We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my second stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #58 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a very good hotel in a great location. The service and location make this hotel. It is central located, perfect if you want to enjoy the city. The building is old but clean and comfortable. You can walk 2 blocks to a great breakfast or 3 blocks for a restaurant where you sit down all day at the beach. I will return in April for my third stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JPHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were very, very pleased with our stay at Hotel Catedral Vallarta. The staff went out of their way to help us with any of our needs. The room we were in was clean and comfortable. We saw a couple of the other rooms also and found them all to be quite charming and spotless.
They had coffee and small cookies every morning which was such a nice touch in making you feel welcomed. We will defiantly stay there again when visiting Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. I wanted to name the helpful employees but I forgot to take note of their names, of course. When the safe didn't work in our room, they offered to move us (we declined, we were happy). The room had comfy beds, and a choice of pillows. All the "basics" were included except for drinking glasses in the room (just letting people know, not complaining) and hairdryers (I didn't ask at the desk if they had any). The staff couldn't have been nicer. The location is great, if a bit noisy (street noise cannot be avoided), a perfect location in "old town" very close to the beach and multiple shops and restaurants. Like others have said, it is not a resort, but the rooms are spacious and very clean, nice shower (be patient waiting for hot water, it WILL arrive) and very very charmingly decorated. Wifi was included as well. Note that you'll hear the cathedral bells ringing at seemingly odd times, that's a part of the culture. Thank you for such a nice stay! We are planning to return next year.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms may be quieter (less street noise) but their windows face each other. There are shad...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Squidhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hotel is inexpensive, perfectly located and very clean. The staff are very helpful. I was only in Puerto Vallarta for one night but I'm glad I chose this hotel. A cab to the airport is less than $10.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a quiet place with helpful staff and located in the right place to explore Puerto Vallarta. 2 Blocks east of the beach, three blocks south of the church and two blocks north of the river. In the heart of everything. This place is not a resort and not for those wanting to lounge by a pool all day. Comfortable and cozy boutique hotel full of character and bright colors. Centrally located to explore all the PV has to offer. AC in rooms, free wifi, free coffee in the mornings. Roof top deck is great. Staff will hold your luggage after you have checked out until your flight. They even have a hospitality room for you to wash up after you have checked out. Loved all the local art.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blacknorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Hotel Catederal has a top notch spot and an enthusiastic staff. The rooms are well appointed and for me booking last ticket, it was a coup to get the suite. The room I had, which was the suite, had a shower, kitchen, sofa, balcony, TV, AC, walk-in closet and safe. I felt pretty princely in my room.

There are only two things that I think can improve the experience. The shower is set up in sort of a locker-room style. It's a drain in the floor with a shower head. It's not bad. Good pressure. It does exactly what it needs to do. However, the drain might not be sufficient for the job as the water regularly pooled across the floor and began creeping towards the toilet. A strategically placed towel prevented flooding. I am not sure if all rooms are like this or if it was just mine.

The second issue is the noise level. The walls are pretty thin so noise from both the street and within the hotel courtyard travel easily. I personally did not have a problem with it, but it might be an issue for those with sensitivities to ambient noise or anybody recovering from a bad hangover. Just be aware of that when booking.

Overall though this was a great hotel. I would definitely recommend it to people. It's a fine hotel and the staff are definitely a step above others. Please give them a try at least once.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We just spent a week in the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and air conditioned which is welcomed on the humid days. The staff is amazing; they made you feel like you were a welcomed quest in their home. The hotel is centrally located to the malecon, restaurants, beach and river walk. While sitting in the lobby courtyard in the morning, you would see the management focusing on the smallest of details.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#37 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#16 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#83 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#60 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#42 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Hidalgo Centro 166 | Between Libertad st. y Agustín Rodríguez st., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £26 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated chicly in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, just two blocks from the main square, the "Our Lady of Guadalupe" Parrish and the "Malecon" beach boardwalk Hotel Catedral Vallarta is surrounded by Restaurants, Bars, Art Galleries and Boutiques. Locally called “the latest jewel among Downtown Boutique properties”, Hotel Catedral Vallarta combines stylish furnishings with Mexican traditional charm and character. Each room is uniquely and individually decorated, exuding a blend of old Mexican elegance, with contemporary touches, with each room named after a classic Mexican song. Forged iron gates, terracotta columns, handcrafted railings, palms, flowers, live contrasting colors and textures create all together a charming, fresh and clean atmosphere. Complimentary Beach Club Access (walking distance), Free Wi-fi, daily Coffee and Tea service 7 am - 11 am, Pillows Menu, Hand made Soaps and eco-friendly amenities.The hotel's twenty-one rooms are sumptuous and evocative hideaways, boasting numerous modern conveniences and upscale amenities, such as complimentary wireless Internet access, large HD flat screen televisions, seventy-two television channels, in-room safety security box, the latest (and extremely quiet) AC system, cellular phones, business center, library and more. Through its halls and stairs, as in every room, you will always find a detail that evoques Mexico. Hand made flowers, hammered tin handcrafts from Guanajuato, original paintings, sculptures, blown glass lamps from the State of Jalisco, Papier-mâché dolls from Michoacán, textiles from Oaxaca, Religious art from Guerrero, and more. The relaxing intimacy at the property is enhanced by traditional Mexican furniture, softened with hand embroidered cushions from different regions of Mexico, te best of all, Everything is for sale ! you just have to ask your Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing