We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with a roof-top patio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #35 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I love Puerto Vallarta and have stayed in quite a few places there. the Pelicanos is one of my favorites because of the roof-top patio; it is the entire roof top of the oceanfront building on the 9th floor. There are two hot tubs, lots of attractive furniture, lounge chairs and the view is amazing. Also, they have a bar which is open at night. When the pool and beach are too noisy or crowded, this is a wonderful place to hang out- always a fresh breeze way up there with the birds and the parasailors.....
I always stay in a one bedroom unit, which is a full kitchen and living room with bath plus an adjoining bedroom and another bath. Could easily sleep 4. The decor is not particularly charming or "Mexican", but everything is clean and the bed is very comfortable. These units are located on the ocean side, with a full patio/deck running the full length of the two rooms ( with sliders)- and the beach and ocean are directly in front of you- awesome! Sunsets every night, with fireworks from the Pirate ship! I have paid to upgrade to one of these units (floor #2) - so worth it!
You can easily walk to restaurants and a Mega supermarket nearby, taxis into town are @$5.00 and always waiting right outside the hotel- but I walked into town several times- no big deal.
Friendly staff, safe atmosphere, great location, great town!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank apacheChatham_ma_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 2,496 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

I go there every year for 9 years - its my home away from home since Im a Shell Timeshare Owner - we stay in the Tower Building - ocean front rooms with kitchen living room - Other rooms have diff layouts - some not so good - bedroom below and liv room/kitchen up a spiral staircase. I love that is close to downtown - great staff - good rooms . Banks, bus stop, taco stand , restaurants, coffee, Mega store, Dr office, Liquor store, pizza, Oxxo, pharmacy, are across the walkway


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank licha34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great location:near bank, groceries and department store shopping. Most rooms have beach/sea view. But beware: floors are polished and shiny but dangerously slippery when wet. So open your eyes wide, water may not be clearly seen especially at night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Adelarde N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We travelled april 19-26 2014
I take some time to let know people about our bad experience at this place. First of all, never, never go to this hotel when it's Easter! The local people (Mexican) have an annual allocate and they take all the place! The hotel was to much full. Cause of this it was impossible to have place, service, clean pool, clean place and quiet time! All the real travellers were really mad! Our room was a communicated room and it was impossible to sleep! Too much kids for this type of resort. Second it is not a good place to go when you hope for service and you have a particular healt situation. This hotel do not have a disco or any animation or show. So our evening was very ordinary. The most funny part was that they say wifi, bottle of water, coffee and international drink but if you want some you have to pay for it! If you want to try it, try it. It's a really nice place and the food was good, but for me and my husband we had enough! Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I would and will tell my friends about the resort
Thank you for making my holiday the best this
Year , I'v stayed in PV three times this year
2 at a different resort your resort always makes me feel welcome

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great room, good food, nice pool. Could use a bit more for the kids. Red flag was up the whole week we were there so we didn't go in the ocean. 1 block walk to the main street, there was a good grocery store a 5 block (or so) walk south, lots of other shops and restaurants all around.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 22 April 2014

For a resort that is not new this is a place were you don't feel like you are in an old resort. All is there available. Very clean and well maintained. Friendly and enthusiastic people. Have no complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.3 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
559 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,588 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#44 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
#33 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Address: Jose Clemente Orozco # 131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £83 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort situated on beautiful Las Glorias, surrounded by colorful tropical vegetation. facing the Pacific in Puerto Vallarta, close to shops, Teatro Vallarta, Malecon, Caballito, restaurants, and attractions, only 15 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport (PVR) and 7 minutes from downtown. The layout offers private and quiet areas, as well as active areas for recreation.The hotel offers amenities like outdoor pool, a childrens pool, two aerial Jacuzzis with bay view, a health club, and a childrens club, concierge desk, Spa, Bali beds, wireless Internet access (surcharge) is available in public areas, wedding services and complimentary guest parking is limited, Sky lounge Bar, tennis court, karaoke room, game room, a buffet restaurant and two a la carte restaurant for dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Hotel
Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Plaza Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing