We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captain Steve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Captain Steve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

It´s hard to find fault with such a well organized resort, however your location with a dirty playa & water caused by Rio Ameca and Rio Piteal pouring into the ocean near by makes spending any time in the ocean very uninteresting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    857
    356
    184
    126
See reviews for
881
717
68
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ab
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

My daughter & I just spent a week at Plaza Pelican Grand we enjoyed our stay. The staff was helpful and friendly. The food had good variety each day and was very good. the food was always hot and tasted delicious. There were plenty of chairs pool side each day. the pool overlooks the ocean and down town PV my favorite place to spend the day. The sky bar has a fantastic view at night overlooking all of PV great place to relax, listen to music and have a night cap. this is a small resort so you don't have the noise, line ups, etc. of a larger resort. I loved my stay there and look forward to going back again with my husband.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Knecht V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this resort with 7 other friends. The service was excellent, but the resort seemed overstaffed at times (dinner buffet). The sheets didn't fit the bed which was quite annoying, and my room's air conditioning was broken. There were fun events that the staff held during the day like Zumba, dancing, water aerobics, and water volleyball. There are people selling things along the beach which got very annoying at first, but some of the things they sold were actually really cool! Just make sure you bargain with them.

The pool water was very hot which wasn't really refreshing, however there was always a nice breeze from the ocean so whenever you get out of the pool and your body is wet it is really nice. The staff were all so nice - especially the events staff and Sky Bar bartender. I would recommend this resort to anyone, but make sure you go early during the week because it gets crowded with young kids on the weekends.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I love Puerto Vallarta and have stayed in quite a few places there. the Pelicanos is one of my favorites because of the roof-top patio; it is the entire roof top of the oceanfront building on the 9th floor. There are two hot tubs, lots of attractive furniture, lounge chairs and the view is amazing. Also, they have a bar which is open at night. When the pool and beach are too noisy or crowded, this is a wonderful place to hang out- always a fresh breeze way up there with the birds and the parasailors.....
I always stay in a one bedroom unit, which is a full kitchen and living room with bath plus an adjoining bedroom and another bath. Could easily sleep 4. The decor is not particularly charming or "Mexican", but everything is clean and the bed is very comfortable. These units are located on the ocean side, with a full patio/deck running the full length of the two rooms ( with sliders)- and the beach and ocean are directly in front of you- awesome! Sunsets every night, with fireworks from the Pirate ship! I have paid to upgrade to one of these units (floor #2) - so worth it!
You can easily walk to restaurants and a Mega supermarket nearby, taxis into town are @$5.00 and always waiting right outside the hotel- but I walked into town several times- no big deal.
Friendly staff, safe atmosphere, great location, great town!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank apacheChatham_ma_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I go there every year for 9 years - its my home away from home since Im a Shell Timeshare Owner - we stay in the Tower Building - ocean front rooms with kitchen living room - Other rooms have diff layouts - some not so good - bedroom below and liv room/kitchen up a spiral staircase. I love that is close to downtown - great staff - good rooms . Banks, bus stop, taco stand , restaurants, coffee, Mega store, Dr office, Liquor store, pizza, Oxxo, pharmacy, are across the walkway


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank licha34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great location:near bank, groceries and department store shopping. Most rooms have beach/sea view. But beware: floors are polished and shiny but dangerously slippery when wet. So open your eyes wide, water may not be clearly seen especially at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Adelarde N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We travelled april 19-26 2014
I take some time to let know people about our bad experience at this place. First of all, never, never go to this hotel when it's Easter! The local people (Mexican) have an annual allocate and they take all the place! The hotel was to much full. Cause of this it was impossible to have place, service, clean pool, clean place and quiet time! All the real travellers were really mad! Our room was a communicated room and it was impossible to sleep! Too much kids for this type of resort. Second it is not a good place to go when you hope for service and you have a particular healt situation. This hotel do not have a disco or any animation or show. So our evening was very ordinary. The most funny part was that they say wifi, bottle of water, coffee and international drink but if you want some you have to pay for it! If you want to try it, try it. It's a really nice place and the food was good, but for me and my husband we had enough! Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.3 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#23 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
2.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#34 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#44 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Property: Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco # 131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort situated on beautiful Las Glorias, surrounded by colorful tropical vegetation. facing the Pacific in Puerto Vallarta, close to shops, Teatro Vallarta, Malecon, Caballito, restaurants, and attractions, only 15 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport (PVR) and 7 minutes from downtown. The layout offers private and quiet areas, as well as active areas for recreation.The hotel offers amenities like outdoor pool, a childrens pool, two aerial Jacuzzis with bay view, a health club, and a childrens club, concierge desk, Spa, Bali beds, wireless Internet access (surcharge) is available in public areas, wedding services and complimentary guest parking is limited, Sky lounge Bar, tennis court, karaoke room, game room, a buffet restaurant and two a la carte restaurant for dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Hotel
Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Plaza Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing