We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to unwind in Puerto Vallarta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta Maria Cortez

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quinta Maria Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place to unwind in Puerto Vallarta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed there with friends and family this month. The place is great for couples or small groups -- rooms are neat and interesting, staff is very friendly and efficient, and the vibe is totally relaxing. Make sure you have a room with air conditioning if you can, as it can be very hot. The made to order breakfasts each day were wonderful -- only thing I would add is home cooked pastries or bread. Pool is small but convenient, and there are several swimming beaches close by. We walked to town several times (easy to do), or take a quick $5 taxi ride. I liked being close to old town, but not too close. I definitely would recommend Quinta Maria Cortez.

Room Tip: Lots of steps, so choose your room carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
144
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I was in here partly for vacation and also for my best friend's wedding. He stayed at the Now Amber Resort. The resort was clean and had lots of amenities, free food and drinks anytime, but it wasn't for me.

Quinta Maria Cortez was a home away from home. With large quites, romantic rooms, so much cultural decorations in the room that was styled nicely, great friendly serivce, etc.

The home feeling never went away as they all got to know you, asked about your day and your plans, remembered what you liked to eat. It was like living at home with parents that stayed out of your way when your girlfriend was over, hahaha.

We stayed in the Guadalupe suite, which was the bottom of the B&B. It lead right onto the beach. It was the best to have such peace and quiet, with only the sound of waves crashing on the rocks. For me compared to a clear empty beach the rocks added fun, character and a nice view. We had a great time climbing the rocks with the waves crashing over us, taking photos of the little fishes in the mini pools in the rocks, one pool was like a tub, great for the two of us to sit in and watch small fish swim around us. It was no wonder we saw wedding photographers on the weekend photographing couples here. It was so beautiful and romantic to take photos in this area.

One thing to note, this place is best for couples as it is very romantic, but not so great if you have trouble walking. There are a lot of stairs and if you tire easily, this may not be the best option. There's no tv in the room, but who needs tv on vacation. I watched tv for an hour at my friend's resort, what a waste of time... It's easy to get bored of the unlimited booze and food and the crowded pools/beach. Rather than spend for that unlimited laziness, I had a great time exploring the city and enjoying all the unique restaurants, going on boat tours, snorkeling, zip lining, seeing dolphins, etc.

We did so much in the city and in the water that at the end of the day, it was great to come back to our room which felt like we came home rather than to a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My mom and I stayed here for a week getaway. It was an awesome visit! Every room has an amazing view (we had the opportunity to stay in 3 of them). My favorite was the Maximiliano though. It had a small, air conditioned bedroom if you needed to cool off, but the rest of the space was all open air. There was a small kitchen area to make drinks, etc. I would definitely recommend bringing some drinks if you like to have a cocktail or two on vacation. Breakfast was fantastic each day and was served with a gorgeous view each morning. Jose was very helpful and friendly and always made sure we had just what we needed. We loved the roof-top patio for relaxing and the beach. There is a small pool, but it is perfect to cool off in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This quirky B and B is like staying at a friend's luxury villa. Every room is open-air and feels more like a suite. How relaxing to just enjoy the ocean view from a private balcony! Jose, Roberto and staff are gracious and friendly and go out of their way to take care of you. We had booked a smaller room as that was the only one available for the whole week, but at their insistence we were upgraded to two much larger and nicer rooms at no charge. Nice and quiet at night but just a 10 minute walk into town via the beach (or a quick bus ride). Delicious multi-course breakfasts under the palapa. This was our first stay but not our last!

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with ocean view balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I hesitate to write a review for this property because it is simply the best place to stay and I would like to keep it a secret. But it is so good i have to share. Jose and team take care of you, pamper you, wait on you and make the best breakfasts. The rooms are clean and well taken care of. Close enough to old town that you can walk in minutes, but far enough away that it is quiet. Great little restaurant down the beach with killer margaritas. Be careful, they sneak up on you! Book this place without any hesitation....and trust me, I'm picky.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is our second stay at the Quinta Maria. Our previous stay was 10 years ago. In between we stayed at many boutique hotels and high end condos in and around PV. Quinta Maria is the best of the bunch. The service and the friendliness of the staff are the best we have experienced. I can't say enough positive things about the Qunita Maria. The breakfasts are worth the price of admission.

There are many very cool places to stay in PV. What differentiates Quinta Maria is the location. It is perfect. Right on the beach. You can smell and hear the ocean, watch the dolphins jump out of the water, and watch the pelicans float by in formation. Yet the beach is secluded and private. You can walk along the beach into town in about 30 minutes.

HOW TO GET TO TOWN ON ROAD:
Rather than walk on the beach we like to walk on the road. You don't have to walk on the highway. Leaving Quinta Maria go left down Sagitario, when you get to the end stay left and walk along the beach walkway for about 200 yards, then right go up the steep road. This takes you straight onto Amapas Street in the town.

We stayed in the Maxi suite. It is easily roomy enough for 2 couples, and the views are amazing . We will definitely be back.

PS: All of the suites have a sound system and a mini-RCA jack that you can plug into your iPhone to listen to your favourite music. We didn't realize this until we had been there for a few days.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Maxi suite. It is easily roomy enough for 2 couples, and the views are amazing .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vancouver_BC_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Quinta Maria is the perfect getaway while being within a short bus ride to downtown. Better yet, you can navigate the sides streets and walk or best of all stroll along the beach (with a few rocky spots) to the most popular town beaches. While in your villa suite, you are completely at peace and quiet except for the mesmerizing sound of the surf - steps from your suite's veranda. Breakfast is included and is excellent or your can stroll south to one of the best Mexican restaurants in Vallarta, Playita, which sits on the beach. The entire staff, led by the most professional and helpful general manager are all kind and efficient. This is the only place I will ever stay the next times I'm in Vallarta.

Room Tip: There is no better fitness center than our twice daily walks to either the beach in the morning or d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#12 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
#31 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
#11 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Maria Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Maria Cortez

Property: Quinta Maria Cortez
Address: Calle Sagitario 126 | Playa Conchas Chinas, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Maria Cortez 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric All-Suite B&B in Mediterranean-style architecture, situated on a secluded beach. 7 Suites on 8 levels all with private bath, kitchenettes and great views along with whimsical curios and original art. A roof top terrace great for watching sunsets along with a terrace on the beach for soaking in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Quinta Maria Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Maria Cortez Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing