We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to relax, not party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Pretty small and relax place. Excellent location. Close to everything. U can walk, take public transport or inexpensive taxi. Room: we stayed in suit, on 16 floor. Wish to have the same condo! No complains about service. Did we tip? Yes, but a bit. And still have a good service. Food: no buffet, a la cart only. Loved it.

Room Tip: Suits, only suits. 10 floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank routa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Please let me express my gratitude to you for sharing such nice comments regarding your latest stay with us, we are very happy to hear that you really enjoy your vacation.
Sunset Plaza hotel is oriented to for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, a business event, or an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon whether you plan to visit Puerto Vallarta. Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa Located right on the beach at the center of the hotel zone, just a few minutes´ walk from the rich culture and traditional architecture of downtown and it is only 2.5 miles from the international airport and steps from the most important malls and beautiful Marina Vallarta. Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa is very close to everything Puerto Vallarta has to offer: dining, nightlife, shopping, golf and culture – yet far enough to ensure a relaxing and tranquil retreat.
We are very proud we were able to surprise you with our a la carte all inclusive. We strongly believe in the personalized service and the benefits of having menu choices with tasty dishes. Thank you for your appreciation.
Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit.
Have a nice New Years Eve!
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,963 - 1,969 of 3,340 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Sunset Plaza is a Shell Vacation (time share) property. We have been Shell owners for 20+ years (1993). This was the best property we have been to in well over a decade. Three years new, Sunset Plaza is a 15 story tower overlooking the bay. Our suite was generous in size (as compared to other Shell vacations). The suite amenities were more than adequate. New flat screen TVs (w only a couple of English language channels), nice bathroom facilities and comfy beds. Service was attentive and enthusiastic. The property butler was always 'on duty'. The events coordination on the property was not particularly knowledgeable or creative. Multiple attempts to up sell more timeshare points was not appreciated (as we made it clear that we were not in the market). Pools were very nicely laid out and the three hot tubs (different temperatures) were well used. We only had one meal in the property. PV has so many good food spots hard to justify paying big bucks for resort food. Finally, property is walking distance away from grocery store and ATM.

Hopefully Shell will continue to develop in PV. Sunset is a very good standard to work towards.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank LevGonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking your time to share your experience with our readers.
Sunset Plaza would like to thank you for your preference & loyalty. We have new changes going for our Guest to enjoy in future visits and take home a wonderful experience. I will see that our staff members receive great comments.
Thank you for expressing your happiness with your home resort Sunset Plaza. It is important to note that the satisfaction of our members is very important for us, and as you have experienced firsthand we will do the right thing in order to maintain that high satisfaction rate. I am pleased that you feel that the amenities and activities of the resort are to your pleasure and liking, and that the location is a perfect fit for you to enjoy the local surroundings. We are proud to have members such as yourself, and as a member you can see the positive changes and modifications that are performed each year. That is your investment being invested back into your property. Please take care and I wish to see you back here in your Mexican home for many years to come.
If there’s anything I can do for in your next visit, please let me know.
Warm Regards,
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at Sunset Plaza from Dec 7-Dec 14. Party of 7 including my five year old grandson.
Rooms were amazing, cleaned twice daily. All ocean view. We had a standard room, my daughter and son-in-law were next door in a suite with adjoining door. The hotel accommodated all our requests. Food was wonderful, menu changed every two days. The pools were perfect temperature and we enjoyed the small beach. My grandson loved the kids club. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Very central and taxi rides were inexpensive to anywhere in Puerto Vallarta..

Room Tip: all rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albertagirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in posting how awesome your week was at Sunset Plaza for you and your young grandson. We are pleased that we had the accommodations to cater best to the needs of your family, and that the service that you received was excellent.
The most amazing sunsets in the Pacific can be enjoyed at Sunset Plaza, we have spacious guest rooms and suites features a private terrace with a breathtaking 180° view of the ocean and the spectacular Puerto Vallarta´s sunset. As you mention Sunset Plaza has a beautiful and comfortable facilities: -Infinity heated pool with kid’s pool area -Adult heated pool with lounge beds -Spa services, Gym room -Jacuzzi section with sun tanning areas -Kids club with video game room, restaurant, mini golf, pool, playground, arts and crafts area for kids between 4 and 12 years of age, service hours 10:00am to 6:00pm -Deli Snack -24hrs concierge – Butler – Pool & Beach Concierge -High speed wireless internet access and more, everything you need to have a great vacations.
Thank you also for selecting us as your holiday destination and for highly recommending Sunset Plaza. We hope to be able to host you again in the upcoming future.
Warm Regards,
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Overall an ok experience. Hotel is at good location and rooms have fabulous views. Service is exceptionally poor especially the swim up bar "Honorus" guy. Don't know what his deal was but he was extremely pissed and did want to be there. Be ware to tip everyone, otherwise prepare to wait at least half an hour for service for every refill.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovinsun001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and share with us your comments regarding your stay at our property.
I am pleased to know that you really enjoyed our facilities and food. Please also accept my apologies for the inconvenient with swim up bar service; I have brought this to the food and beverages manager, who will make sure to provide the staff with further training regarding this kind of scenarios to avoid these kinds of situations from happening again. Sunset Plaza is recognized as one of the best customer service oriented among the hotels in the destine and awarded with 2013 certificate of excellence and 4 diamonds certification. We are sorry that due to the incident at the swimp up bar we gave you a different perception of what we offer to our guests.
Remember that in Sunset Plaza you can find the master key to Paradise at. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive travel plans options, including “Deluxe Inclusive”. Haute cuisine. Premium Drinks. 24-Hour Butler. And the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets. All in one place.
A gourmet style influence from our author kitchen Chef, granting his culinary recreation with a composition of flavors, aromas and colors, enjoy a delightful evening at our specialty restaurants: Mirador Bistro and Grill and Lucciano.
And in our bars you can Feel the unique sensation. Premium refreshing drinks all day long. Artisanal Tequila, original cocktails, frozen drinks, Tequila-based Martinis and the opportunity to explore unmatched flavors from our wine selection.
Part of our facilities and services are: Infinity Heated Family Swimming Pool, Adults-only Heated Swimming Pool and Heated Swimming Pool for Children, spa, gym and Kids Club.
We sincerely hope to get the opportunity to have you once more as or guests, in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me again if further assistance if required or if you have additional feedback that wish to share, I will be more than happy to assist you.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and I did not choose the all inclusive option, so cannot speak to that offering. We booked seven days online in August, and when we checked in we found we were booked for 10 days. Apparently reservations somehow entered the day of "date booked" as the day of "checkout date". We were shown to our room and when we tried to take a shower ten minutes later there was no water pressure. A call to the concierge desk informed us that they were unaware of it and had no idea why it happened or when the water pump would be fixed. I guess someone reset a breaker or something easy as water pressure was restored within 20 minutes.
The reason my wife and I rated the Sunset Plaza a three was because it was a classic case of staff undertraining.. For example, when a sun umbrella was lifted out of it's support by the wind and hit my wife on the head, two staff ignored us - it was other guests who hurried over to see if she was OK. Fortunately, other than a lump on her head, she was fine.
If you want a great view and pools, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TOOPE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Guest,
With great concern I learnt about your opinion after your experience in our resort. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again, in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me again if further assistance is required or if you have additional feedback that wish to share, I will be more than happy to assist you.
As you mentioned our rooms are Intimate, Casual and Exciting. Especially designed to satisfy your senses. Cozy oceanfront view rooms; featuring two Queen beds and marble bathrooms, 24-hour Butler service and unique details designed just for you to feel this exclusive leisure experience. Each of the Sunset Plaza’s spacious guest rooms and suites features a private terrace with a breathtaking 180° view of the ocean and the spectacular Puerto Vallarta´s sunset. The rooms are warmly decorated in hues of orange, gold and sparkle, equipped with fine granite countertops, marble bathroom surfaces, and elegant contemporary wood furniture.
We hope to see you soon in your nest trip to Puerto Vallarta.
Sincerely,
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

All though the location and weather was wonderful we found that with only 2 choices to eat, this was very disappointing. We found that the food choices were very poor and had nothing to do with Mexican foods. The Service was not the best having to wait on drinks and food for excessive time and we are now aware that you are wanting to turn this into a time share. We understand what you are doing.

We had to go out of the facility to experience the culture.

Would we return to this venue ....not likely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BRIAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Mr. Brian,
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. We’re glad to know that you found our location ans weather in Puerto Vallarta wonderful.
On the other hand we are sorry to hear that you consider was disappointing to our food choices, because we offer a selection of menus that change every other day with tasty dishes.
Mirador Bistro Grill: you will find a variety of dishes from international cousin, with 3 different menus for breakfast, 3 different menus for lunch and 4 different menus for dinner. Open from 7:00 to 11:30hrs.
Luciano Restaurant: Where you will find a wide selection of 100% Italian dishes and a selection of wines, with 3 different menus. Open 18:00 to 20:30hrs.
Deli La Canela: offers a wide variety of sandwiches & European style baguette, fresh and delicious salads, where you can be the author of combination of your liking and choice. Open 12:00hrs to 20:00hrs.
Lobby Bar: Chic, lively and casual, a space specially designed for socializing and relaxing, featuring premium drinks and the best domestic and international cocktail selection. Open from 17:00 to 01:00hrs.
Aqua Bar: Located in the main pool. Offering refreshing beverages as well as our traditional and famous cocktails, enjoy your favorite drink in the comfort of the pool. Open 10:00 to 18:00hrs
And do not forget our snacks and room service menus.
We will take all the actions we need to make sure our entire guests are fully informed. Please also accept my apologies for the inconvenient with our service. I have brought this to the Food and Beverages Manager attention, who will make sure to provide the staff with further training regarding this kind of scenarios to avoid these kind of situations from happening again.
Sunset Plaza Hotel appreciates the time you have taken to give us your opinion and observations, please be sure that your comments have been very helpful and we are committed to improve our opportunity areas.
Once again, thank you for posting and from the entire team and myself, we do hope to see you again at Sunset Plaza.
Sincerely,
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Although individual ratings are high, there is sometimes more to the picture.

This resort is small, well designed and I can't see it being crowded even during busy times. If you want to relax quietly, this is the place for you. But you could shoot a canon off at 8:00 and not hit anyone. There are no activities to speak of during the days or evenings. The one evening there was entertainment, nothing was posted anywhere about it and so we arrived for dinner after the show was already over.

This resort is both timeshare and all inclusive. Even for the all inclusives, food is a la carte, so breakfast and lunch is pretty much the same daily, a choice off a small menu. There is a sandwich cafe open a few hours, but we did not see anyone in it the entire week of our stay. There are two restaurants for dinner, so you have more meal choices over the course of a week, but for every good meal we had we also had undercooked hamburgers, wrong orders and a number of times where our first selection was not available. With the exception of the specialty restaurant, the desserts are sparse and of poor quality. The evening of the entertainment, a dessert buffet table consisted of many desserts arranged beautifully, but which turned out to be the same three choices of poor quality cake cut and arranged on different plates, spread over two tables. The presentation of the food is exceptional, though, and we did have a couple meals that were also exceptional. It was good food, good service, but not the best we've experienced for either.

The head butler and his staff are available and go above and beyond to assist with any difficulties. This helps, but it doesn't erase that problems arose requiring action.

The low note was a last impression. We often have late afternoon flights out where we check out and leave our bags with the concierge but stay on the property until it's time to go. Never have we had a resort cut off out wrist bracelets and tell us that if we use any food or drink services we must pay for them. Although a complaint to the head butler erased this, it was again a sour impression.

If you can get it for a good price, though, like to eat out occasionally and like peace and quiet, this might be a good fit for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Travaddict2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,731 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
778 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,946 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,547 reviews
2.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#4 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £166 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing