We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIRECTIONS TO HIDDEN BEACH”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Ranked #89 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DIRECTIONS TO HIDDEN BEACH”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We stayed here several times before finding a perfect cove about 100 yards north. Follow the service road at the bottom of the hill and Wow there's the beach. I have to admit I only found it because we went to a wedding that was on the beach and we recognized that we were at El Set and went exploring. This hotel is not for those who want mega resort or spa treatments. What it has is the best view and location of any hotel at any price any where in the world. The patio that you expect to be 3 feet wide is actually a full size deck about 12 X 12 feet. Every room has the same great view because every room is WATER-FRONT. The food and location are great at the palapa bar on the beach and EL SET upstairs is one of the premier PV restaurants (great lobster at a modest price). Cabs in P V are super cheap and are everywhere ($4-5) . I have a Gazillion starwood points and could stay at the Sheraton or Westin for free at anytime but in Vallarta THIS IS THE PLACE. One down note this is a 8 story with no elevator. the lobby entrance is about the third of forth floor but if you can't handle stairs it could be a problem. BASIC HOTEL, BUT GREAT VACATION bien viaje

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bobredwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    62
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
30
76
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Perfect spot for our first few nights in PV. Secluded enough to feel private, yet close enough to town to walk or taxi in. Two restaurants on site.....a great beach bar and a nice restaurant upstairs. Awesome view from the room and balcony.......sunset, whales, etc. We were upgraded at no additional cost due to a minor snafu with our reservations. Staff is available and courteous. Small beaches out front, store down the road. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VanorasCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

from the reviews we read perhaps we were expecting to much..this is a very pretty location/beautiful sunsets..the beach below it was a disappointment..water very rough,huge waves,it also a lot of rock which the sea urchins like.we were here for 7 days and i think we got to use the beach for a couple hours due to the surf etc.the room was clean, the staff was great,the food in the restaurant just ok-nothing to write home about .The walk into towns on conchas chinas beach is a pretty walk,takes about 15 minutes.would i return here? .no.this is not a place i would ever retun to..so it is not one i would recommend,pretty or otherwise

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We recently stayed at Conchas Chinas. While admittedly our room was relatively cheap, we personally would have been happier paying more to stay at a better place. Our biggest complaint was the room. While it seemed like the sheets, pillowcases, towels, etc. had been washed... they all were stained with what looked like grease, blood, and who knows what else - disgusting, I don't care how cheap the rate is. The beds were not comfortable. The in-room stovetop gave off a continuous natural gas smell. We didn't even consider using the pots and pans... they were very old and non-stick coating was flaking off and full of grime. Sadly, with just a LITTLE investment by management to address the items above, Conchas could be a very nice no-frills hotel in light of the "pros" noted below.

Here is a brief pro and con list:

PROS
- Location is very nice - just outside of the city (more quiet) but close enough for a cheap cab ride ($5); what is especially nice is that the hotel is off the main road so you don't get road noise compared to many other resorts.
- Each room has a great view and its own balcony
- Two restaurants on the premises; we only used the one on the beach... food was ok though more expensive than I would have expected. The beach restaurant has a full service bar too, which was nice (again somewhat expensive).
- While the resort's beach is small and not really easy for swimming (rocks), there is a very nice public beach that is < 5 minute walk.
- The hotel is small/quaint

CONS
- See comments above regarding the room
- This is a very basic/no frills hotel (no workout facilities, etc.)

VALUE
As a point of reference, during the same trip we stayed three nights at one of Puerto Vallarta's top all-inclusive resorts... which happens to be about 5 minutes away from Conchas Chinas. Here is a comparsion, from a value perspective.

Conchas
- $130 per night for their standard room (two double beds and balcony - no other amenities)
- Meals (total for two): ~ $20 for breakfast; $20 for lunch; ~$40 for dinner; ~$40 per day for drinks ($3 per beer, $5 for wine/drinks, etc) = total of ~$120
- total cost, including meals: $130 + $120 = $250 per day

All Inclusive
- $300 per day for deluxe room (king bed and balcony); VERY nice rooms w/ like new linens, duvet, and other amenities (mini bar, electronic safe, iron and iron board, DVD player, etc., etc.)
- All food and drink free (except bottles of wine); six sit down restaurants (VERY good food) and one buffet
- Beautiful beach and multiple pool areas w/ swim-up bars
- Tons of amenities (workout facility, DVDs to watch if it is raining, boogey boards and kayaks to use) and activities offerred
- Total cost = $300 per day

So is Conchas a "great value"? For us, we were happy to pay $50 more per night for what we got elsewhere. That said, for those that are looking for a "cheaper" option... especially if they make their own food in the room... this might fit the bill.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0hnb0y1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duluth mn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We stayed 8 nights at Conchas Chinas - an excellent value and outstanding location. No better view anywhere. It is right next to the Lindo Mar - so you have 2 fine restaurants to choose from. If you are seeking a just-built condo in a tall building..this is not for you. The staff are so helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duluthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We stayed at the Rio Pacifico Palace for 4 nites before coming here. I loved the view here so much better with the rocky coast. It was so nice to look our of our patio and hear the waves at night and in the morning. It was very quiet here as the entire city was not that busy. We usually took the bus into town and did excursions and looked forward to our quiet,beautiful evening at the hotel.I will say that there does not seem to be a lot of security as there really is no safe and anyone could probably climb into the patio. We had our patio doors open and if they were closed it was not secure either. However we had no problems and took most of our valuables along with us. I was amazed that the place was quite clean and I never saw any spiders or bugs of any kind. The stovetop did not appear to work but the fridge was great. We usually ate out anyhow. The closet and bathroom area had an order like musty smell. I had brought some dryer sheets and placed them around. But I am washing all of my clothes whether I wore them or not
since they all have an odor from the closet. It does seem this is a bit of a trip to town. We did our excursions and carried extra clothing in our bag, went to dinner and then came back to the hotel to save on transportation cost. It usually was 2 buses but late at night we once took a taxi. Definitey a great price for such a beautiful view. The room had lots of tile in the jacuzzi and tub and all the floors. The inside had an open courtyard with live plants.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

I stayed here last April in the Presidential Suite with my boyfriend and his family and we had the most amazing time. The staff here is very friendly. The room was great. We had 3 bedrooms 4 bathrooms, a full kitchen and our very own pool! I highly recommend this hotel to everyone and the presidential suite to people with a large family. It is a little spendy but completely worth it. They only people I would not recomend this hotel to is someone that may have a hard time walking up and down stairs. There are a lot of stairs and unfortunately no elevators. If you're looking for a luxury (Americanized) hotel with 5 star amenities then this is probably not the place for you. This is an old hotel built on a cliff with an open air concept. I'm going again on April 14 (5 days!!) and I am so excited to be there again. We'll be staying in a standard room this time so I will let you know how that goes as well.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank needsatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1.1 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#27 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
683 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
#32 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel

Property: Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Address: Calle Carretera Costera a Barra de Navidad Km. 2.5, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico (Formerly Playa Conchas Chinas)
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Playa Conchas Chinas Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing