We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just needs a slight attention to whirlpool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Positives;
This hotel is super well manicured and maintained.
The menu for table a la cart changes every few days. You can even order food with your specification.
The butler Hazael was awesome.
The waiters at restaurant were all good especially Enzo, Eduardo, at the top following Jose and cesar and the rest.
You could ask for rooms to be serviced even twice a day.
The rooms are fantastic, clean and modern.
The Cabernet wine was exquisite!

Negatives;
All was good with one exception about whirlpool which we caught Folliculitis from not enough chlorine in the water.concierge
Another deal breaker was the concierge who would not take NO for an answer and kept trying time & time to convince us to attend a presentation to get sucked in to timeshare! ....Hey man the days of time shares are long gone and everyone knows it is just a scam!



This is the place in the center of everything one can ask.
If you want to get relax by the beach and enjoy the good food and sun and swimming pool this is the place!
Given the chance we will be back.

Room Tip: Just tell the concierge NO NO NO and tell him: Read my lips and not to ruin my vacation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Mr. Guest,
Sunset Plaza highly appreciates the time you have taken to write such a great review. It truly was a pleasure to host you. We are so thrilled to know you enjoyed the service, rooms, atmosphere and the exquisite dishes in our restaurants.
We appreciate your insight about the lobby sales staff and appropriate action will be taken to correct our current customer service approached practices.
We are very glad to know that you had a good experience with us. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again on a near future.
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,991 - 1,997 of 3,324 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

It was the first time my husband and I took an all inclusive vacation because of our cute new baby-girl addition (1 year old) and we didn't know what to expect. We certainly did not expect a luxurious suite, modern, spotless and very spacious with two bathrooms, a walk in closet and a nice kitchen, livingroom and dining area. We certainly did not expect being pampered by each and every employee. We did not expect to have fine cuisine in a la cart restaurants, whereas each sophisticated course was served tastefully and made out of the freshest and finest ingredients. We did not expect to enjoy it as much as we did - but we did. It was heaven upon earth.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MikeGSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Mr. Mike,
We hope you and your beautiful family are well. First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comment on TripAdvisor. We love the title of you comment “A little taste of heaven” thank you.
For us it is really motivating to know that our service makes the difference in our guests’ visit. We are very proud we were able to surprise you with our a la carte service. We strongly believe in the personalized service and the benefits of having menu choices with tasty dishes. Thank you for your appreciation.
Each of the Sunset Plaza’s spacious guest rooms and suites features a private terrace with a breathtaking 180° view of the ocean and the spectacular Puerto Vallarta´s sunset. The rooms are warmly decorated in hues of orange, gold and sparkle, equipped with fine granite countertops, marble bathroom surfaces, and elegant contemporary wood furniture.
Amenities at Sunset Plaza include a large fitness room and spa; an activity packed Kids Club, two full-service restaurants – one international cuisine and one Italian – a deli, a lobby lounge, and the Poolside Aqua Bar.
I read your comment and I see that this is your first time on Sunset Plaza, so on Behalf of all Sunset Plaza staff: "Welcome to the Family"!!! Every time you visit Puerto Vallarta you can count on us to have remarkable vacations.
Please feel free to contact me if you need any further assistance, we look forward to seeing you soon!
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez @hotelesfgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just came back from a week stay at Sunset Plaza. I can't say enough good things about this hotel, starting with Javier (the manager) meeting our taxi, our wonderful butler "Ivan" who took such good care of us, our breakfast waiter "Enzo" who knew our breakfast order every morning, this hotel has first class service, it is a small hotel dedicated to outstanding service. The resort itself is spotless, we had a beautiful room overlooking the ocean, soft drinks, beer and chips that are replenished daily, comfortable beds, beautiful big shower with jacuzzi tub, the food was fantastic, unlimited premium drinks, heated pool, no vendors, this is the by far the best vacation I have every enjoyed, I can't recommend this hotel enough. Also special mention to Miguel, Selene, Alejandro, and I am sure I am still missing somebody, all to say if you stay here you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 408Betty_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Ms. Betty,
Thank you very much for visit us at Sunset Plaza and for taking the time to write your comment on Trip Advisor as well as recommending us. I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay.
I will extend your congratulations to our staff, I am sure they will be satisfied to know your kind consideration for a job well done.
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa Located right on the beach at the center of the hotel zone, just a few minutes´ walk from the rich culture and traditional architecture of downtown and it is only 2.5 miles from the international airport and steps from the most important malls and beautiful Marina Vallarta. Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa is very close to everything Puerto Vallarta has to offer: dining, nightlife, shopping, golf and culture – yet far enough to ensure a relaxing and tranquil retreat.
On behalf of our staff wish you a wonderful day and we look forward to seeing you soon on this beautiful country.
Kind Regards,
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just spent a week here and have to say the resort is very nice. Beautiful ocean view rooms, very well maintained property and staff that go the extra mile to make your stay perfect!

The rooms are large and clean with huge showers and plenty of storage for luggage and clothes. The beds were comfortable and the mini fridge was kept stocked.

The pools are large and the wait staff attentive. The pool bar was always quick to serve up a fresh drink or a cold cerveza! My only complaint if you could call it one is that both pools felt heated so not always as refreshing as I'd like.

The food is good and our waiters for the most part were impressive. We found Jose (shaved head) and Enzo to be our favourite servers. We'd always ask what section they were working because they were excellent! The music in Lucianos was a little loud and the lighting could have been brought up a bit but nothing my iPhone flashlight couldn't handle when reading the menus!

For us, the real jewel of this resort was our friend Ivan. He was our butler and took care of us. He helped us get settled, advised us of places to visit and more importantly arranged for a special birthday surprise for my Mother. He went on his day off and purchased decorations and balloons. He installed them and when she saw them was so happy and surprised. Way to go Ivan...you are very good at your job!!!

Overall this resort is quiet, clean and affordable. If you're looking for nightlife on the resort other than drinks and conversation this might not be your place, but if you want relaxed, layer back fun with a friends or family I would recommend it.

Thanks for a great week! I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank STEVEN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Mr. Steven,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your lovely experience. We are very happy to know we were part of your vacations; it truly was a pleasure to assist you, and you felt pampered and well taken care please know that Sunset Plaza "will always be your home " We are very proud we were able to surprise you with our food, and facilities.
I will extend your congratulations to Ivan for their great job.
We hope to see you soon and pamper you on your next stay.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent three glorious days here, and wished we had spent more. The check in was a breeze, the service was outstanding. We had people rush to help at every move. Oscar (bar and waiter around pool) was more then helpful, and both restaurants were excellent in quality and presentation. The swim up bar had us in heaven, and the Miami Vice drink was the best. We never once had to look far for help. Wish they posted a board with the activities as I would have enjoyed the yoga but did not find out until too late. Everyone there should be acknowledged for their positive service and what they make the property. We will be back two times next year!

Room Tip: For the view, go high. Do the Las Caletas day tour it is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelodyTher5370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Mrs. Melody,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments after your experience in our beautiful resort.
We appreciate your recognition for our resort characteristics, room comfort, and for highlighting the strengths of our facilities to fully comply with our guest expectations. Our staff will be satisfied to know your kind consideration for a job well done.
Puerto Vallarta has many options to offer about food, fun and nature areas, so we will be very happy if you visited us once again.
Have a great day!
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

By far the most satisfying stay that I have ever had a hotel... so much so that it warranted my first Trip Advisor review.
LOCATION:
I went with a friend (both in our mid 40's) for a quiet and relaxing vacation and that's what we got.
The resort is beautifully situated on Banderas Bay within walking distance or short, inexpensive cab ride to tons of shopping, entertainment and restaurants.
HOTEL:
The hotel was beautiful and immaculately clean. The staff and the service they provided were exceptional... the best I have ever experienced anywhere in Mexico or the Caribbean. They were always friendly and incredibly accommodating. The rooms/balcony were a generous size and the comfortable beds provided us with the best sleeps that we've had in a long time. Every room has a spectacular ocean view. My only complaint that I would have is that I would have preferred better lighting in the bathroom.
The pool and hot tub areas were generous and there was never an issue finding chairs. They also had many beds around the adult pool for relaxing or having a little afternoon nap.
FOOD AND DRINK:
The meals were all a la carte with a generous selection of dishes for all meals.
For breakfast be sure to try the French Toast... the best I have ever tasted!
A special mention must go out to Victor, the dinner captain at the Mirador Grill. He and his staff went above and beyond. I felt like a VIP at every single meal. The food was always fresh and deliciously prepared.
Their Italian restaurant was delicious as well and I regret not booking it for another night as there were so many tempting dishes on their menu, it took me a while to make up my mind what to order.
The drinks at the bar were well made and not too sweet like you find sometimes at other resorts. Be sure to try their mango mojito!
The Deli, open from noon to 7pm, had fabulous sandwiches, salads and desserts.
THE HOTEL MANAGER (Javier)
I believe that the success of this hotel is greatly due to Javier, the hotel manager. He's truly a 'people person' and sincerely cares about the guests at the hotel. He approached me at the Concierge desk when I was asking assistance in locating a health food store in Puerta Vallarta. After spending 10-15 minutes on the internet and a lengthy conversation with a store manager on the phone, he provided me with all the information on the products that I needed. He told me that if I was unable to make it to the store that he would be happy to go and pick up what I needed for me.

Thank you Sunset Plaza for such an amazing week! I definitely plan to return to Puerta Vallarta and look forward to staying at the Sunset Plaza again!

Room Tip: I would avoid an adjoining suite if possible. Sometimes the guests in the next room could be a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Ms. Brenda,
Please allow me to start by thanking you for taking the time to share with us your impressions regarding your stay, I am happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your vacation with us, we will be looking forward to seeing you here every year.
Thank you so much to share your lovely experience; Sunset Plaza is very proud to know we exceeded your expectations making your vacation memorable and special.
Puerto Vallarta has many options to offer when it comes to food, fun and nature areas, so we will be very happy if you give us the opportunity to host you in your home away from home.
Sincerely,
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Service is one among many assets that distinguishes the Sunset Plaza as a premier resort in Puerto Vallarta. In five trips to PV, we can say that the Sunset Plaza is unsurpassed in friendly, accommodating personnel who seem to anticipate your every need. In addition, though the hotel also operates as a time-share property, not once were we subjected to a sales pitch or come-on to waste precious vacation time on a marketing presentation.

Food, although limited in essence by only one convenient restaurant, was well prepared and delicious. We decided to forgo the all-inclusive option and found that even eating all of our lunches pool-side and most dinners at the resort, we made the right decision money-wise.

The only negative (if you could call it that) was proximity to other good restaurants, but I'm older now and don't enjoy long walks like I once did. It's not really that far...maybe 2 miles to the Malecon. However, taxis are readily available and inexpensive.

Overall, the Sunset Plaza was a gorgeous, pristine property managed to perfection with a pervasive service attitude.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MaxDensity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Mr. Max,
Please allow me to start by thanking you for taking the time to share with us your impressions regarding your stay, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we will be looking forward to seeing you here every year.
Thank you so much to share your lovely experience; Sunset Plaza is very proud to know we exceeded your expectations making your vacation memorable and special.
Please know that Sunset Plaza takes highly consideration of all our guest comments, always working on pampering and making our guests feel at home.
Puerto Vallarta has many options to offer when it comes to food, fun and nature areas, so we will be very happy if you give us the opportunity to host you in your home away from home.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,709 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
773 reviews
6 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
565 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,537 reviews
2.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £162 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing