We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Authentic Mexican Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #51 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Authentic Mexican Hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in April in the beautiful penthouse suite. After reading the positive reviews I was pleased that the hotel lived up to expectations. For those who prefer a more authentic hotel this is for you. Friendly staff and central location make this the ideal hotel for your stay in beautiful Puerto Vallarta.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank adhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    121
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
51
159
58
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great hotel in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta. If you are looking to experience the local culture and aren't looking for the "resort" experience, this is a wonderful little place. The people working at this lovely little hotel are welcoming and warm. Rooms are comfortable and include a great little air conditioner and ceiling fan. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with a lovely little balcony overlooking the street. The location is great - two short blocks to the Malecon and close to all kinds of eateries and shopping. The beautiful Cathedral is a short stroll away and easily viewed from the terrific rooftop terrace. The hotel provides fantastic cafe and little cookies in the morning and the courtyard is a wonderful place to relax, enjoy the morning and plan the day. The front desk people, particularly Hector, were so nice and Carlos, the owner even took us by car one day over to the local farmers market. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We loved the street side room we had and enjoyed looking at the street scene but for those who want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel Catedral is a glimpse of the reasons we love Puerto Vallarta. Charming, accommodating, and full of friendly people. The staff are wonderful. Very helpful, skilled in the English language, and quick to smile. The hotel is a work of art. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. If your'e searching for a hotel in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, stop looking and start booking. There are none better than Hotel Catedral.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamsonRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spent one night at Hotel Catedral Vallarta. Overall I would say it is a very nice place. I echo what others say that the staff are incredibly gracious and helpful. The courtyard is surrounded by plants and artwork and a perfect place to have a quiet cup of coffee in the morning. Coffee is included and very good. Wi-Fi is included as well. The rooms are decorated in an older Mexican style tradition and are very clearn. I agree that the mattresses were not very comfortable and the bathrooms need updating and are a bit small.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location, close to everything. The staff are incredibley gracious and accomodating. We had a standard room and for the price was small. The bathroom was as small as on a cruse ship, however no counter or hooks to hang or put anything. It was fine for one night but not for longer stays.

Room Tip: Our friends had a suite which was much larger...standard rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed two nights at Hotel Catedral on our visit to Puerto Vallarta.
Hotel Catedral is an older hotel with reasonable rates; the location is excellent, only a short walk from the Malecon and the Romantic Zone, Puerto Vallarta's major tourist attractions.

The hotel has no elevator, the stairs are not steep but it is still a climb to the upper floors.
The staff was very helpful, friendly and organized.
The room was spacious, clean with a firm but comfortable bed. It had a table and chairs, flat screen TV, WiFi and a good A/C wall unit, however the bathroom was small and the shower awkward, the water pressure and hot water supply were good.

We were on the third floor; the noise from the street could be heard until late at night and the bells from the Cathedral wake you up at 6 am, that is the downside of a great location!
If you arrive by car as we did, than parking might be a problem because the hotel provides no parking, there is parking on the street if you are lucky to find a space or in a nearby parking garage.
The hotel has no restaurant but provide you with free coffee and cookies in the morning, there are several restaurants nearby serving breakfast.
Hotel Catedral is overall a good place for a short stay to explore Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyingdutchmanblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel was delightful, and the staff was great. However, the beds were like sleeping on the box spring. They advertise pillowtop beds, but that was not the case in our room. I went out and bought an air mattress in order to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhansonak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#32 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
863 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#41 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#59 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#85 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel

Property: Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Hidalgo Centro 166 | Between Libertad st. y Agustín Rodríguez st., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated chicly in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, just two blocks from the main square, the "Our Lady of Guadalupe" Parrish and the "Malecon" beach boardwalk Hotel Catedral Vallarta is surrounded by Restaurants, Bars, Art Galleries and Boutiques. Locally called “the latest jewel among Downtown Boutique properties”, Hotel Catedral Vallarta combines stylish furnishings with Mexican traditional charm and character. Each room is uniquely and individually decorated, exuding a blend of old Mexican elegance, with contemporary touches, with each room named after a classic Mexican song. Forged iron gates, terracotta columns, handcrafted railings, palms, flowers, live contrasting colors and textures create all together a charming, fresh and clean atmosphere. Complimentary Beach Club Access (walking distance), Free Wi-fi, daily Coffee and Tea service 7 am - 11 am, Pillows Menu, Hand made Soaps and eco-friendly amenities.The hotel's twenty-one rooms are sumptuous and evocative hideaways, boasting numerous modern conveniences and upscale amenities, such as complimentary wireless Internet access, large HD flat screen televisions, seventy-two television channels, in-room safety security box, the latest (and extremely quiet) AC system, cellular phones, business center, library and more. Through its halls and stairs, as in every room, you will always find a detail that evoques Mexico. Hand made flowers, hammered tin handcrafts from Guanajuato, original paintings, sculptures, blown glass lamps from the State of Jalisco, Papier-mâché dolls from Michoacán, textiles from Oaxaca, Religious art from Guerrero, and more. The relaxing intimacy at the property is enhanced by traditional Mexican furniture, softened with hand embroidered cushions from different regions of Mexico, te best of all, Everything is for sale ! you just have to ask your Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing