We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Ranked #11 of 74 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Aside from the location near the beach and the Malecon, there are much better lodging options in PV. Our room was on the street side, 2nd floor and the traffic noise was deafening. The room was quite tiny. The pool was tiny and basically a wading pool...and on the roof; with no view. All areas were quite clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. However, they have no ice, no cups in the bath, no coffee and we had to leave our driver's license to get a beach towel. We did not eat in the little restaurant instead choosing to eat breakfast at the Hotel Pescador across the street (wonderful). The pillows were huge and almost as hard as the mattresses. Not comfortable at all. Air conditioning was quite good.

Room Tip: insist on a room away from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhoward48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We appreciate the time you took to evaluate us. We would've loved for you to try our restaurant, our buffet is quite popular among our guests and we always get very good feedback. We remodeled a traditional Puerto Vallarta hotel so rooms are not as big as in other properties but they are cozy and clean. Glad you enjoyed our great air conditioning :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    72
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
31
65
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hotel is in the center of Old Puerto Vallarta, it is very close to the beach, you can actually see the beach from the lobby! This hotel is walking distance to the Malecon and other great places to eat and shop. A supermarket is directly across the street. I would definitely consider staying at this hotel on my next trip to PV.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sg300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
We are indeed very well located and we are mor than happy to read you'll be considering to stay with us! This is you home away from home and we'd love to have you back! Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week and overall would have been a pleasant stay if not for the cockroach infestation.

Pros: right in the heart of downtown with the malecon and many restaurants very nearby. The room was modern and wifi connection worked in the room the majority of time.
Cons: Cockroaches in room. Infested our luggages and some made it back home with us. Pool pretty small and not really situated for lounging around.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicoz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We apologize for this major inconvenience. Please know we are doing everything in our power to solve the problem, which is not ours but our neighbor's. We try to keep it under control by fumigating as often as it is healthy to do so. We are glad to read you liked our location and our rooms. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuminestown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The hotel was spot on, good location friendly staff, very clean and cud do anything u want, perfect location for going out partying!!!!! I was there for 3 weeks and the only down fall was the bed wasent the comfiest, but that didn't really matter as I was bingod most the trip! All in all ad recommend it!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivy88m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
When we read your review, we couldn't think or feel anything more but the tons of fun you just had in our lovely Puerto Vallarta and staying with us! We thank you for the moment and sure hope to have you around soon enough!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Aright I'll start by writing the pros of this hotel. Portonovo is a small modern hotel and the pictures online are pretty accurate. (Except for the tons of roaches everywhere) Its also in a GREAT location. Close to the malecon, the grocery store, oxxo, and pretty much anything you'd need is in a 5 min walk. The staff is friendly and usually helpful also.
The cons: THERE IS ROACHES EVERYWHERE. I wake up, there's a cockroach next to my face. I walk around, I step on 10 roaches. I go to the bathroom, roaches are there to join. It's unfortunate cause any food I bring in to my room, they get into it. As well as all my clothes :/ the room also has an awful musty moldy stench.
Also! Don't count on using the mini gym, bar, or restaurant... They're all jokes. The gym equipment will probably fall apart if you use it for more than 3 min (I'm assuming it's mostly for looks). I've been here for about 6 days already and have not ONCE seen the bar open, nor the restaurant. And the wifi is preeeetty horrible :/
I miiiiight have recommended this hotel to a friend if it wasn't due to all the cockroaches, moldy smell, and pretty rusty gym equipment (if they're into fitness). But due to those main things, I'd say this hotel was a no go.
-From the girl who hates sleeping with roaches.

Room Tip: If you're going to choose a room get one with a balcony so you can dry your clothes from the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
We understand how frustrating seeing roaches must've been for you, we feel the same way. It is because of that, that we are inviting our neighbor hotel to talk about this issue because, the problem starts there. We are recommending them some pest control providers and giving them many options to prevent the problem from happening. We were not aware that our gym was not satisfying to some guests but, we are open to suggestions and will consider to widen & improve our equipment. Also, the bar is open from Tuesday to Sunday from 5 to 10 PM and the restaurant from Tuesday to Sunday from 7 AM to 3 PM. As per the wireless signal, we recently installed new antennas so the signal is better and stronger. Sometimes it reboots, but then goes back to normally working. We are very sorry that our stay was not the best and sincerely apologize for all inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay. I really enjoy it! Walking distance to everything. (restaurants, bars, Malecon, etc. Staff is friendly and willing to help. Had a problem with my reservation and they fix the issue on the spot. Transportation is cheap. Cant wait to go back. THANKS

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monaufgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your nice review! We are waiting for you to come back! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Hotel Portonovo is a small, clean, modern hotel which met all my expectations. I was not looking for a big resort hotel. Portonovo is located in Centro district, the old downtown away from fast food restaurants and glitzy hotels. It is a 3 minute walk to the beach and about ten minutes to the Malecon. There are plenty of restaurants serving authentic Mexican and several taco stands for a late night snacks. And there is a large supermarket down the street. The hotel itself has a restaurant which serves breakfast and lunch. There is a rooftop pool, small, but perfect for cooling off at the end of the day. The hotel provides 3 computers in the lobby and the wi-fi worked well. One complaint one reviewer had was noise. Keep in mind the hotel is located DOWNTOWN, so expect some traffic noise. But ask for a room on the west side which faces a quieter street. It was my first time in PV, so I reserved a shuttle. Next time I won't because it was quite a bit more expensive than a taxi. Just hop on one of the many yellow cabs. One way fare about 100-120 pesos. Only complaint: no ice offered at the hotel. I can live without a fridge in the room, but I'd still like to have access to ice. Mexico is a hot place! Having ice for drinks would be a big plus.

Room Tip: For a quieter room, ask for a room on the west side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaggerDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Reading your review was just delightful! We appreciate guests like you. We encourage visitors to explore Puerto Vallarta, it's magic, charm and of course, wild side! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we know you got the most out of your visit, but please, come back soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#53 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Pescador
El Pescador
#66 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#68 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#32 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portonovo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Property: Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Address: Avenida Mexico # 1125 | Colonia 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portonovo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Puerto Vallarta’s downtown, three small blocks away from the Famous Malecon! This totally new 45 mid-luxury rooms welcomes all kind of guests, especially those traveling on a budget but without willing to sacrifice comfort, location and style. We provide a wonderful downtown experience for we try to pamper and make all of our guests stay unique. We attend their needs and provide wonderful service. For that, all of our guests leave feeling happy and they keep coming back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Portonovo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing