restful get away or an event filled week they cater to everyone. They have a wonderful staff who helped us line up day excursions, as well as an amazing childcare staff of whom my child did not want to leave.
Also I felt extremely safe with their security staff always walking around in a friendly nonintrusive manner.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lattes4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Was at Melia May 29, 2010 -June 5, 2010. Went with my daughter age 22 and met a friend and her daughter. Had a great time. Pool was great and beach was good. Once you told the vendors you weren't interested they left you alone.
The girls parasailed and had fun,fun,fun. Also kayaked.
The food was good. We all had massages by the beach,they were the best.
Geraudo at the front desk was very helpful to us.
Only one bad thing and it wasn't at the hotel. We did the pirate ship. It was a lot a fun and had a good dinner--but then--at the part of the show when the pirates were fighting. We were in the front row and the sword broke and flew and cut my daughters chin. Yeah the sword broke. They took her to this room and cleaned her up and put a bandage on it. They took her to a Mexico hospital and they cleaned it up. Only think, the doctor there told her to get her tetnaus shot in the US. They would not pay for the shot in the US or refund our money for the pirate ship. The Am. Express tour people did give her money back.
Other than that--we had a great trip and would go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meandmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews