We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem of a resort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Wow! This trip could not have been more perfect. This resort is much smaller than we're used to, and I have to say we were a little worried, but it was incredible. The resort was super clean and emaculate, the view was breathtaking, and the food was always fresh and delicious with a very varied menu. The staff was amazing. Everyone was very friendly, very helpful and very interested in ensuring that we were always comfortable and having a great time. A huge shout out goes to la linda Patsy who was always ready with a smile, Senor Cesar for making sure we were always satisfied, and especially Senor Alejandro for his unwaning energy. Frankly, we could mention the entire staff--everyone was wonderful. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Any room is great. They are all facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,952 - 1,958 of 3,338 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

just got back a couple days ago, location is perfect, the size of hotel and property was also perfect, we were 2 couples travelling together we had rooms on the 14th floor, what an awesome view, the staff was very good, we tipped alot not because we had to but because the staff was deserving of it, the butlers were excellent , always trying to make your trip better, big thank you to Ivan what a guy, also Caesar, the ladies that greet you at the restaurants were always full of smiles, the food was very good, I don't know why people say neg things about it, the Italian restaurant was awesome food was terrific there, bartenders were quick and made our drinks exactly how we liked them, met the hotel manager he was very nice as well, there was another guy , didn't get his name but he came around every day to ask us how everything was and if there was anything he could do. We had a 1 br suite , it was huge and beautiful, other then getting a burger that was undercooked once our trip was perfect. When we go back we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: liked the suite it had 2 full bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenWpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa was a top notch resort. They went above and beyond what we expected to make us happy. The food was great. The suite was amazing. The staff couldn't do enough for us. We have never been treated so well while away at a resort. Can't wait to come back again next year. We love it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our family had been planning a getaway for Christmas for over a year and decided to try out Sunset Plaza (all-inclusive) for our first Mexico holiday. We loved it! Couldn't have asked for a better time. A few quick disclaimers: we were a family of 7 grown adults (3 couples, 1 single) and no kids. We had 4 rooms, 3 standard and one upgraded to a suite. It was by far the most relaxing time we have had in years. Note that we were really looking for a low-key, super relaxing resort and this fit the bill perfectly. If you're looking for wild and crazy spring break vibe, this is not your place. But if you're looking for a chance to unwind, have the staff remember you name (and your drink of choice) and just unwind, this is it. The rooms were great (lots of towels, amenities, and great housekeeping), the food was good (albeit not *amazing* but great for an all-inclusive. Also the menus changed frequently and the ability to have it delivered to the hot tub or pool was a fantastic perk!) and you could always find a lounge chair at the pool. Plenty of drink selections at either the swim up bar, the outside bar or the hotel lobby bar, and the activities were great too (took advantage of snorkeling, kayaking and the yoga classes). My mom got a deluxe mani-pedi and we loved how accessible the location was to Old Town. Would totally go back!

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite was perfect if you're traveling with a lot of luggage or with kids. If it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel has excellent service, friendly and helpful staff, nice location right at the beach, great pool and amenities. Really nothing bad to say except for the food. There are two restaurants, Mirador and Luciano. Mirador serves all three meals of the day, while Luciano is the "upscale" choice, only open for dinner. I would say the breakfast at Mirador is ok, not a lot of choice, but it's difficult to ruin scrambled eggs. As far as lunch and dinner, I would rate them as barely edible, think lunch at a museum cafe or the zoo. Choices are very limited and the menu does not vary much. Luciano is generally pretty well rated on this forum, so I had high hopes. Unfortunately, i have to disagree with the reviewers. I would rate this restaurant as a notch above Mirador, but definitely nothing to write home about. You would eat better at pretty much any non-chain Italian restaurant in New York, Chicago or San Francisco. So if you care about food, don't get the all-inclusive plan, just keep in mind that you would need to take a taxi to town (10-15 minutes, 60 pesos each way) to have a decent meal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7Turns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have just returned from Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and are missing it already! What a wonderful resort this is. It really doesn't feel like your typical Mexican beach resort. It was paradise! EVerything from the moment we arrived; being greeted by Juan, our butler, to all the meals (no buffet - just amazing fine dining experiences), spectacular pools with incredible views of the ocean to our suite - our suite! Beyond! Very urban and modern, extremely clean. We never saw anyone clean our room yet everytime we came back our suite was spotless! Javiar, the resort manager was amazing and let us stay in our suite hours passed check out so our 2 year old son could get his nap in. The wait staff in the restaurants were amazing. By the third morning they knew that our son liked a glass of milk right away and Caesar came and brought it with a smile. They were so friendly and helpful all day long, without being intrusive or bothersome. The views from the hot tubs are wonderful too. Actually every view in the place is wonderful. I can not recommend this place enough. We are definitely coming back and bringing our whole extended family! Thank you so much to Caesar and Humberto in El Mirador for being so kind to our son and Javiar and Selene for all your help and wisdom! This is such a wonderful place and worth every penny!

Room Tip: Have some ice cream by the swim up bar - a very cool way for a two year old and mom to spend some gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry-Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in posting how awesome your week was at Sunset Plaza for you and your young child. We are pleased that we had the accommodations to cater best to the needs of your family, and that the service that you received was excellent.
Sunset Plaza hotel is oriented to for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, a business event, or an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon whether you plan to visit Puerto Vallarta.
The newly constructed Sunset Plaza Resort & Spa is an impressive sight of contemporary architecture, curving gently around a lushly landscaped beachfront sundeck, where two infinity pools sparkle and guests bask in the sun in comfortable lounge chairs or enjoy a soak in one of three open-air Jacuzzis.
Each of the Sunset Plaza’s spacious guest rooms and suites features a private terrace with a breathtaking 180° view of the ocean and the spectacular Puerto Vallarta´s sunset. The rooms are warmly decorated in hues of orange, gold and sparkle, equipped with fine granite countertops, marble bathroom surfaces, and elegant contemporary wood furniture.
Amenities at Sunset Plaza include a large fitness room and spa; an activity packed Kids Club, two full-service restaurants – one international cuisine and one Italian – a deli, a lobby lounge, and the Poolside Aqua Bar.
Thank you also for selecting us as your holiday destination and for highly recommending Sunset Plaza. We hope to be able to host you again in the upcoming future.
Warm Regards,
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The room large and very nice, we had a suite. Housekeeping just fantastic,our rooms were constantly taken care of- and always when we were out.Draw back only two restaurants and a little deli,always empty.The main cafe serves breakfast,lunch, and dinner.Dinner menu is the best, the food really can be fantastic, if you can get any! Sadly I saw many upset guests who were wondering what is the problem. The servers were seriously bad,there was a place where you could help yourself to dessert and most guests had cake first while waiting and waiting and waiting for the food!!!! Oh well , there is seriously nothing wrong with having dessert first?
They make a big deal about the butler service, ours we never saw after the first day?

Room Tip: We were in room 1514, fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buddy2540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Warm Greeting from Sunset Plaza!!
We are very happy to hear that you really enjoy your visit with us. We would like to thank you for sharing with us your opinion that definitely helps us to make sure that all our services and facilities fill up our client’s standards. Your opinion is very valuable to all of our staff.
As you mention Sunset Plaza has a beautiful and comfortable facilities: -Infinity heated pool with kid’s pool area -Adult heated pool with lounge beds -Spa services, Gym room -Jacuzzi section with sun tanning areas -Kids club with video game room, restaurant, mini golf, pool, playground, arts and crafts area for kids between 4 and 12 years of age, service hours 10:00am to 6:00pm -Deli Snack -24hrs concierge – Butler – Pool & Beach Concierge-Travel Agency – Car Rental -High speed wireless internet access -Handicap rooms, everything you need to have a great vacations.
Each of the Sunset Plaza’s spacious guest rooms and suites features a private terrace with a breathtaking 180° view of the ocean and the spectacular Puerto Vallarta´s sunset. The rooms are warmly decorated in hues of orange, gold and sparkle, equipped with fine granite countertops, marble bathroom surfaces, and elegant contemporary wood furniture. Thank you for your appreciation.
We would like to take the opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay with us. We are taking care of your recommendations and taking the necessary steps in order to avoid these situations in the future.
We look forward to having the opportunity to have you staying with us, in the meantime, feel free to contact us at anytime. If you have additional feedback that wish to share, I will be more than happy to assist you.
Sincerely,
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,729 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
778 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,946 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,547 reviews
2.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#4 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £166 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing