We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Vallarta”
Review of Vallartasol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vallartasol Hotel
Ranked #87 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We recently had a couple of extra nights in PV before we came home and decided to check out the Vallartasol Hotel. What a great little place! It is older and basic but the rooms are nice and airy with two beds and a bathroom. For an extra $20 a night you can get a balcony that includes a kitchen area. The sink, fridge, stove and counter area is on the balcony along with a huge table and chairs. It was very pleasant to sit out there and have a drink. We didn't actually use the kitchen except for the fridge and sink but the couple next to us stay there for 2 months and say it is quite adequate for their needs! The pool area was nice and clean and we enjoyed swimming in the pool. They were in the process of putting in a little mini spa area with a massage table while we were there. They serve breakfast which was included in our room price and it was limited but was adequate for what we wanted. Water coolers are on every floor so you don't have to go out and by bottled water. It was just off the main road and was quiet. But also close to lots of little local restaurants and close to the bus stops. We would definately stay there again in the future as you can get weekly and monthly rates.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room since it has the nice balconys with a kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gayle6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2007

My cousin and I stayed three nights here in March. Great location and facilities. It was worth the extra $10 for the balcony and kitchenette. The rooms and pool were clean. Having a concierge and convenience store in the lobby was an unexpected surprise. The onsite restaurant was inexpensive and good. It served breakfast and lunch until 5pm. Easy beach access was across a busy street. A large grocery store was a few blocks towards town. 50 Cents got us to Centro in minutes. This is a nice off beach motel style destination.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dmpruitt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2006

We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this place was for the price we paid for it. The rooms were kept super clean and the gorgeous pool area was constantly being manicured and cleaned. Most of the rooms have a pool view. Location is also excellent. Beach access across the street as well as a couple of massive department stores within walking distance. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a cheap trip.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Givmesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2005

Our Puerto Vallarta, Mexico trip 10/31/05 to 11/04/05. We took the Vallarta Sol day trip, which is a 6-8 hour, from hotel & back trip. Which includes an excellent ride around the bay of the mountains. All inclusive drinks, fruit, snacks... fun crew. First stop, rock formations in the water where you can snorkel thru the caves that are formed in them. The water is COLD year round in Puerto Vallarta, because it's the Pacific. It's in the same hemisphere as Hawaii. The water varies from dark blue, to dark green. We saw a giant manta ray from our table on the top deck. This is not like the water in the Carribean. It's not clear, and it's not warm, in MOST places. 2nd stop, a remote beach where we had lunch and swam. (You have to buy year alcohol when you're off the boat.) Water taxi's take you to the shore from the boat. 3rd & last stop, the horse back ride up the mountains where they filmed the waterfall scene in the movie Predator. We decided to 'hike' it down instead of taking our horses. We should have taken the horses... it's along way down, and your completely exhausted when you get to the beach. All in all, it's a great day trip for the money. We bought this trip for half-price from a guy selling it on the beach, instead of going thru the hotel. The whales start migrating around April. This would be a cool trip to take during that time. For the money you can't beat this trip. If your going for the snorkeling try a different trip. We heard from others that they were taken to several different beaches, and the snorkeling was good. The water is cold no matter where you go. =)

9  Thank MeAMeandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2004

I stayed at the Vallarta Sol for one night on 6/20/04. I made a reservation online the same day and had no problem. I did call ahead to let them know I would be arriving late, which was no problem.

Got to the hotel about midnight and was greeted by a friendly guy. My room was great--very large, stove, fridge, barstools, and very clean. AC worked great and it was quiet. Clean bathroom. Not much hot water in the shower, but that wasn't a big concern for me.

This hotel is a traditional, Mexican-style place, so it's probably not for those who want a resort experience. Nice pool area and interior courtyard. I was up early the next morning and the manager told me about buses and transportation, again very friendly. Be prepared to speak spanish at this hotel.

I would definitely return to this hotel. I wish I had more time to check out the pool and some of the surrounding area. This hotel is located on the main road in PV, and is not on the beach.

A great place to stay if you are looking for good value and a more Mexican-style experience.

29  Thank scrappy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank matteo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Juluo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Hacienda de Vallarta Las Glorias
Hacienda de Vallarta Las Glorias
#86 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
40 reviews
8.1 mi away
Casa Iguana Hotel
Casa Iguana Hotel
#80 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and Family Suites
Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and ...
#64 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel AMG
Hotel AMG
#83 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3 reviews
2.5 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#60 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
326 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Hotel Villa Del Mar
#96 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallartasol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallartasol Hotel

Address: Calle Niza No. 139, Puerto Vallarta 48310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £34 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vallartasol Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vallartasol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallartasol Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing