We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incompetent management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed at Plaza Pelicanos a few weeks ago and came down with a horrible stomach bug that most likely came from the food. It was clearly going around the hotel as a number of people I was traveling with got it as well as a number of other hotel patrons. After not being able to eat at the hotel for four days, and having already paid for the all inclusive price, I went to speak to management to see about a partial refund. I spoke with three different managers, all of whom lied about not knowing that guests at their hotel were sick. They refused to do anything helpful, and worst of all, didn't even apologize for my discomfort. They were clearly never taught the "customer is always right" policy. Rather than seeming sympathetic, they all got defensive. They could have easily made me walk away happy and I would have been able to write a much better review. But, instead they chose a path that left me and many others as very dissatisfied customers. I will never go back here, nor would I recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 2,529 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We chose this resort because of the the optional all-inclusive package. The resort is family-friendly and the location is perfect (groceries, restaurants within walking distance). Gorgeous sunset by the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Hotel and staff are great -- service appreciated. The hotel is well located. Staff always are friendly and seem to have your interest as the first consideration. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a stay in PV.



  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Check in was fast and greeted with hot cloth and cold beverage. Room was clean and large but had terrible smell of mold. Discovered later it was from the central A/C. Didn't complain cause we liked room location so we opened patio door lots.

Food was fantastic till we both got sick then nothing appealed to us. Lost two days with fever, diarreha and do not know cause. Other people were sick too and front desk said it must be a virus in air. I'm guessing we ate something that was contaminated as we only drank bottled water. Hubby went to near by grocery store and bought bananas, Gatorade, crackers and pkg soup. Resort only served melons and we wanted fruit you peel. Servers in dining room are the best ever. Friendly and truly welcoming and lots of servers for size of dining room.

Pool grill and restaurant has normal items plus chicken or fish. They keep plastic wrap over trays and everything is dated, they certainly try to keep food safety top priority. They also have hand sanitizer in different locations.

Grounds are well kept and over all resort is dated but clean. They were always cleaning and pool was average size but well maintained and they did readings often. Only one pool and no chance of a chair. Also only one bar located at the pool, swim up or walk in, second bar on roof top. Great view but not convenient if you just wanted quick drink.

Beach is nice but very short. When tide is in, the water reaches the wall. On our last day, resort put chairs and umbrella's on the beach so if they don't have any there you can ask. You can walk along adjoining beaches they are all public. Lots of vendors but they are not aggressive.

This resort is great for young families and seniors or people looking for a quiet, laid back vacation. They play pool side bingo, cards and memory games. There is some night time entertainment but very quiet after that.

Great shops minutes away and old PV is a 10 min cab ride away. For the young at heart that want night life, we recommend a resort located directly downtown. People are fantastic and we always felt safe.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CarolSt_John_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We got what expected. Clean, nice people, liberty and always something to eat.
We could always find negative points just to complain like most people, but overall, we had a nice vacation. As shown on the pictures, you can go on the beach and have a long walk. To go in the water, you need water shoes. Very appreciated was the heated pool with a view.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annie F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Our room smelled like smoke so bad I wanted to throw up and all they did was say that housekeeping would spray. I complained three times. The walls are so thin we heard the child next to us screaming and having a fit at 7am EVERY MORNING. After a day and a half of being there and eating and drinking nothing else but the resorts food my daughter started throwing up and having diarrhea. I was traveling alone with my 7 & 11 year old and couldn't get a maid to come clean the room for three hours. My sister had to call from the United States and speak to a manager because I was tending to my sick child. I requested a doctor at 9 am from the front desk which told me they provided that service. At 11am I left my children to go ask what the delay was (they said he'd be right there at 9am). The concierge told me they had no such service that I would have to call a doctor myself. At this point I am in tears and once again had to speak to the manager that finally called a doctor. Three hours later the doctor showed up and my daughter was hospitalized. Every staff person you asked anything about at the resort told you a different answer from the doctor service to where the game room equipment was kept. We left our vacation early and of course without a credit for the nights we didn't stay has been issued. DO NOT BOOK FUN JET VACATIONS. BEWARE OF TRAVELING ALONE WITH CHILDREN. THE PHONE WILL GET YOU NOWHERE IF YOU NEED SOMEONE TO HELP

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

the two people on the staff that stood out the most was Edvaroatz at the sky bar & salvador at the pool & conducted karaoke the bartender at the sky bar refused to take a tip so we left it at the front desk. Edvardatz made us feel like we were the only people at the bar, Salvador was always in a good mood & loved his job, you could sure tell by his excellent personality!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,625 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#45 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#32 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,763 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Marina and Beach Resort
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Mar...
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Address: Jose Clemente Orozco # 131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £93 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort situated on beautiful Las Glorias, surrounded by colorful tropical vegetation. facing the Pacific in Puerto Vallarta, close to shops, Teatro Vallarta, Malecon, Caballito, restaurants, and attractions, only 15 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport (PVR) and 7 minutes from downtown. The layout offers private and quiet areas, as well as active areas for recreation.The hotel offers amenities like outdoor pool, a childrens pool, two aerial Jacuzzis with bay view, a health club, and a childrens club, concierge desk, Spa, Bali beds, wireless Internet access (surcharge) is available in public areas, wedding services and complimentary guest parking is limited, Sky lounge Bar, tennis court, karaoke room, game room, a buffet restaurant and two a la carte restaurant for dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Hotel
Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Plaza Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing