We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Condos”
Review of Vallarta Torre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vallarta Torre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We spent a week at this resort with nine family members. We had two- two bedroom condos. Both had great views of the oceans as well as of the grounds. The hospitality was wonderful ,but my favorite was all the Mexican charm used in building and decorating this vacation get away. You felt like you were in Mexico and not in some ultra modern highrise in the US. When I visit another country I enjoy the decorations and culture of that country. It is exactly what I would expect colonial Puerto Vallarta to be like.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mruiz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

Our 20 person team always stays here t much an important part of us and we love them dearly. Roy Lesher, Camano Island, Washington

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoyLesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My fiance and I opted to take a little trip in celebration of our engagement and we couldn't have asked for a nicer resort for our getaway. Although it is a bit smaller than some of the other hotels around it, perhaps that's precisely what makes it so lovely. Charming is the best possible way to describe Vallarta Torre, as it almost has the feeling of a sweet boutique hotel you only find out about from your friends. We were fortunate enough to stay in a newly renovated beach front, 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bathroom condo that had everything you could want and then some. So much space we didn't quite know what to do with ourselves! From past experience, though, I do know the regular rooms are quite spacious as well. We were so comfortable and happy the entire stay--what's not to love when you fall asleep listening to the waves crashing right outside of your window?

Most impressive of all, though, was the service. The staff is just incredibly efficient and eager to please. We ate the majority of our meals at the resort, and although the menu is pretty basic, it's good and relatively inexpensive. Oh, and then there's the Happy Hour drink specials every day from 5-7. 2 for 1's will get you in trouble, if you're not careful. While we're on that subject, I highly recommend the mojitos made from freshly squeezed limes. Delicious. You can eat and drink in the Palapa bar, the El Jardin restaurant, or have your food/drinks delivered to you on the beach, pool or even in your room! The resort also has a little spa that offers massages, manicures/pedicures, facials and wraps. We got a couples massage which was great and I got a reflexology treatment which was insanely relaxing.

The resort is located in a prime spot: there's a massive grocery store nearby, and a bus to take you downtown for sightseeing (what an experience that is). We'd also recommend Vallarta Adventures for all your excursion needs--it's a great company that really makes sure your memories of Mexico are perfect. We went sunset sailing, swimming with the dolphins and on the Rhythms of the Night tour and they were all truly fantastic. Rhythms of the Night is surely one I'll never forget, as it was one of the most romantic tours we've ever taken.

So, if you want an adorable little hotel with all the things you could possibly need, located right on the beach, with great service and comfortable living space, then Vallarta Torre is the place for you. We plan to go back, time and time again, because I think it's impossible to beat the experience we had. What a sweet, quaint and enjoyable little hotel indeed! Salud!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jpug2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

My husband and I own a timeshare in Maui and decided to trade for somewhere new to go and picked Puerto Vallarta and Vallarta Torre as our home for a week. We also brought along my best friend and her boyfriend.

We arrived on Christmas Day, 2009 with no hassle from the airport "timeshare" people because i knew what to expect. The timeshare had set up complimentary shuttle service and told us exactly how to walk through the "sharktank" and find a little holding our name. Basically it was a prepaid taxi. Perfect....

Arrived at Vallarta Torre and the first thing you notice is that it says "Welcome Home" in Spanish on the entrance way and everyone saying it. It was a nice Welcome. The first person we met was Salvador and man does he work his butt off, as does the rest of the staff. He unloaded our luggage, walked to the front desk, which was litterally a desk and saw our name on the Welcome board. Salvador brought us out 2 cold cervezas and we checked in with no problem leaving word that our friends would be arriving in about 2 hours and we would be at the pool bar.

Walked into the room #206 and we were throughly surprised. The place was very nice. I was questioning the decor and all from prior reviews. It was very nice. It was a bit musty smelling, but not a problem as i brought an air freshener and put it out immediately. We were only on the second floor...was hoping for a higher one, but we could still see the ocean, just not the pool. We were actually directly facing the ocean and yes, you could hear it plain and clear with the door open. The bedroom was nicely decorated with plenty of closet space. The living room was nice with a couch and a murphy bed. The kitchen was big with all the supplies. The patio was plenty big for 2 people sitting or 4 people standing.

The resort grounds were fantastic. As others have said, they wash down the sidewalks every morning, whether they needed it or not. The pool was very nice...looked like it had been done recently, but may not have. No swim up bar, but a bar that was conveniently located overlooking the pool. The gate for the beach opened at 7am and closed at 10pm for security purposes--which didn't bother us one bit. There is also security at the front gate 24 hours everyday and that gate locks at 10pm i believe and you need your room key to get in after hours. Again, nice for security i thought! The pool bar was great and we visited it often. Buckets of beer for 10 pesos and you get 6 beers which was nice, because here at home we only get 5 beers. Jose was great. The bar food was good...ate lots of guac and salsa and chips and they start making fresh popcorn around 4pm. I think we were there pretty much everynight for happy hour which was 2 for 1 from 5-7pm. Nice touch.

There was a resaturant on property called Jardin del Sol i think and we ate there a few times. Once for dinner on Saturday night which happened to be all you can eat ribs and the food was just ok. But we were so tired from all day zipling, that it worked for us. We also ate our Complimentary Welcome Breakfast mid week and ordered breakfast there the morning or our last day. Breakfast omelettes were good. No complaints.

The resort had lots of activities all week. We all did Bingo at the pool bar one day at 4pm and we had fun. There was an activities stand for painting ceramics by the pool which we really didn't consider until the next to last day and we wish we would have found earlier. I painted a picture frame for myself for 150 pesos and figured it would be cool because i was going to buy one anyway. Well, little did i know that it would look amazing when it was done. They actually keep the painted object overnight, touch it up, fire it in a kiln and bring it back the next day. At first we thought it was more geared to kids, but i would have done it everyday if i had time.

The resort had a welcome party on Monday night offering chips and salsa, margaritas and beer. All Complimentary which was nice. They also did a raffle and gave away nice prizes. We actually won 20% off the pirate ship, which we traded with someone else with kids and we took a free finger painting (which is a great souveneir).

The beach was nice. Plenty big for the amount of people at the resort. My friends walked down it a couple times and didn't enjoy the sand very much....but that isn't something anyone can control. Lots of palapas and plenty of table service for drinks.

We were there for New Year's Eve and they put on a huge party. We decided not to eat there (although it sounded like a great deal--$42 USD for a buffet and all you can drink all night long). We ate out one last night and then returned and headed down to the beach before midnight for all the fireworks. Everyone seemed to be having a blast, everyone dancing to the live music and looked like many bottles of empty wine everywhere.

The service was fantastic. Everyone is so friendly. Really the only people that don't speak much english are the security people at the front gate. Otherwise, if you don't speak English, you will be just fine. The front desk was helpful with directions, restaurant selections and making change for larger pesos. the front gate security and bellhops were great getting us taxis. The payment for taxis was very easy since it is all done by zones.

Overall, i would definintely come back to this place and recommend it to everyone. From the moment we got there to the moment we left, we were very happy with the resort...there were a few negatives (harder than i like bed, air conditioning wasn't great-but open the front door and sliding door for cross ventilation and it was fine, towels were an issue and they didn't want to give us clean ones-although they did once). But these were nothing that would turn us away. The location was great--directly bhind Soriano's and a walkway convenient to the grocery store and the bus stop. I read reviews about the place next door being noisy, but i wouldn't say it was a problem. They were having fun. It was loud til about 10pm, then quiet...it is an all-inclusive BTW...we didn't know that and enjoyed a few drinks there by mistake.

If you are planning a trip to Vallarta Torre, you will not be disappointed. I promise! I was a little sceptical before going, but can't say enough good about it! Enjoy your vacation and don't sweat the small stuff!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Purduegolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

My husband and I stayed in one of the penthouse suites at Vallarta Torre with my extended family (who own a time share) as a Christmas vacation this year. When we first walked into the penthouse, all of us were absolutely astounded by the beauty and luxury of the place. Marble floors, granite counters, huge living area (with giant doors that open onto a private deck with hot tub overlooking the ocean), gourmet kitchen and four absolutely gorgeously appointed and very spacious rooms. Each room has its own private bathroom and balcony facing different directions overlooking the city or the ocean. Each bathroom is huge with a different arrangement of facilities; one with an outdoor shower,one with two shower heads and a view of the mountains and yet another with a jacuzzi tub. Lots of towels were available (contrary to another review) and being in the penthouse we had private laundry facilities to quick dry towels after a long day at the beach.

As for location, Vallarta Torre is in the Marina District of PV and quite a bit removed from the downtown area. However, it is right in front of a giant supermarket (where you can stock up on the best avocados and beer for really cheap) and also very close to a bus stop for buses that take you straight downtown for 5 pesos.

The beach in front of the resort is very nice and has lots of chairs, loungers, mats, tables and sun shades available for use.

A few negatives about the resort for us were:
1. Noisy neighbours in the adjoining penthouse (just the luck of the draw) and a fairly loud resort next door (although the music did stop pretty early in the evenings).
2. The restaurant at the resort left much to be desired. We went there once for lunch and once for dinner. The menu is the same for both meals. The sandwiches, soups and salads are all pretty standard lunch fare, but the more dinner-specific entrees were not good at all. I had coconut shrimp, which were very tasty, but which were served with a tiny bit of bland rice and re-heated frozen veggies (my husband also had the same sides with his meal). I would skip the resort restaurant and either cook in the room or venture into downtown PV for some great mexican food.
3. The resort was predominantly occupied by older retirees. So, this is definitely not the spot to get your party on, but the silent evenings and nights were worth the lack of nightlife.

Bottom line: If you're able to book into the penthouse, it is well worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luv2travelscared2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

A friend gave us a week to use her condo (timeshare) at Vallarta Torre. We stayed Oct 9 -16, 2009. From check-in to check-out we were treated very well. The staff are all there to serve you! We had a one bedroom on the 7th floor. The condo is fully stocked with linens, towels (bath and beach), hair dryer in the bathroom, etc. The kitchen is a full kitchen with blender, microwave, coffee maker, etc. They even provide coffee filters and coffee for one pot of coffee. The only spices were salt and pepper.

We enjoyed our small but adequate balcony which had an ocean view. The furniture in the living room and bedroom was a little hard but I still rested and slept well.

We had a few meals at the resort, breakfast, lunch and dinner - All were good. We just liked going to different restaurants in the area to explore but the restaurants on the grounds are very convenient. We took advantage of the special at the cafe a few times for a cup of coffee and piece of cake for 38 pesos (about $3 US). We enjoyed walking to a restaurant La Terraza de La Abuela. The food was very good and the prices were a little cheaper. The restaurant is located behind the XOXO. You can also walk to the Super Market - Sorianna, located in front of the Vallarta Torre. In that shopping plaza they also had a Pizza restaurant that we did not go to.

We walked to Walmart to explore, the new shopping center, which also had restaurants to eat at and took advantage of the bus stop located there. The bus to the Marina or downtown was only 5.5 pesos, to Sayualita 20 pesos, Bucerias 11 pesos. We do speak Spanish so this mode of transportation was very easy and safe.

A small tent was located on the ground to get massages and facials.

Great location to travel in all directions - nice beach to relax and nice pool. We were very happy with our stay here.

ps - Most of the people are older 50+ so this is not a party place. But they are located next to the Crown Paradise which did play loud music on two nights and they also have a disco that you can walk to if you want to party. We wanted to rest so we were very happy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buscando_el_sol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

The staff is what makes us return! Rosie, Eduardo, Claudia, and Abraham are Vallarta Torre. They make us feel at home and special. Yes, the bed in the master bedroom may be a little hard...bring a feather bed like we do. WalMart is close.

The beach is clean, safe, and the margaritas are "da bomb!"

See ya next March. And yes, we bought ownership...who wouldn't want to hear "Welcome Home?"

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lreneespeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,904 reviews
1.5 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#18 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#39 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
1,837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#42 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,926 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#24 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallarta Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallarta Torre

Address: Paseo De Las Garzas #168, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £86 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Vallarta Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Torre Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing