We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing”
Review of Lindo Mar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindo Mar Resort
Ranked #48 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lindo Mar is a small resort that offers a humble, authentic Mexican feeling. The rooms are clean and kept up well. The furniture is a little worn, but I guess that's to be expected with so many guests. The view and sound of the ocean from the balcony was wonderful and very relaxing. I really don't have anything bad to say about the place. Other than the creepy-crawlers on our first night (we purchased spray at the local Oxo to solve that problem), things were pretty good.

Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. There were a few that didn't speak/acknowledge the guests, but they were few and far between.

The food at the restaurant is average. Not great, but definitely not horrible. We preferred going to the Malecon area for dinner anyway. The staff at the restaurant was great. Very attentive and friendly. They greeted us by name and remembered what we liked to drink during happy hour. It was also great that the restaurant offered 2 happy hours. The drinks were kind of strong but tasty.

We spent most of our time away from the hotel. We enjoyed dinner at Pipi's (our favorite place - we frequented this place on our last trip), Tino's Mariscos, El Andariego and El Palomar de los Gonzales (a little pricey, but very romantic. Great view of the city). We enjoyed the Rhythms of the Night and just general sight seeing.

Although Lindo Mar was very nice, we probably wouldn't stay here for our 3rd visit to Puerto Vallarta. It was a little far from the Malecon and required taking a taxi everywhere we went. It's nothing against Lindo Mar. As I stated earlier, the hotel was very nice - great view and very relaxing. We just prefer being within walking distance of the Malecon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Lindo Mar. Of course, we wish you would always stay with us but we understand your desire to be close to the malecon. If you visit us in the future, use the local bus service to get downtown. It costs less than $1.00 and will let you experience another aspect of the local culture. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    62
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
67
109
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The staff is very rude and not helpful, especially Ivan, who is in charge of the outside area (swimming pool and beach beds). Hope the management takes better care of the tourists that visit them in Puerto Vallarta.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Artemisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Needless to say, we are sorry you were disappointed in your stay at Lindo Mar. As you can see by the many positive comments on TripAdvisor, your experience is unique. We find that a comment such as yours is often the result of a problem that was not handled well. If that was the case, we might have left you with a better opinion of us if you had reported it to management. We hope you’ll give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I must say that this is one of the best and most enjoyable hotels I have ever
stayed at.

The place is beautiful and the staff makes you feel comfortable and welcomed.
This place is on my number one list to stay in Puerto Vallarta. I have stayed at
other resorts with all inclusive packages and all, but nothing compared to this place. I
highly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants peace and relaxation. On this stay I was traveling with my family and was looking for the best place to enjoy the beach and to be relaxed. This place filled all my expectations and more. The condo room that I got had two bedrooms making this perfect for my two kids and me and the wife. It also had a fully functional kitchen with refrigerator and clean purified water. The balcony gives every room excellent view to the pool and beach. This is my place to stay when I get back to Vallarta in a couple of months.

Room Tip: All of them are perfect as all get balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are very pleased to read that your family enjoyed the two-bedroom unit with balcony overlooking the ocean. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lindo Mar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have driven past the Lindo Mar for a few years and never looked twice. When I looked it up on the website I was so so in what I felt but not discouraged about staying there. We have and our friends have timeshares that would allow us to stay there at our timeshare prices. Our friends received a bonus with their timeshare and we didn't so we looked around and decided to stay here. We were assigned the PENTHOUSE!!! It was a three bedroom suite and each bedroom had it's own bathroom .... so nice!!! We had a group of 6 (3 couples) so this worked out perfectly. The Balcony is really big and you can see forever over the bay and the beautiful houses and other hotels. The balcony also has a little spa but it wouldn't fill properly ... a little leak so we took advantage of the spa that was next to the pool ... very nice. The Staff were all amazing and helped us in every way they could and the meals we had there were delicious and prepared exactly as we requested. They open the restaurant to outsiders on the weekends which didn't bother us in any way. We were accommodated ahead of them so we didn't have to wait. When we first got there and checked in we were hot and sticky so decided to put on our suits and go for a quick dip. We approached the water carefully as anyone would because it is the ocean after all. MUCH to our surprise the water was like bathwater!!! Needless to say we stayed in the water until it was dark outside! There is air conditioning in each room and living area. The kitchen has everything you need to cook any of your meals ... but why cook when you can go downstairs for a super meal at a great price. We also received a percentage off our meals because we were timeshare holders. There are no big stores around so you have to either take a taxi or cross the street and catch the bus which comes every 15 minutes. We did both and would do either again. When we got off the plane and hired a taxi to the resort we were able to talk our driver into stopping at the Mega Mart so we could pick up some groceries. He was awesome and very informative about PV. We tipped him handsomely but I don't really think he expected a tip for stopping at the store. We did hire a private driver to show us around PV. Check with the concierge for a driver. I believe her name was Maria. She is Amazing and will help you with anything you need. We have been going to PV since 2000 but this was the first visit to PV and to Mexico. We were able to take them to several of our favorite places to eat and they enjoyed each one we ate at. We did go on the Rivers of the Night cruise which I had been on the year before and they loved it!!!! The prices for that cruise have gone up dramatically because it's so popular right now. There was only one thing that we didn't particularly care for was the one bedroom next to the elevator. You could hear the elevator going all night which was disturbing ... hopefully they can figure out a way to insulate it to keep the noise down. It took us the first night to figure out what the noise was. I can't say enough about this resort except I was truly happy deciding to stay there and will do it again!!!

Room Tip: If you are traveling in a large group like we were I'd suggest staying in the Penthouse. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tekivik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience staying in our Penthouse. We truly enjoyed your review and we are glad that your group of 6 had a wonderful time. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lindo Mar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We exchanged our week with Interval International for a week at the Lindo Mar.I have read only good things about it,they were right.This place is small,46 rooms(I think).Each decorated in "old Mexican style".Everything you need is there in the fully appointed kitchen,from spoons & knives to a blender to coffee maker and everything inbetween.The staff is super friendly and will to help with any questions you might have.It is on a small beach with some outcropping rocks,great for pictures and OK for snorkeling(they rent gear for 65 pesos/per hour)It is a few miles south of town,but taxis are readily available for cheap.Also the bus stop is about 50-75 yards up the road.We had a very good experience here and are looking forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and 4-star review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the room accommodations, friendly staff, and location of Lindo Mar. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next exchange from Interval!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

As a new owner who purchased sight unseen, I was plesently surprised with the natural beauty at Lindo Mar. Everyone was pleasant, the food was delicious and the rooms were immaculate! Ten years going to PV and now I have my home away from home!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean front so there is no bad room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sjdechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Welcome to the Lindo Mar family! We are so happy to have you as an owner and it is great to hear you enjoyed your first stay with us. We hope to provide you with wonderful vacations for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuolumne, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

First, a disclosure...we own 3 weeks at Lindo Mar, from about 2/15 to about 3/8 every year. That being said, we can honestly say that Lindo Mar provides an absolutely amazing experience as long as you are not looking for the kind of sleek,impersonal, American-style highrise hotel that can be found elsewhere in Vallarta.

Lindo Mar is small -- 44 rooms total. It is located right on the beach at the edge of Banderas Bay about 5 minutes south of old Puerto Vallarta. It is in the Mexican style, with lots of tile, bright colors and real charm -- no chrome or ultra-modern here. Having a really excellent beachfront restaurant (La Playita) right there is wonderfully convenient and yet Lindo Mar is so close to many of PV"s great restaurants that the combination of "eating in and eating out" is a real plus. The beach is beautiful with rocks and sand, and the sound of the surf is a treat.

But the best thing is the people of Lindo Mar. They are not the impersonal staff that one often finds in large hotels -- they are our friends for 3 weeks every year. Nearly all of the managers, waiters, reception staff, security people, and even the maids have been there for MANY years, so we arrive each year to greet and be greeted by old friends. They provide first class service in a wonderfully welcoming way -- and almost everyone speaks pretty good English.

Getting to town is easy from Lindo Mar -- a short, inexpensive cab ride or (even better for us) an easy bus ride for 8 pesos. So we can go to the center of PV to eat or shop or stroll the malecon or just prowl the streets, or spend the day at Lindo Mar, or ask the wonderful Lindo Mar concierge Maria Elena to help arrange outings or help with any need.

We love Lindo Mar. It may not be for everyone but this kind of smaller, friendly and personal and breathtakingly beautiful place fits us to a "T".

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Billkim607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. We're so happy to have you as an owner and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
#32 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#80 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#38 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#7 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#11 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
706 reviews
1.0 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#63 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindo Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindo Mar Resort

Property: Lindo Mar Resort
Address: K 2.5 Carretera a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 44800, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lindo Mar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled right on Conchas Chinas Beach in the exclusive southern section of Puerto Vallarta, Lindo Mar is the perfect escape. Enjoy ocean views from your one-, two- or three-bedroom condominium suite, complete with a full kitchen, cable television, maid service and air conditioning to cool off after a relaxing day on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Lindo Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindo Mar Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Lindo Mar Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing