We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Booked this hotel for a quick, inexpensive night in Old Towne recently. Only had one night and wanted to be in the heart of things. This was a PERFECT choice. Everything was exactly as promised. The service at the front desk was efficient and friendly. Our room was small, but offered everything we needed and the bed was so comfortable. The art work through out this boutique hotel is beautiful. We loved the location -- such a vibrant neighborhood with galleries, little shops, and a great market. The hotel is just steps away from the Malecon (boardwalk), the great restaurants in the Romantic Zone, the cathedral, and all the other great attractions of this area.

What really sets this hotel apart was the amazing service we received from the owner/manager. As we were checking out, Carlos introduced himself and chatted with us for a moment. We needed to purchase a prepaid cell phone and he directed us to a local store. Unfortunately, the girl at the store spoke NO English. My husband walked backed to the hotel, spoke with Carlos again and he came to the store personally to help us through the process. He was so helpful and kind -- even gave us his cell phone # to call if we encountered any problems or needed anything at all while in Mexico!

If you're planning a visit to Puerto Vallarta and want a quaint, clean & comfortable hotel in a great location -- this is it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwhitwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here for one evening prior to checking into a timeshare we had reserved in Nueva Vallarta (the Grand Mayan). We wanted to spend a little time in Old Town Vallarta - and this hotel fit the bill perfectly. At the end of our vacation, our stay at the Mayan was so bad - my kids actually said they wished we had just stayed at Hotel Catedral the entire time we were in Vallarta.

Note: They don't have hotel parking. If you rent a car, you'll be parking on the street.

Room Tip: The AC is from a split unit - very cold, but also kind of loud. If you have trouble sleeping through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MLHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Hotel Catedral is a small, boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta. A great location near El Mercado and a quick walk to the famous catedral make this one of the best located hotels to stay in. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are wonderful. If you can, get the top room, a wonderful suite. The owner and manager Carlos was terrific, making sure he got to know all his guests, spending time with us and sharing stories. The hotel has free coffee, tea and cookies and has a small gift shop. Prices are terrific, comparable with other older hotels but you get so much more. We'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeffobrien65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The Hotel Catedral is a small, boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta. A great location near El Mercado and a quick walk to the famous catedral make this one of the best located hotels to stay in. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are wonderful. If you can, get the top room, a wonderful suite. The owner and manager Carlos was terrific, making sure he got to know all his guests, spending time with us and sharing stories. The hotel has free coffee, tea and cookies and has a small gift shop. Prices are terrific, comparable with other older hotels but you get so much more. We'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffobrien65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hotel really enriched my stay in Puerto Vallarta. When I first arrived I was given a room where the safe did not work. I was taken to a second room where the safe also did not work, however the third room had a newer safe that was operable. My stay, after that shaky beginning, was excellent. This is not a luxury hotel (if you want one of those, be prepared to pay $100 more per night) but was very comfortable, well appointed and spotless. Its location could not be beaten (unless you want to be right on the beach). The staff was very courteous, helpful and patient. Carlos, the hotel manager, will do anything he can to make your experience a pleasant one. He recommended a family-owned restaurant (El Campanario) three blocks down the street in front of the Cathedral. It is very simple and has no air conditioning. Eat there. For less than $10 you can't get better or more authentic Mexican food. I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All roomsregardless of location, will be subject to some external noise because the location is in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boneman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The hotel is of an older style, however - good location, clean rooms, air conditioning, comfy beds plus a pillow menu, friendly staff, complimentary internet. The only downside was that the bathroom lacked shelving.

The room was called Amore, Amore, Amore - which didn't quite suite the two single friends, but it gave us a good laugh :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goca_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

my brotherinlaw and i stayed there in february . we were very happy with the staff and hotel. it was clean,and bright.if you are looking for good value, great location, nice hotel,give this place a try.( ps for the price this is a great deal)

Room Tip: pick a room with a balcony, they look out onto the street with shops, and lots of action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jburian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#37 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#83 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#43 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#61 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Hidalgo Centro 166 | Between Libertad st. y Agustín Rodríguez st., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £27 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated chicly in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, just two blocks from the main square, the "Our Lady of Guadalupe" Parrish and the "Malecon" beach boardwalk Hotel Catedral Vallarta is surrounded by Restaurants, Bars, Art Galleries and Boutiques. Locally called “the latest jewel among Downtown Boutique properties”, Hotel Catedral Vallarta combines stylish furnishings with Mexican traditional charm and character. Each room is uniquely and individually decorated, exuding a blend of old Mexican elegance, with contemporary touches, with each room named after a classic Mexican song. Forged iron gates, terracotta columns, handcrafted railings, palms, flowers, live contrasting colors and textures create all together a charming, fresh and clean atmosphere. Complimentary Beach Club Access (walking distance), Free Wi-fi, daily Coffee and Tea service 7 am - 11 am, Pillows Menu, Hand made Soaps and eco-friendly amenities.The hotel's twenty-one rooms are sumptuous and evocative hideaways, boasting numerous modern conveniences and upscale amenities, such as complimentary wireless Internet access, large HD flat screen televisions, seventy-two television channels, in-room safety security box, the latest (and extremely quiet) AC system, cellular phones, business center, library and more. Through its halls and stairs, as in every room, you will always find a detail that evoques Mexico. Hand made flowers, hammered tin handcrafts from Guanajuato, original paintings, sculptures, blown glass lamps from the State of Jalisco, Papier-mâché dolls from Michoacán, textiles from Oaxaca, Religious art from Guerrero, and more. The relaxing intimacy at the property is enhanced by traditional Mexican furniture, softened with hand embroidered cushions from different regions of Mexico, te best of all, Everything is for sale ! you just have to ask your Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing