We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and Not So Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ritmos Beach Cafe

Ritmos Beach Cafe
Ranked #283 of 981 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Beach club and restaurant directly on the beach at the south end of Los Muertos Beach. Right next door (just south of the Blue Chairs) Live music and great food & drink, with umbrellas and palapas. Excellent service. Much better than the Blue Chairs.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
98 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good and Not So Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Great atmosphere and very attentive service. Do make sure you tip well and the service remains consistently high.

Don't have high expectations for the food and you'll be ok. The food is just average beach grub and change are if you ordered something hot, it will be cold.

Overall a good experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xjpc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    41
    12
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beach food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This place is on the beach and next to the Blue Chairs so their crowd overflows into this huge beach area. In our case, we choose to sit here as do a lot of others as their service is better and the drinks and food are great for a beachside cafe. Ask for Alonso and sit on his part of the beach....he will be attentive and kind even though he does not always understand our English. He works hard to get your order right and apologized profusely for a mistake he made with our hamburger order. He even had the chef make a mushroom sauce that was advertised in the menu! We tried the Tex Mex Bowl with Chicken, Plain Nachos and Nachos with Chicken, and several burgers. Each was terrific! The drinks are good too! The only downside to this place is that they do not accept credit cards. But, the bathrooms are clean and well maintained and the service is good so we will always sit here during our return trips. Thank you for making this rainy trip a bit more enjoyable with your kindness!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Value + Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great no frills yummy food. Homestyle type cooking with very reasonable prices for the Zona Romantica area. Great to stop in for a quick and inexpensive bite to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RandRloveParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Overall great experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I like going to Ritmos (Green chairs) because it is typically less crowded than Blue Chairs, the drinks are better (especially the Chi-Chi's), the food is ok with the TexMex bowl being the best. Most times the service is fairly fast and courteous. It is true that near the end of the afternoon, the wait staff seem to take a break and it can be difficult to find them to pay for your bill. I read through a few reviews that mentioned bad service. I think the people should keep in mind that these guys are working on a beach in extreme heat with some very demanding clients.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“My favorite area on the gay beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

"Green Chairs" is immediately adjacent to Blue Chairs. I have been to both several times but I prefer green. Service has always been good to great and they have some healthier options. You can find more than fried food and liquor. The veggie sandwich is great, the fruit plate is terrific value, and various licuadas can be made lighter and very refreshing. Basically Ritmos has a somewhat funkier vibe with less attitude than its more famous neighbor. Go green, tip well, stare out at the ocean and mountains behind, and remember how lucky you are to be in this tropical paradise having servers bring you refreshments of your choice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeYswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ritmos Beach Cafe also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Ritmos Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing