We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This fine, small hotel and staff are a wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #48 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“This fine, small hotel and staff are a wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

The Hotel Catedral Vallarta and its great staff are a wow! Seriously. My wife and I stayed in a Penthouse Room (#50, aka Amorcito Corazon) in early March 2011. All rooms are named after songs, are all styled differently and colorfully, and are kept immaculately clean. We looked into several. Ours was very spacious and had a small kitchenette that we never used except for keeping bottles of water in the 'fridge. There was plenty of closet space, a fan over the bed, and a large flat-screen tv with loads of good channels in Spanish and English.

The room also had a very modern air conditioner that we hardly had to use, but that worked with a remote for accurate temperature control. The linens are crisp, changed daily and the mattresses are cushy, comfortable. We had a large walk-in shower in a large tiled bathroom.The hotel also offered us a mobile phone to use that dialed the hotel's front desk when we were out and about, or to use as a room phone. Outside calls would be extra.

Our room's triple wide doors disclosed a large balcony overlooked the street below and we could see the ocean down one way and the hills to the other. The widows are well shaded. Out our room door, we could see the hotel's courtyard below, and we could see the Catedral a couple of short blocks away with its beautiful clocks and steeple that was lighted at night. The Cathedral bells toll the hours. Quite a sound and sight at all times. The courtyard has a couple of umbrellaed tables with chairs and loads of plants and a fountain. On the second level there is a comfortable reading area that overlooks the courtyard. Each day started in the courtyard with free, good, strong coffee or teas plus cookies. We also saw their available (for 75 pesos),ample breakfast of fresh fruits, cereals and more.

The hotel was completely renovated a year ago and has new everything. The housing staff are hard workers and the hotel sparkles. The north bus stops a block away and 6 pesos will take you almost anywhere. Buses are never more than a few minutes apart. (Destinations are listed on the front windows).

Carlos and his wife, Liney, are the director and decorator and are available daily and at many hours. They have assembled a very colorful assortment of decorative pieces from the main craft areas of Mexico (and are available for sale, if you just can't bear to part with something).

The hotel fronts on two commercial streets that are convenient but not too busy. The hotel is perfectly situated to everything for a real Puerto Vallarta experience. The lively Malecon with its artists, vendors, ocean vista and strange statues is two short blocks away. The hotel has a relationship with beach club/restaurant that is about a 15 min. stroll along the Malecon, on the best beach. (Servers there do work for tips and we let them know our gratitude, as we did with all the hotel staff.)

The front desk staff are talented, knowledgeable and friendly. They will easily point you to good restaurants that dot the area, a place to have laundry done, $$ changed, or help you to secure tours and taxis. When we returned after our times out, I always called out "We're home" because it truly felt like that.

We had a wonderful 9 days in friendly and safe Puerto Vallarta. Would go back to Hotel Catedral Vallarta in a heart beat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank onegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    118
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
49
158
55
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

carols is cheerful, responsive, and LOVELY!
this is a great location to explore all of puerto vallarta AND towns to the north and south...
:0)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bumblebbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

We enjoyed very much staying in this wonderful hotel. The rooms are decorated extremly tastful and the staff was very friendly. The ambience is "family style", as the hotel is smal and the owner of the hotel was availble more or less every day. The hotel is perfectly located to do everything you want: nice beach is close, bus stop around the corner, stores and restaurants are all very close. We just love the place! It is very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bumpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
on the road
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

Felt to be family and enjoyed the 7 nites. Carlos and all staff helpful, bilingual. ish they'd told us kitchenettes available as we spent TOO mch $$ dining in PV. Nice to walk to beach, Malecon (a must at nite}, shopping and local busses. Another good point is no one trying to sell timeshares here.....coffee & cookies in am.....

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mamamija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

We had a great stay at Hotel Catedral during Feb. 2011. The hotel is well located right in DownTown Puerto Vallarta, but is just off the main streets so it is quiet at night. Within walking distance to many good restaurants, the beach, and the Malecon. The buses can take you anywhere else you need to go ( we visited Mismaloya, the Marina area, and Sayulita).
Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean and fresh bottles of drinking water daily. Internet available for guest use. Only criticism was that hot water took a while to arrive ...... small price to pay for a nice hotel, at a reasonable price, in a great location.

Muchas Gracias Hotel Catedral !!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KKCEllston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAMFORD
Level Contributor
187 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

Our stay at Hotel Catedral was "Perfecto". Carlos and his staff provide incredibly friendly, attentive service. They are very knowledgeable and helpful, with many suggestions and tips on what to do and see in and around Vallarta. The property itself, recently renovated and wonderfully decorated in vibrant colors, is meticulously clean. We opted for the penthouse suite, named "En el mar, la vida es mas sabrosa", and found it quite comfortable. The rooms are spacious, and each room was hung with original works of art by local Fine Artists.
We also opted for the Continental breakfast: Toast w/ butter& jam, cookies, muffins, rolls, cereal, granola, yogurt, fresh fruit (apples, bananas, papaya, pineapple, melon, kiwi) , coffee, juice, tea... Very generous.
Hotel Catedral, and it's wonderful, friendly staff, was itself a great part of our trip to Vallarta. I'm very impressed!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ofglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zillah, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Catedral in Puerto Vallarta. Our room was sunny and bright and beautifully decorated, and the cleaning staff kept it immaculately clean, with clean sheets and towels every day. The front desk staff members were always friendly and helpful, and saw to any requests we made immediately. We would definitely stay there again. We would perhaps choose a different room next time that did not have a window which opened to the bus-line side of the street, as vehicle noise at times was quite loud. Otherwise, a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pablo037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#37 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#31 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#26 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#57 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#79 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel

Property: Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Hidalgo Centro 166 | Between Libertad st. y Agustín Rodríguez st., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated chicly in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, just two blocks from the main square, the "Our Lady of Guadalupe" Parrish and the "Malecon" beach boardwalk Hotel Catedral Vallarta is surrounded by Restaurants, Bars, Art Galleries and Boutiques. Locally called “the latest jewel among Downtown Boutique properties”, Hotel Catedral Vallarta combines stylish furnishings with Mexican traditional charm and character. Each room is uniquely and individually decorated, exuding a blend of old Mexican elegance, with contemporary touches, with each room named after a classic Mexican song. Forged iron gates, terracotta columns, handcrafted railings, palms, flowers, live contrasting colors and textures create all together a charming, fresh and clean atmosphere. Complimentary Beach Club Access (walking distance), Free Wi-fi, daily Coffee and Tea service 7 am - 11 am, Pillows Menu, Hand made Soaps and eco-friendly amenities.The hotel's twenty-one rooms are sumptuous and evocative hideaways, boasting numerous modern conveniences and upscale amenities, such as complimentary wireless Internet access, large HD flat screen televisions, seventy-two television channels, in-room safety security box, the latest (and extremely quiet) AC system, cellular phones, business center, library and more. Through its halls and stairs, as in every room, you will always find a detail that evoques Mexico. Hand made flowers, hammered tin handcrafts from Guanajuato, original paintings, sculptures, blown glass lamps from the State of Jalisco, Papier-mâché dolls from Michoacán, textiles from Oaxaca, Religious art from Guerrero, and more. The relaxing intimacy at the property is enhanced by traditional Mexican furniture, softened with hand embroidered cushions from different regions of Mexico, te best of all, Everything is for sale ! you just have to ask your Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing