We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and friendly little hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #50 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing and friendly little hotel!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If your type is all-inclusive resorts, this is not the place for you. However, if you want to live like a local and stay near all the great restaurants and food stands, this hotel is ideal. The front desk was so friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and sufficient. It's no 5 star hotel, but considering the great price we got, it was much more than we expected. Location was perfect: beach was a short walk away, and old town was close by as well with all the amazing taco stands! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank laffykaffy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    121
    33
    12
    6
See reviews for
51
160
58
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel feels authentic. It is in the middle of the old town, three blocks away from a beautiful cathedral, short walk to the beach and shopping/dinning area, away from all the all inclusive hotel zone (which i prefer). Staffs are super helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BaileySL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was here for 7 nights and stayed all the time in room number 31. The room was big and clean. The bathroom was also clean and appropriate. I didn't have any problem with hot water (you had to wait for 1 or 2 minutes for it to come). The staff spoke enough English and were friendly.
This hotel does not have a pool, does not offer lunch nor even breakfast. The coffee was Okay but the cookies were not. In the mornings I usually used to go to the starbucks one block away, buy a pan de chocolate and bring it back to have with my coffee. The location is pretty good for going around the downtown.
If I go back to PV, I will stay in this hotel again but for a shorter time.Lets say 3 days in this boutique hotel and 3 days in a resort AI type would be something that I might try again.
Overall, I recommend this Hotel and I believe most of the reviews that I read before writing this post to be accurate.

Room Tip: My room (room 31) was good, choose that one ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rouzbeh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drummondville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent a few weeks at Hotel Catedral (into a suite) and it has been a renewed pleasure. The decoration; the location; the gracious and helpful staff; the caring management; and the adapted answers to our request made our stay feeling like at home (even if it is narrower).

The serene atmosphere and the security feeling help us enjoy more Old Puerto Vallarta.

Gérald & Raymonde

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter. The location makes us live closer to the population.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in April in the beautiful penthouse suite. After reading the positive reviews I was pleased that the hotel lived up to expectations. For those who prefer a more authentic hotel this is for you. Friendly staff and central location make this the ideal hotel for your stay in beautiful Puerto Vallarta.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank adhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great hotel in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta. If you are looking to experience the local culture and aren't looking for the "resort" experience, this is a wonderful little place. The people working at this lovely little hotel are welcoming and warm. Rooms are comfortable and include a great little air conditioner and ceiling fan. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with a lovely little balcony overlooking the street. The location is great - two short blocks to the Malecon and close to all kinds of eateries and shopping. The beautiful Cathedral is a short stroll away and easily viewed from the terrific rooftop terrace. The hotel provides fantastic cafe and little cookies in the morning and the courtyard is a wonderful place to relax, enjoy the morning and plan the day. The front desk people, particularly Hector, were so nice and Carlos, the owner even took us by car one day over to the local farmers market. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We loved the street side room we had and enjoyed looking at the street scene but for those who want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel Catedral is a glimpse of the reasons we love Puerto Vallarta. Charming, accommodating, and full of friendly people. The staff are wonderful. Very helpful, skilled in the English language, and quick to smile. The hotel is a work of art. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. If your'e searching for a hotel in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, stop looking and start booking. There are none better than Hotel Catedral.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamsonRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#39 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#87 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#59 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#37 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel

Property: Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Hidalgo Centro 166 | Between Libertad st. y Agustín Rodríguez st., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated chicly in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, just two blocks from the main square, the "Our Lady of Guadalupe" Parrish and the "Malecon" beach boardwalk Hotel Catedral Vallarta is surrounded by Restaurants, Bars, Art Galleries and Boutiques. Locally called “the latest jewel among Downtown Boutique properties”, Hotel Catedral Vallarta combines stylish furnishings with Mexican traditional charm and character. Each room is uniquely and individually decorated, exuding a blend of old Mexican elegance, with contemporary touches, with each room named after a classic Mexican song. Forged iron gates, terracotta columns, handcrafted railings, palms, flowers, live contrasting colors and textures create all together a charming, fresh and clean atmosphere. Complimentary Beach Club Access (walking distance), Free Wi-fi, daily Coffee and Tea service 7 am - 11 am, Pillows Menu, Hand made Soaps and eco-friendly amenities.The hotel's twenty-one rooms are sumptuous and evocative hideaways, boasting numerous modern conveniences and upscale amenities, such as complimentary wireless Internet access, large HD flat screen televisions, seventy-two television channels, in-room safety security box, the latest (and extremely quiet) AC system, cellular phones, business center, library and more. Through its halls and stairs, as in every room, you will always find a detail that evoques Mexico. Hand made flowers, hammered tin handcrafts from Guanajuato, original paintings, sculptures, blown glass lamps from the State of Jalisco, Papier-mâché dolls from Michoacán, textiles from Oaxaca, Religious art from Guerrero, and more. The relaxing intimacy at the property is enhanced by traditional Mexican furniture, softened with hand embroidered cushions from different regions of Mexico, te best of all, Everything is for sale ! you just have to ask your Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing