We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great 2 weeks at the casa”
Review of La Casa Descanso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa Descanso
Ranked #18 of 72 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My stay at the Casa Descanso was great, the beds are comfortable and the rooms very clean. The casa is located on a dead-end street, so there is no traffic noise and you can relax on the patio over-looking the street without smelling the cars exhaust. Just 2 corners from the heart old Puerto Vallarta and minutes from the beach, the location is ideal to relax or participate in the city life when you want to.

The owner Marco is great at organizing daily tours of little known local beaches and other popular spots in his small van. The small size of the tours permits you to spend as much time as wanted in any place without being pressed for time. The areas visited have more of a local feel to them, compared to the overly touristic feel of most organized tours.

Street vendors are a great way to eat locally without spending a lot of money, for 37 pesos (about 3.25$CAN) you get 2 very good quesadillas. Very good restaurants are also available very close by if you want to have a nice meal. Complete access to the kitchen enables you to keep food costs to a minimum by cooking your own food.

Security at night is not a problem even for the single traveller; police are very present, especially during local holidays. Night-time entertainment is available in bars and clubs are located on the boardwalk (malecon).

Staying at the casa is a great way to get away from the drunken crowds of all-inclusive resorts and really taste the life in Mexico.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martsky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for La Casa Descanso
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

Marco and Tania have really gone out of their way to create a comfortable, clean home away from home. I can't think of a single thing that I would complain about - the room, breakfast, common areas, and bathrooms were all provided thoughtfully and competently. I really can't say enough good things about my stay.

The casa is located on a quiet dead-end street - I would have given 5 stars for location if it were located just a bit closer to the sea.

Make your reservation early, though - or you may find they are booked solid.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cthulhu_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jose_Nadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginettehoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Deux chambres n'ont pas de fenêtre vers l'extérieur. Mais les ventilateurs au plafond aide p...
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre Romantica, silencieuse
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#60 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercurio
Hotel Mercurio
#57 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Descanso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Descanso

Address: Manuel M, Dieguez | 306, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico (Formerly El Casa Descanso)
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £41 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful rooms to rent in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico in the romantic zone . 5 minutes from the beach and a walking distance from all conveniences. 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen and dining area, living room and a balcony as well as washer and dryer. Fully furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Casa Descanso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing