We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
4
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue chairs perfect location within walking distance minute walk lounge chairs vrbo muertos units tiles condo gym wifi floor sunset malecon taxi property
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We found a listing on VRBO for one of the units here. If I were to rate the property itself, it'd be a 4 star. But the unit we stayed in, it's definitely a strong and healthy 5. I wish we could do a half star rating, Yelp!

LOCATION:
The building is located on Ampas Street with garage parking on Malecon Street. Simple taxi directions would be to say "next to the Blue Chairs Resort".

FACILITIES:
The reception desk is located on floor 4, which is also the Ampas Street gate entry.

A tiny "gym" is accessible through the reception area, and featured a treadmill, two bikes, free weights, and some machine weights.

The decent-sized pool is located on the second floor. It has a shallow sitting area on one end complete with jets, but doubt it's a hot tub. Lounge chairs were of better quality and not the kind with those vinyl/plastic strip supports. Covered tables available. No views or ambiance from here.

THE CONDO:
We were in one of the penthouses on the 7th floor, directly ocean front. Each room was painted in a different color, and boasted high ceilings, tiles, and stones.

The views were magnificent as soon as we walked in. The sound of the crashing waves were so soothing from the master bedroom, living room, and dining room which all shared one oversized balcony, complete with a small dining table, 2 sofa chairs, a hot tub that we never used, and 2 balcony chairs.

The living room had a comfy sofa and humongous flat TV which we never turned on once! WiFi was strongest here.

The gourmet kitchen had a six burner stove with hood ventilation, full-sized refrigerator, and all the luxuries of a normal home. A stackable washer & dryer was tucked away in a housekeeping area.

The master bedroom was huge! The king bed was possibly a memory foam-type and very comfortable. Closet space was adequate and included a digital safe. Another ginormous flat TV was in here as well.

The master bathroom was just as gargantuan, with separate basins, water closet with bidet, a big 2-person shower with shower heads on either end, good water pressure, lots of hot water, and an ocean view like nothing I've ever experienced while bathing.

The two additional bedrooms weren't anything to sneer at either. Both were spacious and included full bathrooms.

5 separate ductless a/c units kept the kitchen, living/dining room, and the 3 bedrooms cool.

We had twice-weekly housekeeping service. Boy, do I wish I had that back home.

The building felt very secure with 2 keys required for access.

OVERALL:
Conveniently located, safe, clean, and a definite return! Hopefully the same unit will be available next year.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MauiWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

This used to be a great place to stay with friends and family. It's still nice, but if your straight you'll need to walk to the right when you hit the beach. In front and to the left is populated by a great amount of gay men. Guys are nice, but it's in your face since the hotel Blue Chairs, next to One Beach, has become a gay destination in Puerto Vallarta. The area is old town-romantic zone. However it is what you make it since the location on the beach is fantastic! Nice sands,venders and good food.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Travelgonecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

It's the perfect spot right on Las Muertos beach, two buildings down from Blue Chairs. Small kitchens are not well equipped but good enough. Washer dryers in each unit. Corner units are amazing and upgraded. Book early and pay extra for ocean view. Safe and gated. Perfect if you want quiet but close to the gay scene, or if straight, close walking to la palapa, and old town. The one beds are small but comfortable enough and you are here to sit in the room. Far cheaper than the luxe resorts but with nice staff and decent amenities. They need to do a little cosmetic on the elevator and grounds but overall it's a good value.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

If you're looking to stay right in the middle where everything happens in Vallarta, this is the best option. Located right at the Los Muertos Beach, which is THE gay beach to hang out and make friends!

Rooms are very spacious, very nice. Equipped kitchen, dryer and washer.

Rooms/Suites in the front building have a beautiful view, and have an elevator. Rooms in the back building do not have an elevator (if you are on the top floor, in the back building, you're screwd!), and those do not have a view but the streets and hotels behind, and they tend to be very noisy. In my case there was a construction going on in the back, and they started working every day early in the morning... so it was impossible to sleep in. Wi-fi was terrible the whole NYE week too.

You can bring as many people as you want to your room at any time, no extra charge ... so that comes in handy, especially, due to the location... ;)

Room Tip: Best views are in the front building only, they've got elevator unlike the others in the back.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MarvelousMarvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

I must begin this review by saying that I did not STAY at this establishment, but some family did and my husband and I ended up spending a lot of time there. So my critiques are observational and not based on value, however I can contribute some opinions and helpful tips.

Opinions:

Great place to stay! Fantastic location, convenience, safety and services. Prompt, friendly staff. Lots of room in the sun by the pool, and a few short steps to the ocean. Close to hiking areas, water sport rentals, shopping, restaurants & bars (beach front and strip), and convenience stores. We heard zero complaints from our family that stayed there.

Inconveniences would be the lack of large grocery or department stores, fresh markets, or taco stands in the area. Restaurants are everywhere but it's a bit of a hike to street food, and I would recommend planning for a taxi ride to fill your kitchenettes or kitchens.
It is also at least a 15 minute walk to the closest bus stops (One Beach Street is a bit further south than the last stops on the local routes.)

Tips

1. First of all- do not get confused by the name. It is NOT the address! As far as I know 'Beach' street does not exist. So in order to tell your taxi driver how to get there you would say: Calle Malecon numero uno.

2. Wander around and get to know your exit/pool floors. Front exit=4th floor. Front desk=3rd floor. Pool, Wifi courtyard & rear gate exit=2nd floor. Garage & street level exit=1st floor. I think I got that right. It's confusing.

3. Wifi is on the pool floor only. In the central courtyard only. Mostly in the sunshine that can make your screens tough to see. Can be inconvenient if you depend on your devices at all.

4. When your feet or shoes are at all wet, the pool area and hallways are SLIP-PER-Y!!! A common danger with tiled patios in PV, but be aware.

5. Need the beach? Exit on the first floor through the garage (Or the 2nd floor through the pool gate). It is literally on the other side of the street.

6. Like to hike? Hit the beach and head south. It looks like it ends right away but you will find a hidden sort of staircase in the cliff. Use the staircase to climb over and you can walk the beach for miles over rocky areas, fine sand and pebble sand. Try to go on a low tide day and bring good shoes, water, and a camera. You will run into a restaurant at some point (which is awesome). You can go even further if you walk through and take the stairs down to the beach.

7. The areas that you find all the great shopping, restaurants and galleries is very close by. Exit on the east side (courtyard) from the 4th floor and walk north. Head inland a block when you hit the end of the street and you will run into Olas Altas (which eventually turns into the Malecon). That street will eventually hit the intersection at Basilio Badillo where you can walk in any direction you want for anything you need. (You may actually find this walk easier along the shore- there is a convenient concrete path most of the way, and less ups and downs that you will find along the cobblestoned streets.)

8. If you follow that little concrete path, once you hit the end you will see blue and yellow chairs ahead of you. This is the best service vs. quality vs. value beach restaurant you will find. It is called La Caretta. They close near sunset.

9. The higher you stay, the better the view. And the view is on the west side. A big ol building on the other side of the street blocks the horizon on the lower floors. However! A west side pool floor room is quite convenient, as the balconies are more like patios to the pool deck. If you love the sound of ocean waves or to photograph the sunset this is the side you want too.

10. Need groceries and supplies for your stay? Hop in a taxi and ask them to take you to Ley (closest) Mega, or Soriana. Much closer options than Walmart, Sam's or Costco. You'll find anything you need at either of them from produce to appliances. If you are more adventurous Farmacia Guadalajara will meet most of your grocery needs, and there is a fresh produce shop across the street (look for the orange arches). Selection is limited at both stores but gets you what you need. This is also where you will find the closest 'street food' area.

Room Tip: West side balconies for the best view. The higher up the better
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kami D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews