We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #55 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is our second time at the Catedral Vallarta. This is a wonderful little gem in the heart of Zona Romantica. Away from all the bars, beaches and crowds (but all within a short walk) you get a quiet place to stay and a decent night's sleep.
To give you some perspective, the Malecon is only about 2 blocks away. If you are heading to the beaches (I'm thinking blue / green chairs) it is about 20-30 minute walk. The local bars / pubs - mainly gay - are just across a bridge and probably only 15 minutes walk away. One more plus is that Starbucks is only 2 blocks away - perfect for that coffee fix right before hitting the beach.
Our first visit we stayed in the penthouse but this time we decided to stay in a regular suite with kitchen. There were two beds, a little dining area, balcony and kitchenette. The kitchenette has a medium sized fridge, sink, counter space and a 2-burner hotplate. Also included - pots, pans, dishes, toaster and kettle. My opinion is this is a great kitchen for folks who want to eat the occasional meal in their room. For a larger group wanting to eat daily meals it might not work out though. Having said that, we managed to have breakfast in our room each day and store water, juice and some booze in the fridge. The local food in PV makes it hard to just stay in and eat!
The room has a ceiling fan and air conditioning as well as a wall-mounted flatscreen. For storage we had a dresser, nightstand and a bar in the bathroom to hang clothes. There was also a wall safe to store passports and valuables.
The room was cleaned daily and they really do their best to make sure the place is cleaned top to bottom. Service at the front desk was great too - they will answer any questions you have. Free wi-fi and computers with internet in the lobby were also nice touches.
My only problems with the hotel - and why it is a four instead of perfect five:
- the mattresses are typical holiday hotel mattresses - hard and not the most comfortable (although I have slept on worse)
- more room to hang clothes or at least a few more hangers - we had 5 hangers between the two of us and the room sleeps 4 so a little more storage space would definitely be needed
All this aside, I would definitely recommend Catedral Vallarta. We spent 14 nights in a really nice-sized room and it cost less than $800 CDN. The cleanliness and service are exceptional and the peace and quiet are much-appreciated!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mylittleoctopussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We'd had a bit of a bus journey by the time we arrived in Puerto Vallarta and our greeting by the lovely lady on reception was perfect to lift our spirits! (Wish I could remember her name!!). She said she spoke English, but as I speak adequate Spanish, we used that for our conversation. She was lovely, polite, spoke slower for me and showed us two different rooms she had available. She even said we could sleep in one and try the other the next day! Do you get that in the Sheraton!?!? I think not! The room we had was really spacious, with 2 double beds, Tv, hair dryer and some toiletries and complimentary bottled water every day. The bathroom was a little small, but was clean with a nice shower. We also had a great little balcony, which was perfect to enjoy the free coffee and cookies the hotel provide every morning. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful, although we did have two quite loud people next door banging doors and blowing their noses like trumpeting elephants, but they didn't spoil the quiet too much.
The hotel is perfectly placed to stroll to the Cathedral (5minutes), the beach and boardwalk (5minutes) and into the Zona Romantico (about 10 minutes).
I'll definitely be staying at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone.......oh don't forget to climb the stairs onto the roof terrace for a great view of the Cathedral!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a balcony and then enjoy the free coffee and cookies in the early mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bizwiz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel and staff are wonderful. The staff have pride in the hotel and go out of their way to ensure needs are met. We stayed in the Penthouse and had private full access to the roof. We watched the parade and stage performances for the Day of the Dead celebrations. Quick and easy access to the markets and food. The Cathedral is a couple of blocks away. There is a great view of the Cathedral and the clock tower. Lovely, lovely, lovely!!! I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Request the Penthouse for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I spent only a few nights here but I have to say the place is very nice. Every room has a different theme and color. Didn't tried the food, because everything is close to this. The only confused thing is the name. It is not next to the Catedral, so it was a bit hard to find the hotel. You can park your car in the parking house good luck to find and empty space on the street.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bubblelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Hotel Catedral Vallarta was a wonderful experience for my first time to Puerto Vallarta. The hotel is located right in the heart of the city within walking distance to restaurants, shops, vendors, the beach and busses. The rooms were adorably decorated, comfortable, and authentic with everything I needed to stay refreshed and cool. The owner and staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and genuinely interested in making my visit to Mexico a truly memorable experience. I had so much fun staying at the Hotel Catedral Vallarta and will definitely return on my next visit. I guess you could stay in one of the many resorts, but why when this adorable hotel is waiting for you, the cost is extremely reasonable, and the atmosphere makes it such a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask about a room with a balcony. Enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The location of this hotel if perfect for those wanting to stay in the heart of PV and experience the old town. Proximity to restaurants, shopping, bus, and the malecon can't be beat! We stayed in the penthouse unit. The views every morning and evening couldn't be better. The hotel has had some updating and served us well. If you are looking for an American resort this is NOT the place for you. If you do want to experience the true vibe of PV and true Mexican hospitality, then don't hesitate to stay here. The staff was wonderful, especially Gervasio, who helped us with all of our requests!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank littleton63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hotel has a wonderful and helpful staff. If you want a blending of Old Mexico feel with some modern touches, then this is the place. Unique and very well done decor. We really wish we could have stayed longer. This is not a sterile American hotel without any character but a true little piece of wonderful Mexico. Great city and cathedral view rooms from the penthouse. Loved listening to the church bells.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzannepv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#42 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#98 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#16 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
893 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#44 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Hidalgo Centro 166 | Between Libertad st. y Agustín Rodríguez st., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £35 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated chicly in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, just two blocks from the main square, the "Our Lady of Guadalupe" Parrish and the "Malecon" beach boardwalk Hotel Catedral Vallarta is surrounded by Restaurants, Bars, Art Galleries and Boutiques. Locally called “the latest jewel among Downtown Boutique properties”, Hotel Catedral Vallarta combines stylish furnishings with Mexican traditional charm and character. Each room is uniquely and individually decorated, exuding a blend of old Mexican elegance, with contemporary touches, with each room named after a classic Mexican song. Forged iron gates, terracotta columns, handcrafted railings, palms, flowers, live contrasting colors and textures create all together a charming, fresh and clean atmosphere. Complimentary Beach Club Access (walking distance), Free Wi-fi, daily Coffee and Tea service 7 am - 11 am, Pillows Menu, Hand made Soaps and eco-friendly amenities.The hotel's twenty-one rooms are sumptuous and evocative hideaways, boasting numerous modern conveniences and upscale amenities, such as complimentary wireless Internet access, large HD flat screen televisions, seventy-two television channels, in-room safety security box, the latest (and extremely quiet) AC system, cellular phones, business center, library and more. Through its halls and stairs, as in every room, you will always find a detail that evoques Mexico. Hand made flowers, hammered tin handcrafts from Guanajuato, original paintings, sculptures, blown glass lamps from the State of Jalisco, Papier-mâché dolls from Michoacán, textiles from Oaxaca, Religious art from Guerrero, and more. The relaxing intimacy at the property is enhanced by traditional Mexican furniture, softened with hand embroidered cushions from different regions of Mexico, te best of all, Everything is for sale ! you just have to ask your Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing