We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and "Perfect"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

(10) of us visited Puerto Vallarta and Sunset Plaza for the first time last week. We ALL agreed it was absolutely perfect! We had fabulous service, food was great and rooms were beyond ideal! Our butler was Juan and he was ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! He catered to our every need! We also had Haziel and he too was stellar! We completely took over the adult pool for the most part and Jorge jumped through hoops making us extremely well served! We are planning on going next February again, but this time we are staying a lot longer!!! Great job ALL!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,861 - 1,867 of 3,327 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

The service here is truly fantastic. Was also very impressed with the facilities and the views. Rooms are nice and can't beat the view. Food was a highlight - great selection, well prepared, wonderful seafood. Nice not having a buffet - you don't overeat and feel stuffed. Only complaint is that the walls/connecting doors are paper thin - if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs and noise cancelling headphones.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank yvrnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The butlers and the wait staff are the BEST!! I traveled with my teenage kids and there was something for everyone to make this a highly memorable holiday for us!! The sunset BBQ was a highlight for my 16-year old and they both enjoyed their spa experiences. I would highly encourage you to consider Sunset Plaza for your next PV holiday

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 217cheryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband & I & my sister had the privilege of staying at Sunset Plaza for two weeks (Jan.18th-Feb.1st) & highly recommend this resort. Being our first "resort vacation," we were somewhat apprehensive about our accommodations...until we were met with a sparkling glass of champagne & a cool, damp cloth as we were led to check in...a quick & easy check in. Upon getting the grand tour of our suite on the 14th floor, our apprehension quickly diminished & we were in "resort mode" immediately. Our suite was huge with two bathrooms (huge plus with three adults), a beautiful kitchen area with stainless steel appliances, massive walk in closet off the master bedroom, jacuzzi, another large closet in the front entrance, the biggest balcony ever with a table & 4 chairs, 2 deck loungers with a small table ...& a view that's absolutely indescribable. All the rooms & suites are ocean front & the ocean is right there. We saw magnificent sunsets every evening & opened the balcony doors every morning to listen to the surf as it pounded against the shore as we enjoyed our morning coffee. There were mornings when we were able to see dolphins & whales cavorting right out front! The resort is very modern, very clean & well presented. The grounds were exceptionally well maintained every day. The staff...all the staff...from porters, butlers, waiters to Javier, the general manager...were all so friendly & always at the ready....& so fun to be around. We enjoyed many a laugh with all of them. We cannot say enough about the waiters in the Mirador Restaurant...Saul & Enzo come to mind but they were all exceptional (just can't recall all their names) as well as the hostesses. My one complaint(?) would be that the one jacuzzi was always cold & didn't warm up the entire time we were there; however, we just utilized one of the other ones. We booked three tours through our Air Transat rep at the resort & would highly recommend the Rhythyms of the Night tour...worth every penny. We have recommended Sunset Resort to others and plan to return ourselves...it was that good!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank leannet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We go to Mexico in February every year. This year was our third year at the Sunset Plaza..It just gets better and better. The resort manager, Javiar, truly makes our stay wonderful.... from hello hugs as we arrive to goodbye hugs as we leave. This year we were a group of 13 and he made each persons stay one that will be remembered as The Best trip ever. This is an all-inclusive and the the meals are all cooked to order...NO buffets with mystery food at The Sunset! We have vacationed in Mexico for over 20yrs and have nevered experienced this level of food quality at an all-inclusive. The bar serves top shelf liquors as well. Friendly staff through the entire resort. Very comfortable beds, air-conditioning and ceiling fans in every room. ALL rooms are ocean front with amazing sunset views. Infinity pool with swim up bar is ocean front as well. Don't miss the BBQ on Monday's and Wednesdays at the resort. Steaks, chicken, shrimp grilled over charcoal ..excellent meal. Go downtown to Malecon for shopping..beautiful area along the beach. Hopefully my comments have been helpful for those seeking a wonderful vacation in Puerto Vallarto.. we are already planning our trip for next year

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BRENDA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just returned from a week at Sunset Beach. Went with my wife. We are young 30 something professionals without kids and were looking to get away from what has been a harsh winter.

Sunset Beach was a very good getaway. The hotel (sans all-inclusive) was reasonably priced. We got the one bedroom suite. Our first night there was a maintenance issue with our room so the manager prophylactically gave us a smaller room but comped all-inclusive for 24 hrs which we thought was a great trade-off.

The place is well appointed and maintained. Service was excellent and the staff were all very friendly and kind. The food was good, especially at the main restaurant and poolside. We did not care for the Italian restaurant. In general though, food in PV is good especially if you like Mexican. Lots of great restaurants around town to explore. I would not get tied to the all-inclusive package for that reason.

We spent a lot of time eating, sleeping, lounging, and exploring the town. Zona Romantica or the Old Vallarta is especially charming. The city in general is intertwined a lot with tourism and the people are nice. We had a wonderful time at Rhythms of the Night, which is a dinner/show on Las Calitas that you pay for. Great show, reminiscent of a Cirque de Soleil but not quite as grand.

Downsides for us - the hotel generally catered to an older crowd (40-50 somethings, retirees and people flying south for the winter) and a lot of Canadians too, so not quite our crowd. The beach is skimpy and there were no chairs or umbrellas out there, so don't go if you want white sand beaches. This was true in general of PV--not a place to go for beaches at the foot of resorts. Most people hung around the pool. Speaking of which, pool real estate was hard to come by and we got pretty lousy spots most days. You'd have to get up pretty early to stake a couple of good spots. Finally, we got suckered into listening to a 90 minute talk on timeshares which was a bit of a time sink, so avoid that (went from 1030-1200 one morning).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had an amazing two week holiday at the Sunset Plaza. Our daughter found this wonderful resort for us and based on only 100 rooms, no buffets and exceptional ratings we booked our trip. From the initial greeting, the amazing one bedroom suite, the balcony and view of the Bay, the fine dining menu and outstanding service, our stay at the Sunset Plaza was exceptional. A special mention to Humberto for his attention to detail and amazing service. Thank you, we absolutely enjoyed our holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HELEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,711 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
776 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,945 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
2.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £165 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing